Rexall Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rexall
Assistant Front Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON18 September 2018
Busy retail environment with a diverse group of customers.
There is a lot of support from all levels in this company.
Everyone is willing to help you advance within if you are looking to do so.
Pros
Excellent perks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, but friendly people
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Barrhead, AB18 September 2018
I enjoyed interacting with the customers, and although a few tough ones came in, most of them were very friendly and accommodating. As a young employee, I was expected to carry on too many jobs while being main cashier. Because of this, it was very hard to complete the tasks of the day because I never had enough time to get away from customers. Additionally to being main (and usually only) cashier, I was responsible or shelf stocking, facing of products, helping customers, assisting customers with the kodiak photo machines, and assisting with locked merchandise cupboards. I did not always have enough time to take breaks, which was not the issue of the managers, but of the business. My experience overall was positive as my coworkers were very nice and the customers would make my day with all of their lovely comments.
Pros
friendly environment
Cons
Busy work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 September 2018
Never a day goes by with nothing to do, from receiving and shipping, to cash handling and loss prevention, to merchandising and HR! Strong workplace culture
Pros
customer engagement
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heading into oblivion
Director (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 September 2018
Once a tough but rewarding place to work, Rexall, under new ownership which was filled with promise, is now seemingly heading the way of many bricks and mortar retailers.
Poor and misguided leadership, focused on all the wrong things while the business is struggling to be viable.
The workplace culture is confusing and while highly visible and constantly seen on signs and posters, simply adds nothing to driving success at the company.
The hardest part of being at Rexall, is seeing a once fun place to be, turn sour, with all the strong leaders quitting, or fired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours, decent work environment
Postal Retail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON7 September 2018
Decent environment, work is easy, hours are flexible. Management is alright, could be a little better organization. Variety of positions to work; pharmacy help, front shop, floor clerk, post office clerk.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough work life balance environment
General Manager (Current Employee) –  London, ON7 September 2018
Tough work life balance environment. Expectation of working far exceeding 40 hours per week in order to be successful.
Poor training plan for new staff and management.
Poor technology.
Pros
Discount card, 10% + cost on items. Good core loyal staff.
Cons
No work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Builds people skills and a substanitial knowledge of pharmaceuticals and medical terms.
PHARMACY ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC5 September 2018
Really bad at training their staff. They've recently implemented Phoenix workflow, but there is no real system to how medications are filled, checked, and dispensed. Can be somewhat chaotic depending on the location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy first
Staff Pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON5 September 2018
Pharmacies I have worked for are busy, a typical shift will pass by fast. A lot of learning opportunities in the locations I have worked in because of proximities to teaching hospital. Company has a great drug information software as well as support.
Hardest part is trying to meet metrics for company goals as a typical pharmacy day is never the same as before. On good days you meet metrics, hectic days that goes down on priority list as patient care (filling and counselling RX, solving patient issues).
I liked meeting people from all demographics, learning from different cultures.
Pros
Great benefits, good salary
Cons
Metric driven disguise as patient care
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON4 September 2018
i worked for rexall for years and i had very few days where i wanted to home management was very helpful and understanding on personal life not only would i recommend working here but would work here again time and time again
Pros
very nice people to work for
Cons
customers can be rude at times (not very often)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, good job satisfaction, best pharmacy software (Nexxsys)
Staff Pharmacist (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON27 August 2018
Great place to work, good job satisfaction, good benefits, best pharmacy software (Nexxsys), open environment (open corporate culture), great HR team.
Pros
Good/ competitive salary, good perks, opportunity to grow, open environment
Cons
Incompetent management, poor training of team
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment
Store Front Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 August 2018
Don’t value employees, prices are to high and don’t have a home life, the changes in the company to make things better all it does is put more on staff and management team to get things done faster and don’t give store enough hours for cashiers and only have 2 people on the floor all day very stressful job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing place to work
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  picton15 August 2018
I loved the customers and the staff< i learned tons in the time working at rexall! there was always stuff to be done to no "slow periods" would reccomend to anyone
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice convient place to work
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC12 August 2018
It’s nice atmosphere to work customers make it worth working lately lots of changes staff and setting . You never know if your job will be secure or not.
Pros
Convient
Cons
No advacement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will always keep you busy
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 August 2018
I would always have tasks to do in order to keep store up to standards. The store culture was fun and casual in relation to both coworkers and customers. Management was always understanding and accommodated for student work hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable staff
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON2 August 2018
rexall was an okay place to work, they gave me a job very quickly in their time of need and trusted that i could do the job right. no room to advance though
Pros
trusting and kind
Cons
no room to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Front Store Manager/Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee) –  calgary28 July 2018
it is a great company to work for there discount is amassing and they people you get to meet may become our best friends for live . You should never not apply at Rexall .
Pros
good benefits
Cons
never enough staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Food Preparer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 July 2018
it was my first job. it was easy. they train well. it was pretty cultural. i learned how to work. the management was helpful and kind. the building is closed now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace.
Dispensing Pharmacist (Current Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON20 July 2018
This is a great place to work all employers are very good and hardworking. I am enjoying working with such a great team. Manager is very helpful and professional.
Pros
positive atmosphere
Cons
heavy workload.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is not very good place to work
pharmacy technician (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK19 July 2018
this company does not treat employees well, they do not pay well and they push you so hard so, you will not be able to sleep at night due to stress. they do not care about employee quality of life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great evironment
Pharmacy Intern (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 July 2018
It has great environment to work at. They usually have great employees who always smiles and they have very good management, policies . they are great at following regulations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rexall. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 552 reviews
5135
4180
3140
243
154

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture