Roots Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was fun.
Sale Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 October 2018
The job was fun as the management was very friendly. I only have the job for a couple of months and I didn't have a choice I had to come back to Halifax for my studies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive environment, very nice management
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON24 September 2018
My Typical day at work was full of new experiences, for you would never know who would walk through that door. I enjoyed doing customer service and my co-workers and management would always motivate and guide me to become the best i can be everyday!
Pros
My manager would bring in snacks for us
Cons
5 hours or less wouldn't get a lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming and happy environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON18 September 2018
Wonderful company to work for. Great hours, great teams and well rounded.
There was always great cutlure and I was always about to grow quickly within the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB18 September 2018
I waited on customers and helped them find sizes and kept the store tidy. I only worked during the Christmas season. I enjoyed the time I did work there as I do like their clothing.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Only seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON12 August 2018
I loved working for Roots. My store especially had a fabulous team environment. I support this company 100% I believe they have great morals and an honest overall mission
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Positive Workplace
Cashier, Sales Associate, Stock (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON10 August 2018
Roots is a great fun place to work at. Great friendly staff and the discount there is amazing! A typical day at work would be greeting customers and trying to sell as much as possible. The hardest part of the job is sometimes meeting the sales we have set for each day.
Pros
great staff, great discount
Cons
the salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice part-time job
Team Lead (Current Employee) –  181 Bay st. Brookfield place location6 August 2018
A good part-time job but would not consider for forwarding career after finished school. Its a good job whilst in school because you can balance it with regular life but the hours are not enough to sustain after youre done school and need full time work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON2 August 2018
It was alright. I just was worried about doing things wrong so I would always ask questions to make sure I wouldn't and always felt that people were annoyed which wasn't great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Working environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 July 2018
At Roots I had a blast!
The working environment was great for building my character in the working field. The atmosphere with the team helped me out greatly with teamwork!
Pros
Great Staff
Cons
Naughty Customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 July 2018
-with experience, the job becomes easy over time
-acquired exceptional customer service and time management skills
-great people, and amazing benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Roots was an amazing place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 June 2018
Roots was a great company that treated me well and was very accommodating twords school that I was attending at the time. They never over scheduled me so that I wouldn't be able to keep up with my school work and always made sure the days I had worked around my education.
Pros
Amazing staff to work with
Cons
few employees for the busy parts of the year
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 June 2018
Good employees
Extremely well thought out and developed training is available
Fast paced area
Place taught many skills and showed me areas where I can improve and learn
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Boss
SPECIAL EVENTS WORKER (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON28 June 2018
The boss was great and the other staff were really nice. I greeted customers, helped restock shelves and cleaned the store. I also answered customers questions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and I learned a lot
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON18 June 2018
roots was the best job i had i enjoyed working there a lot. the staff was amazing and the work was very enjoyable i would love to work there again. it was great!
Pros
nice staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discount is dope but my management wasn't.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  North York, ON12 June 2018
Roots was my first ever sales job and it was pretty enjoyable. I got along with all of my coworkers but once they all left because of management, things went downhill. I was denied a promotion to keyholder only because I went on vacation. Things weren't turning out well so I left after a year.
Pros
50% off all the time
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON10 June 2018
Good team and great leaning environment.
I worked a lot on the sales floor so I gained a ton of customer service experience, from greeting customers as they walked in, to going the extra mile for those who needed the most assistance.
Pros
Lunch breaks
Cons
Change in management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill and easy
Sales associate (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON8 June 2018
Working here has alot to learn and overall very chill to work. pace is usually slow due to location. unexpected rush during holidays can be rewarding in some ways
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but very high expectations for availability and work
Robson St (Flagship) Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 June 2018
I over all enjoyed working at Roots

The people are all very nice and fun to work with

However,
The management has very high expectations for what you are to do in a day especially for the pay.
There is also difficulty getting time off and working around availability
Pros
Coworkers, discounts
Cons
scheduling, time, expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter for retail position
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Robson, BC22 May 2018
Working in the downtown flagship location lets you experience all aspects of retail. You work with a wide array of people, both in the company team and with the customers (be prepared for lots of tourists).

During peak seasons, you have to be able to work quickly with large crowds. That being said, most of the time it is manageable and moderate work. The company is well organized for the most part, and the management team tries to keep an upbeat and enjoyable work experience.
Pros
nice working environment
Cons
unpredictable crowds
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Quebec18 May 2018
Good and enjoyable, would recommend to a friend and love the company as a whole. Very understanding and great staff. Great for students and overall a good job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Roots. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 187 reviews
554
470
341
216
16

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture