Ren's Pets Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad team members, alright job.
Full Time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ontario22 May 2019
Worked with a lot of females that loved to gossip.
Most immature work place I have ever worked for.
Fun meeting some people but some were just plain rude.
Management pressures staff with so much work with only 2-3 workers working and it did not make sense.
Pros
ok discounts for my cat food and litter
Cons
tiresome shifts, underpaid, toxic culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated working here
Part time worker (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON20 May 2019
Management is awful!
Some customer orders took months to arrive, staff on the floor get blamed for warehouse/ head office not sending proper products on time.
Everyone LOVED playing the blame game in this company. Nobody was ever responsible for anything that went wrong.

They overwork you without the proper pay. My manager liked to cut off lunch even if you were forced not to take it because of all the tasks that needed to get done. Sometimes would not even be granted my paid breaks. They surely do care for the pets, but clearly not for the staff.
Pros
nothing
Cons
all of it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Team lead (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON28 March 2019
They really take the time to set up training with vendors so the employees have the most current and up todate information.
Not a place to just push product on customers really encourage employes to engage with and find solutions for customers. All in all a fun place to work !
Their passion for helping the community and local charities is a plus!
Ne prepared to wear many "hats".
Pros
Room for advancement, puppy snuggles, allowed to be creative with merchandising
Cons
Cleaning up dog waste, pay could be higher
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review for Ren's Pet Depot
Cashier/Floor (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON20 January 2019
Work life is well structured. Learned numerous product information. Management always ran accordingly. Workplace culture had regular customers. Surrounded by positivity.
Pros
Product information Seminars
Cons
Long stretched hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work environment
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  GTA, ON30 December 2018
Expect to work long hours with no compensation and if you refuse expect to be looked over for any advancement. Top management is unprofessional. Owned by US company now.
Pros
Seeing all the pets.
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but flawed management
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Aberfoyle, ON14 November 2018
Enjoyed the team. Truly believe that they are great at what they do. No HR department when I was there. Complaints not heard. The best part was Christmas parties and free lunches!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
day to day
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  GTA, ON18 October 2018
Love working with staff and the clientele that comes in. Helping make a difference in the four legged family's life. best part of the day is the snuggles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero job security and no room for promotion or experimentation
Employee (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON7 July 2018
The best part of working for this company is the coworkers you will have, who will not be around long due to a high turn over rate. Between resignations and terminations, expect to meet a lot of new faces monthly and beware of the three strike policy, as it doesn't exist. Promotions are not given, pay raises are rare- even after years, and new employees often make more than seasoned employees due to their charisma within the initial interview. New ideas go unappreciated despite the claim to wanting to be innovative.
Pros
Monthly voucher for dog food, great coworkers, occasional free lunches
Cons
No raises, no dental, high turn over, below average pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON6 April 2018
Driven by targets and don't consider the employees' best interests. With the minimum wage increase they have cut back on hours and the shifts feel understaffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Shipping and Receiving/Stock (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON19 February 2018
Terrible workplace, bad staff and nobody cares about safety. Basic workday consists of heavy lifting and unhelpful management. very disorganized and inefficient.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun place to work, great work environment
Retail and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON9 February 2018
AMAZING job, very fun seeing animals and working with customers. Flexible hours, managers are very understanding. The other employees are very respectful and make work a great place to be. A great Canadian store to work at and shop at!
Pros
Lots of Dogs!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
Associate (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON5 January 2018
the people working there are so nice. they are great with the customers. They make sure the customers get what they need and have the proper information
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible workplace- political and unprofessional
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON1 June 2017
The manager is not willing to train new hires, does not possess efficient managerial skills to hold down a stress-free work environment. Overall more stressful then non-stressful.
Pros
get to play with pets all day
Cons
inconsistent management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is a nightmare
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON18 May 2017
They treat their employees very poorly ranging from verbally degrading them to making fun of them behind their back. Was a very disappointing experience. CEO and the rest of the company seemed nice however. Problems seem to be localized to the one store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A happy place to work
Forklift and Raymond Reach Operator (Current Employee) –  Oakville, Ontario27 March 2014
I have learned a great deal and have enjoyed the people I've worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast paced workplace
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON20 November 2013
I Love what i do, a typical day for me is, deposits, banking, ensuring all receiving has been imputed properly, store is running smoothly, communicating daily tasks that need to get done, The store looks good and the customers are getting a great experience in our store!
I love the people that i work with we are a family and as long as you work hard you fit in well with our team, the most enjoyable part of my job is talking to customers and their pets and giving them the experience that they expect and sovling problems for them, The hardest part for me is because it is so fast paced trying to get all of my to do lists done everyday, but at the same time as long as i get the 5 most important things done that are the most critical, then i consider it a productive day!
Pros
discounts
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report

See more Ren's Pets reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ren's Pets. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 19 reviews
54
44
32
21
18

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.7Culture