Renfrew Educational Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment
Child Development Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 March 2019
Good experience and children.
The schools are well ran and have good programming for children with autism.

Terrible management and no appreciation towards staff.
Pros
Good Hours
Cons
No appreciation toward staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't want to work here after being hired.
Child Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 March 2019
Permanent staff there never used my name. Was referred to as the 'lunch lady' or 'her' or 'that lady over there. Had to go out of my way to get to know the staff. Thanks ladies.

Too many special needs kids cramped into rooms.

Staff were all unhappy, fake and came across mean, unhelpful, had borders/walls around getting to know them. Not personable at all. No one smiled. I couldn't tell if they were a teacher or a parent or a volunteer. Could be someone who walked off the street for all I knew.

Pay was minimum wage, wasn't worth it for me in gas to drive from one side of the town to the other. No benefits. No perks. Nothing.

Believe me when something bad happens, the staff are all over it, wanting to out do the other person, rat them out, get them fired, talk bad about them etc. and this all happens during school time while they are supposed to be concentrating on the kids.

I wouldn't want my kid here ever. Bad toxic environment.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So happy I left
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 January 2019
When I first started at Renfrew I loved the job. It was tough but my administration was supportive however after a couple of years it just went downhill. They overloaded the classrooms, cut staffing, and when anything negative happened they blamed the staff. There were too many kids with complex needs in small spaces and not enough time or assistance to properly meet their needs. I met some amazing people who loved working with kids, unfortunately most of those people left as well. It was one of the most depressing, stressful working experiences I’ve ever had.
Pros
I loved the students and their families. I made some wonderful friends.
Cons
No work life balance, low salary, no short term disability, little support
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supervising 5and6 year old children and reading stories and playing games
Child Development Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 January 2018
I love working with kids I really enjoyed the time work experience I made lots of new people and I hope one day I will be the a teacher and to read to kids
Pros
Honestly
Cons
18to 20
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
freindly staff
Child Development Facilitator (CDF) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 May 2017
Renfrew is a wonderful place that supports children and their families. It is an ever changing environment with lots of supportive people. The main focus is of the students and their development. I enjoyed my time with this Organization.
Pros
buildung healthy and caring relationships with children and families.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exposure to lots of different people and work environments
Child Development Consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 October 2015
By far the greatest thing about Renfrew is the amazing children you get to meet. Prepare for your misconceptions about autism to be blown away. Renfrew does amazing work with these kids and I have seen genuine growth of families.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Transportation (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 May 2015
Fantastic Job for stay at home moms or semi retired. I'm looking for a full time job that allows for more hours and pay. Love the people and the atmosphere, very family oriented, Great company to work for!
Pros
Too many to list
Cons
for me; not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meeting all the kids was the highlt of the day.
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 February 2014
picked up kids on my route and drove them to school and then would head for the other school for afternoon kids.
learned how to drive a bus and deal with special needs children.
management were great.
co- workers you had to be careful what you said and who you said it to.
the hardest part of my job was dealing with unruly parents
the best part about the job was the kids, they were the best part of the job!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 11Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a wonderful place to work
Child Development Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 October 2013
-I really enjoyed the time I spent working at renfrew
-My days where always busy but lots of fun
-management was easy to talk to
-co workers where always kind
-when having rough days with the kids you often go home wondering how you could have made it better
-building great bonds with children and helping them learn and grow.
Pros
summers off
Cons
tiring job
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Facilitator Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 July 2012
This is seriously the best place that I have ever worked in my life. The staff is very helpful, everyone gets along. You make friends really quick here. It's also very rewarding, as you are not just there to be with children with developmental difficulties, but you are there to help them reached set goals by a multidisiplinary team. I would stay here all my life if I could.
Pros
great people
Cons
need a car
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 6Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Renfrew Educational Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 11 reviews
51
44
32
23
11

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
2.3Salary/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
3.0Culture

Renfrew Educational Services Reviews by Location