RONA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workers, terrible management
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 June 2018
Is a nice place to work if you keep your head down. Most managers dont do anything about personal problems, either with the job or co workers.

Opinions and suggestions are not heeded. Very hard to advance within the company
Pros
Fun staff
Cons
Not allowed opinions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC10 June 2018
Great for a Student Job, bosses are easy going. work load isn't that hard for students easy to learn.
everyone around are friendly.
boss are easy going as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
..Good
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 June 2018
Good place to work.
Good opportunities
Good culture
Good salary
Good life balance
Good management.

I learned many stuff that they helped me to do my job
Pros
Good Opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
G-Licence driver (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON4 June 2018
Great with job security.I went through many positions here and gained plenty of experience. You can realize the employees that work hard and the ones who stand around. You have to be an interactive person and able to help serve the customers while fulfilling other job roles. Management is bypass. Looking for a change and use my experience for a higher salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible cashier worker
Sales/Cashier/ Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 June 2018
This was standard retail work.
I primarily worked as a cashier, which is as standard as it gets. The best moments were when assisting a co-worker from the hardware department, or when filling in another position of front end which involved carrying products for customers and cleaning.
Pros
discounts
Cons
unstable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time Work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Elmsdale, NS1 June 2018
Good management staff, reasonable hours, good experience for someone starting out. no experience required and good supportive staff and friendly customer base.
Pros
Good experience
Cons
Not a long lasting career
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Headoffice is definetly nicer than the stores
IT Training (Former Employee) –  Boucherville, QC31 May 2018
Headoffice is definetly nicer than the stores, more human people, you feel less like a number, although they are detached from the everyday store struggles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Une journée diversifiée
Commis vendeur (Former Employee) –  Pierrefonds, QC29 May 2018
Multitude de choix quant au travail a effectué, personnel entraîné et accueillant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly working enviromen
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC28 May 2018
My Position at Rona was a cashier. i would sit at front of store, greet guests. i would take out garbages, and wipe counters. serve customers, as well as help them with any questions. restock shelves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work for part time.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  London, ON24 May 2018
Working as the outdoors sales associate, it is a decent job for the summer and if you like to be outdoors for most the day, then this one of them.

Heavy lifting is expected, although frustrating at times as they refrain from utilizing tools or machinery to more efficiently and effectively transport patio stones from one end to the individuals car. You can be expected to not only bring, but load them into the car by hand. Although not afraid of physical labour, they require you to be in full sun and each stone can weigh upwards of 90 lbs. Sometimes having lineups of customers waiting for you to hand deliver them. The location where I had worked, they only had me do this job as my other co-workers were unable to do this.
Pros
Organized, good hours, may not need a gym membership
Cons
very physically demanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you have a clear schedule
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Waterdown, ON24 May 2018
Great place to work. Not enough hours put into proper training for new staff, but management tries hard to make it work. Very understanding and recognizes hard work. A tad frantic at times.
Pros
Fun events for staff
Cons
Understaffed a lot of the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Welland
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON20 May 2018
I was let go after a couple of weeks overall great environment just a very seasoned job that requires alot of training and knowledge on lumber and roofing. Not a great choice if your looking for job security if your a younger person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty decent
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BC18 May 2018
Interesting store where you'll always be able to learn something new. Typical day is helping customers, restocking, changing prices, and general retail tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, good people
Shipper (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON17 May 2018
learned about different type of building products.
great place to work for.
friendly staff, lots of thing to learn, hardest part of job is in winter when lumber is frozen togeather
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yard worker/ customer service. Elmsdale
Warehouse Worker / Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Elmsdale, NS9 May 2018
Tip: Watch your back in the yard. Everyone uses someone gor a reason. Poor supervisor/ supervision. Very rude and ignorant bullies. They pick on one or two people then they get everyone in on the bullying and harassment. Tell you your doing a super job and they is room for more hours a week later there cutting hrs. Very dis-organized. Some show up for work other don't and don't call in.
Pros
Have a much bettet career now. Not with Rona
Cons
No a great place for yoir moral, name cslling and many put down.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Assistant Sales Team Member (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 May 2018
great place to learn customer service
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Decent place to work, depending on the department the work can be more than what job description states. Management can be difficult depending on department you work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Goulds, NL7 May 2018
had a great learning experience
taught me Independence and people skills
had to remember where everything was
enjoyable work place
people skills
loved meeting new people
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Strathmore, AB7 May 2018
Solid work with reasonable expectation. The shift structure was not the most fun, but was reasonable. Were understaffed some of the time so extra work was required, or taking on roles in different departments was needed. All in all a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ce que j'ai appris
Commis (Former Employee) –  Longueuil, QC30 April 2018
Plusieurs qualites en moi se sont developper pendant cette periode. Il fallait preparer des commandes
Servir des clients
Organiser des placements de stock
Respecter et faire une liste de taches ou de se debrouiller a en trouver sans listes.
J'ai fais plusieur departements:
Saisonnier interieur/exterieur
Cour a bois
Inventaire (un peu)
Voltige (pousseur de paniers)
Pros
securite d'emplois
Cons
horaire variable et non garantie
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes ou comment détruire une excellente compagnie
commis saisonnier-horticulture (Current Employee) –  Saint-Hyacinthe, QC28 April 2018
On ne se reconnait plus dans cette entreprise jadis très prisée pour sa qualité d'employeur. Budget d'heures coupé au maximum, employés surchargés par la lourdeur des tâches journalières. Je n'avais jamais vu une banderole ''On embauche'' devant mon magasin, nous avions plutôt l'habitude d'avoir trop de candidatures par notre excellente réputation d'employeur. Les nouveaux employés payés au salaire ''presque'' minimum (selon le département) essaient 1-2 semaines et nous quittent et les anciens fuient pour une meilleure atmosphère de travail. Nous savons très bien que les nouvelles embauches vont être coupées à l'automne. Le personnel et la direction n'ont plus le sourire et l'amour de leur emploi comme à l'époque de Rona. Lowes nous a réduit à la réputation de Canadian Tire... je dirais même pire!!!
Pros
avantages sociaux
Cons
tous le reste
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RONA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 686 reviews
5170
4249
3178
251
138

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture