Rosetta Stone Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Brand, Big Talent
Sr. Sales and Marketing Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Washington, DC18 May 2018
Great brand with great talent but not the right culture at the time. The culture could have changed but there was a fear factor working for them. Good benefits and compensation though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing opportunity to learn sales
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  New York, NY8 May 2018
As a sales associate for Rosetta Stone, I was single-handedly responsible for approaching customers and familiarizing them with the Rosetta Stone language learning software. My responsibilities included opening/closing the kiosk, conducting daily sales, demonstrating the language learning software, and managing inventory and stock lists. I quickly rose to being the third leading sales representative in the nation. Company closed all of its national kiosk sales locations and went strictly online.
Pros
Fantastic salary plus commission
Cons
company closed kiosks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GA8 March 2018
As a sales associate it is rare that you get an opportunity to sell high market items and succeed. I had a great time selling my products and excelled greatly. i believe you should get paid more per hour and more commission
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with fantastic people and had a phenomenal corporate office
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OH5 March 2018
Calling each store manager every morning to ensure store opened successfully and obtain daily sales figures. Learned what an amazing company this was to work for and wold have stayed had the economy not forced several locations to close. Culture was very diverse and peaceful as well as the company as a whole treated everyone with respect. Hardest part of the job was leaving it due to closures and the most enjoyable was working daily with wonderful people.
Pros
Fantastic company with great values
Cons
Having to close locations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work from home position
Studio Coach (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VA4 March 2018
Rosetta stone is a great company to work for. My position allows me the opportunity to not only work a full-time job but also spend time with my family. The work-life balance is great.
Pros
Work from home. great work-life balance
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Kiosk Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Harrisonburg, VA23 February 2018
Great atmosphere and great place to work. I worked on the Helpdesk team and prepared, re-imaged, repaired, and ordered new computer, monitors, printers, etc. Relaxed business casual dress code. Great benefits.
Pros
Relaxed atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professionals
Senior ios Developer (Former Employee) –  Boulder, CO21 January 2018
Rosetta Stone is run by professionals. They have their processes down. From the product owner to the scrum master to the manager to the technical lead, they are good people. It was a pleasure to work with and for Rosetta Stone.
Cons
They farm some of their development offshore
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Online English coach, grader, material creator (Current Employee) –  Remote12 January 2018
It's ok. You make your own schedule but your clients are often arrogant and don't study at all. The other employees are nice and management is really helpful. The hardest part of the job is getting paid very little to put up with such big attitudes. The most enjoyable part is when you meet some very interesting people.
Pros
You make your own schedule
Cons
No healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faszinierende Technik
Sprachlehrerin (Current Employee) –  King County, WA29 November 2017
Mithilfe ausgeklügelter Technik gelingt es Rosetta Stone, Menschen die sich an verschiedenen Orten des Globus aufhalten zu ermöglichen, eine sprachliche Verbindung miteinander aufzubauen. Man hat sich nie getroffen, und plötzlich tauscht man sich über Hobbies oder das Lieblingsessen aus - in einer neuen Sprache! Als Coach erlebe ich das immer wieder wie ein kleines Wunder, wenn Leute aus Melbourne, Rio und Dortmund miteinander sprechen und ich ihnen dabei helfe.
Pros
Arbeitgeberanteil in Rentenkasse, bezahlte Krankheitstage
Cons
Kein Kontakt zu wirklichen Menschen, weil sich alles im virtuellen Raum abspielt.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FL27 November 2017
A typical Day working for Rosetta Stone was Fantastic I was able to learn new languages and put them to use had a great time working there.

A typical Day working in Rosetta Stone was to fix merchandise stocks and cashiers and sales.
Pros
could use your phone
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn ---including a language
Manager (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VA26 October 2017
If you're new to the world of marketing, Rosetta Stone is a great place to hone your skills, learn about new medias, works with talented team-mates and create some work you'll be proud of...

However, there are a few cons, this is a lanugage learning company and there are several competitors including; duo lingo, babel fish, google translate to name a few. This means, market share is low and turnover is inevitable.

Try it out, see what you learn.
Pros
Managers who care
Cons
Limited budgets
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned how-to sell
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, IL1 August 2017
Daily inventory checks/Check kiosk/Sell language/report to district manager/setup new locations

Learned how to sell/learned different language demos and how-to explain to customers

Workplace was in mall met and interacted with many people

Enjoyable part of job was being able to be your own boss
Pros
Make your own schedule
Cons
Management leadership/Company direction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company in Constant Change
Sales (Current Employee) –  Rosslyn, VA30 July 2017
Since arriving at the company many years ago, Rosetta Stone has consistently struggled with directing its sales efforts. Three CEOs, and multiple sales managers later, the sales team's directly feel the stress of poor communication and consequent chaos and change.
Pros
Great work life balance
Cons
Poor direction
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lexia--Good program, poor management
PLF (Former Employee) –  US16 May 2017
I worked for Lexia as a PLF. The position and the expectations are reasonable. However, the company is poorly managed and there is a lack of communication between PLFs and managers. Much of this is because everyone is not meant to be a manager (poor communication, unclear expectations/intentions). The company also seems to play favorites where expectations, in terms of presentation and style, for some PLFs are greater than others. You may shadow other PLFs and see that they present in the same way that you do or worst, but then you are critiqued more harshly. Favoritism and lack of clear expectations is bad for morale and can make the work inconsistent.

The running theme (code for excuse) is that the company is facing growing pains. Of course, there are challenges as a company grows but through better planning and communication much of the foolishness could be avoided. I would NOT recommend working for this company in the immediate future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at this job...lots of perks!
Kiosk Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Harrisonburg, VA10 April 2017
We always had music playing in the warehouse and it just made made the day go by so nice! It was really fast paced and that made the days go by really well also!
Pros
The vendors always brought us food!
Cons
Honestly...this job really didnt have any cons!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So much potential
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Virtual29 March 2017
General consensus is that the company was trying to save itself at the expense of people and product. Complete lack of innovation (for a software company) and very little by way of professional development.
Pros
Ability to work from home
Cons
Overpaid managers who don't care about people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work
Spanish Latino America Coach (Current Employee) –  Virginia1 February 2017
Rosetta Stone is a fantastic place to work. But it is a part time job without benefits.It is the most enjoyable place to work. The management is good. The learners will have a very good system to learn.
Pros
It is fun to work
Cons
No benefits and few hours for working
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for paid the bills
Shipping Lead (Former Employee) –  Mount Crawford, VA14 December 2016
Rosetta stone treated us employees fare. I learned how to ship all over the country. gained a lot of experience in shipping and receiving. working for this company improved my communication skills.
Pros
vacation time
Cons
had to work every new years eve til midnight
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and Goal Driven Environment
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WA5 December 2016
My managers are a strong component of my success.

Rosetta Stone is a great company.

The best part of my job is my co workers.

For me the tough part is not being directly connected to the purpose of my job which is to support the language learners in school districts in CA.
Pros
Access to Rosetta Stone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Associate Manager, Sales Operations (Former Employee) –  Harrisonburg, VA10 November 2016
Rosetta Stone is committed to making sure that learning languages is fun, easy and accessible. The atmosphere is laid back and the teams all combine together to make sure the job gets done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rosetta Stone. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 71 reviews
527
415
317
28
14

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.7Culture