Rio Tinto Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Labour (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC19 March 2018
Great contract, well done, good employer, thank you very much for the opportunity at Rio Tinto, it meant a big deal to me

Located in Kitimat BC I would enjoy coming back!

-B
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC22 February 2018
I found it to be an enjoyable place to work. Show up and do your job and it is a good place to work. Kitimat is a beautiful place to live and work..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon tremplin dans le monde professionnel
Roster Manager (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 February 2018
J'ai appris à travailler sur des dossiers avec plusieurs acteurs à l'international et à m'exprimer en anglais au quotidien.
Pros
Multinationale, perspectives de carrière
Cons
Département transféré en Australie où je n'ai pas pu suivre
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud To Work And Be A Member of A Group Of This Company.
Multi Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Nhulunbuy NT22 January 2018
Every day was a very pleasant day when we were driving to the Gate house.The safety that i was feeling just before I enter the plant and
even at the end of the day.They all kept us safe.
I leaned how to minimize my risks for any accident me and my group of workers.The EHS personal kept us updated daily for any Hazards in all areas.Had to have our eyes open for any slip-trip hazards and any spills around our work place.Most enjoyable part for me was to understand the progress and working in all the areas of the plant meeting new operators and CEO personal daily.
Pros
Beautiful location, nice people, good total of safety.
Cons
Heat, Dehydration, noise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
L'endroit qui me semble la mieux pour l'épanouissement professionnelle
Mécanicien , soudeur et inspecteur en soudage . (Former Employee) –  Shipshaw, QC22 January 2018
Grandes possibilitées de carrière pour celui qui recherche sa satisfaction au travail.
Pros
Pour celui qui veut avancer dans sa carrière
Cons
Il n'y en a pas
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très bonne compagnie
Employé cadre pour Alcan (Former Employee) –  Saguenay, QC2 January 2018
Gestion de coût, de sécurité,de personnelles et de productivité
Pros
culture
Cons
aucun
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
journée de travail
contremaître équipements mobiles miniers (Former Employee) –  Havre-Saint-Pierre, QC26 November 2017
Le train matin et soir, journée de 10 heures. 35 employés à gérer. meeting tous les jours avec le production et la planification. Gestion de problèmes régulièrement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Loader Operator (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NT15 November 2017
Camp work rotational fly in only twelve hour shifts. Limited resources at camp site poor food choices and not the cleanest. Very cold and isolated in the winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
des temps difficiles ...
Superviseur mécanique (Current Employee) –  Sorel-Tracy, QC2 October 2017
Était il y a quelques années une entreprise agréable avec un climat d'équipe et de défis, aujourd'hui, suite aux nombreuses coupures les rôles sont très mal définis, la charge de travaille est impossible à accomplir en 40 hrs (les cadres ne sont pas payés sur l'heure du diner contrairement aux syndiqués). Coupures après coupures il faut toujours en faire plus avec moins sans aucune aide ou formation continue. Chaque semaine une nouvelle démission d'un employer cadre (superviseur et planificateur mécanique entre autre). La transition avec le système SAP à été un échec selon moi et le simple fait de vouloir acheter un boulon est un embuche de plusieurs minutes et celui-ci arrivera 4 semaines plus tard... Nous ne discutons pas beaucoup des salaires mais sans donner de chiffres exacte on voit rapidement qu'il existe des différences majeurs entre nous pour un même poste. Nos dirigeant cherche des solutions mais oublie de revenir aux bases... Personnellement j'aime la région donc je compte rester encore mais je n'ai pas de plan long terme avec cette entreprise.
Pros
Grande entreprise, ressource externe et projet interessant
Cons
charge de travail et salaire
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Milieu de travail traditionnel
Coordonnatrice environnementale (Former Employee) –  Saguenay/Lac-Saint-Jean, QC7 September 2017
Rio Tinto au Saguenay est un milieu de travail traditionnel et conservateur.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well organized and good team
IT Demand Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort-Dauphin, Madagascar1 September 2017
It was a privilege to work in Madagascar and with very professional people. They give me the opportunity to learn and to take initiative in my function. The experience was unforgettable.
Pros
nice people and well organized
Cons
not enough women working at TioTinto
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emploi ou la santée sécuritėe est une prioritée
Opérateur-réparateur de foreuse (Former Employee) –  Havre-Saint-Pierre, QC10 August 2017
Rio TInto est une entreprise de fer et titan à ciel ouvert.
Pros
Travail qui donne une très bonne expérience dans les mines
Cons
Travail présentement saisonnier
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productif et agreable
Dessinateur concepteur (Former Employee) –  Jonquière, QC31 July 2017
j ai fait beaucoup de projet cle en main c est a dire conception achaT ET SURVEILLANCE DE CHANTIER. DESSIN SUR AUTOCAD
Pros
travail interressent
Cons
pas assez de conge
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bon environnemenr de travail pour apprentissage
stage (Former Employee) –  Saguenay, QC5 July 2017
Le travail que je devais effectué chez Rio Tinto étais de faire des campagnes d'échantillonnages industrielle ainsi que mettre a jour la procédure simdut.

Ce travail était mon deuxième stage. l'environnement de travail était bien pour apprendre à interagir avec les travailleurs.
Pros
bon salaire
Cons
aucune assurance (stagiaire)
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faceless multinational
Operator (Current Employee) –  Kitimat, BC2 July 2017
As a shift worker it's always diffult to have proper rest. The work environment is challenging but it is then multiplied by the poor management in place. They don't respect any of the front line workers. They don't honour collective agreements and feel like they can do whatever they want without consequence. They disregard health and safety in favour of production and put workers at risk. Fortunately, it is a Unionized work place and we enjoy great wages and benefits. If they keep treating their workers poorly they won't have any left to do the job.
Pros
Wages, benefits and Unionized
Cons
Disrespect towards workers, bad management, profits over people
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technically Challenging Work Environment
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Canada25 June 2017
Working at a large operation, there are several technical challenges which makes the work very interesting. Being part of a large organization, you have numerous resources available in which you can tap into when you come across problems that the operation has not previously experienced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Operations - Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NT10 June 2017
Management and operations were very helpful and accommodating for QC testing. The only limitation was what you would be willing to do, or learn, on site. Overall the people on site, at all levels, were a lot of fun to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great minded people but less hearted company
Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Canada31 May 2017
Higly intellectual staff but treat people as mechanical object. Very cost and production driven company, which find it difficult engage people. They are loosing touch to the very heart of the business - their people.
Work life balance is hard to achieve. It's a very stressful work environment.
Pros
Highly intellectual management and technical team
Cons
Treat people as mechanical object.It's a very stressful work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Une très belle expérience
Conseiller en prévention des accidents - Aciérie (Former Employee) –  Sorel (80)11 May 2017
Une place ou les aides pour travailler sont exceptionnels, on a accès à tous ce qu'on a besoin pour travailler
Pros
horaire flexible
Cons
Les coupures dans le personnels câdres quand la compagnie a des difficultées financière
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, but the job security is not great
Finance Services Global Process Improvement Leader (Former Employee) –  Leader, SK10 May 2017
Very aggressive Outsourcing to IBM which puts the Finance operations at risk. Good change management, great team, but aggresive implementation schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rio Tinto. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 588 reviews
5200
4226
3112
225
125

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture