Roots Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work as a Key Holder
Team Lead/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON9 April 2018
The location I was at had a lot of internal politics which made work unfair. They favour employees on the basis of seniority. I was a key holder here and my decisions made were easily trumped over someone who was there 2 years longer than I was. The manager would have side conversations with their favourites to "pretend" like they were resolving internal issues, but really, they weren't.

Not the best place to work at if you want overall happiness. A good place to work at if you are at school, easy to balance Roots and also school.

However, management was very accommodating with scheduling. Barely got any hours as a way of "letting you go."
Pros
Quiet location
Cons
Long hours and lots of standing, pay sucked for the amount of work done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 April 2018
the job itself is easy going but the managers are in there 20's and are very rude. They don't care if your sick and don't tell you what is expected in job until you make a mistake and than yell at you instead of talking in a respectful tone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail work
Key holder (Former Employee) –  Thornhill, ON3 April 2018
working for roots, is what you would expect from a retail job. There are few opportunities or access to opportunities to move up within the company. Little to no support in leadership skills development.
Pros
Discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work at
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON2 April 2018
Roots was a good place to work at and it helped me to intertact with customers. The managment wasent that good because they just stopped giving me hours without an explanation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming and fun environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC2 April 2018
I looked forward to coming to work everyday, everyone was constantly smiling and laughing. The hardest part of the job was being inside when the sun was shining outside, but the sun put everyone in a good mood. Met lots of tourists and made a lot of great friends.
Pros
Fun staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 March 2018
Opportunity to meet new people every day.
Flexible hours, great co workers.
Fantastic discounts so you can keep your wardrobe up to date.
Beautiful and classic merchandise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC27 February 2018
Awesome management, fun environment, and great for first time job. In a retail job at root you must have great people skills, a positive attitude, and very good work ethic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive and fun
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON20 February 2018
A fantastic company to work with. Its fun and upbeat with a great community for employees! The management team and head office are encouraging and help produce sales as much as sales associates do every day.
Pros
really decent pay!
Cons
Blackout periods
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun environment to work in.
Sale assistant (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON19 February 2018
A typical day at work will mostly be around helping guest, organizing the areas you in charge of. During the time i'm there, i learn a few thing in communication skill as i'm a shy guy it helped me a lots. The hardest part of the job i will say is when customer turn down my offer to help them find their stuff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON17 February 2018
it was really chill there, the managers were nice and everyone was friends so it was a nice environment. The discount was great and the hours were good as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
(Sales Associate) Tsawwassen Mills, B.C (Current Employee) –  Tsawwassen, BC15 February 2018
This role is a very interactive position with great coworkers and great customers. Had learned many new engaging skills, customer skills and organisational skills. Management team is very supportive, friendly and helpful.
Pros
Friendly and supportive management team
Cons
salary is minimum
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't recommend
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON4 February 2018
Working at this Roots location was not a good experience. This location lacks traffic, and many hours are spent standing around. It’s a small store so there isn’t much cleaning to do. Whenever they would get customers, they’d neglect the concept of “Customer Independence,” and check up on their potential business every two minutes. This drove away a significant amount of business in the long run. You can welcome people without coming across like you’re desperate. The manager picks favourites. The sales associates are nice, but don’t typically resolve situations face to face. They prefer to vent when others are not around, which builds up a significant amount of awkward tension. The company itself has amazing quality sweats and I still wear mine to this day. However, addressing your co-workers & customers properly and respectfully will take you a long way. This is essential when selling expensive clothing, especially when the mall you work in lacks traffic in general. This experience wasn’t for me.
Pros
discount on clothes
Cons
Poor leadership, Immaturity
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for Student
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Calgary Alberta2 February 2018
This is a great working environment for working students who are willing to work for Part Time. The customers most of the time have been roots customers for a long time and love the products. The leather goods are great and are worth the price.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More than satisfactory
SEASONAL CUSTOMER SERVICE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 February 2018
Typical day, I clocked in. Supervisors where more than accomodating. Work environment fast-paced, friendly with a lot of room for growth. It was a good retail job.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Long closings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job
Cashier and greeter (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON1 February 2018
Helping the average person find the best look possible.
Competitive workplace with great incentives!
Loved the job would do it again in a heartbeat!

Work part is lack of hours!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, management cares
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 January 2018
Roots shows great care for employees through training, involvement and compensation. Room to move up in management. Upper management is very involved in running of stores and communicating with all employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON25 January 2018
Management bullied employees, belittled employees, ageism, and would talk about other employees to each other behind their backs. Management was only there to beat sales of their employees. Disrespectful and a terrible place to work once they hired new managers!! Would get in trouble for drinking water, had to stand on your feet for many hours at a time without taking any breaks.....just flat out terrible place to work!
Pros
Decent discount
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 January 2018
Overall good experience working at Roots. The staff and management were generally good to work with. Positive work environment. Roots is committed to providing quality service to customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Representative
SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON21 January 2018
Working there was amazing, learned a lot by helping customers find what they needed and worked cash to exchange goods and services. It was my first job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Work Place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 January 2018
I am working in Roots for 30 hrs / weeks.
I am learning lots of things such as how to sale and serve customer.
Actually i can adjust easily in Roots. Because all of people who is cowker and manager tried to close with me and teach easily for me. So i can close with them quickly.
I am enjoying to serve customer. Always i try to talk with customer and do my best to help customer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report