Roots Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 July 2018
-with experience, the job becomes easy over time
-acquired exceptional customer service and time management skills
-great people, and amazing benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Roots was an amazing place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 June 2018
Roots was a great company that treated me well and was very accommodating twords school that I was attending at the time. They never over scheduled me so that I wouldn't be able to keep up with my school work and always made sure the days I had worked around my education.
Pros
Amazing staff to work with
Cons
few employees for the busy parts of the year
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 June 2018
Good employees
Extremely well thought out and developed training is available
Fast paced area
Place taught many skills and showed me areas where I can improve and learn
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Boss
SPECIAL EVENTS WORKER (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON28 June 2018
The boss was great and the other staff were really nice. I greeted customers, helped restock shelves and cleaned the store. I also answered customers questions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and I learned a lot
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON18 June 2018
roots was the best job i had i enjoyed working there a lot. the staff was amazing and the work was very enjoyable i would love to work there again. it was great!
Pros
nice staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discount is dope but my management wasn't.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  North York, ON12 June 2018
Roots was my first ever sales job and it was pretty enjoyable. I got along with all of my coworkers but once they all left because of management, things went downhill. I was denied a promotion to keyholder only because I went on vacation. Things weren't turning out well so I left after a year.
Pros
50% off all the time
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON10 June 2018
Good team and great leaning environment.
I worked a lot on the sales floor so I gained a ton of customer service experience, from greeting customers as they walked in, to going the extra mile for those who needed the most assistance.
Pros
Lunch breaks
Cons
Change in management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill and easy
Sales associate (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON8 June 2018
Working here has alot to learn and overall very chill to work. pace is usually slow due to location. unexpected rush during holidays can be rewarding in some ways
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but very high expectations for availability and work
Robson St (Flagship) Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 June 2018
I over all enjoyed working at Roots

The people are all very nice and fun to work with

However,
The management has very high expectations for what you are to do in a day especially for the pay.
There is also difficulty getting time off and working around availability
Pros
Coworkers, discounts
Cons
scheduling, time, expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter for retail position
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Robson, BC22 May 2018
Working in the downtown flagship location lets you experience all aspects of retail. You work with a wide array of people, both in the company team and with the customers (be prepared for lots of tourists).

During peak seasons, you have to be able to work quickly with large crowds. That being said, most of the time it is manageable and moderate work. The company is well organized for the most part, and the management team tries to keep an upbeat and enjoyable work experience.
Pros
nice working environment
Cons
unpredictable crowds
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Quebec18 May 2018
Good and enjoyable, would recommend to a friend and love the company as a whole. Very understanding and great staff. Great for students and overall a good job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON8 May 2018
Roots has to be one of my favourite places to work at, with the great heritage and Canadian nationality, it became a job that didnt really feel like a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great energy
Quality customer service (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON7 May 2018
A typical day was very enjoyable for me, I would learn more about the customers and how I could interact with them to suit their needs. The culture there was friendly so this benefited me since I am an extrovert and so was my manager. The hardest part of the job would be during Christmas season because I would be taking care of a lot of messes around the store but I maintained a positive attitude while doing so. For the most enjoyable part this happened to me whenever I was talking with customers or the staff.
Pros
a good amount of people to people interactions
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to be apart of a goal determined group
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON6 May 2018
This job was fun and everything you think it would be. Folding clothes, chatting with customers, preventing people from stealing, working at the cash register.
Pros
Great environment, it was fun to goto work
Cons
minimal hours, not ideal unless you have a second job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC2 May 2018
Staff was amazing. Some days were crazy as they are in many jobs. However, time always went by quickly and work days never felt miserable it was always a great environment to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going co-workers, fun work , good boss
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  London, ON1 May 2018
I was hired on as a seasonal employee, when working there they accepted me into the company, had great working environment and boss. did not get as much hours as I was hoping for.
Pros
work environment
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON26 April 2018
Very friendly work environment
everyone is welcoming
sometimes challenging depending on customer needs.
Good pay
Co-worker always willing to help.
Good manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A growing company
Designer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 April 2018
Was allowed much creative freedom and control in the early stages of employment. Company shifted to a more structured operating process after it was bought out which resulted in some growing pains. Lovely people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work as a Key Holder
Team Lead/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON9 April 2018
The location I was at had a lot of internal politics which made work unfair. They favour employees on the basis of seniority. I was a key holder here and my decisions made were easily trumped over someone who was there 2 years longer than I was. The manager would have side conversations with their favourites to "pretend" like they were resolving internal issues, but really, they weren't.

Not the best place to work at if you want overall happiness. A good place to work at if you are at school, easy to balance Roots and also school.

However, management was very accommodating with scheduling. Barely got any hours as a way of "letting you go."
Pros
Quiet location
Cons
Long hours and lots of standing, pay sucked for the amount of work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 April 2018
the job itself is easy going but the managers are in there 20's and are very rude. They don't care if your sick and don't tell you what is expected in job until you make a mistake and than yell at you instead of talking in a respectful tone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Roots. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 177 reviews
552
466
339
214
16

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture