Remcan Projects Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay. Management is a joke
Foreman/Operator (Former Employee) –  Western canada10 December 2017
Pays good. Lots of ot . Next to no time off. They run you till you can't go anymore then just dispose of employees. Management is self promoting incompetent no experience in the actual field. It's a half butt job if you are single but definitely not a career.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Management no personal life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They tell you want you want to hear never delivered on what was promised worked us hard then threw us away
Foreman/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 October 2017
Unhappy culture management was never around no leading by example for young employees
Overpromised pay problems seemed to be used and then laid off
Very large turnaround
Pros
Good drinking buddies
Cons
Unsafe in mornings
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical railroad contractor.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON12 September 2017
Hired for a specific job, 5 months later still not doing that job. They tell you what you want to hear. Told I was working in a certain location. End up working in an entirely different province.
Pros
Seasonal work.
Cons
Management sucks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Laborer (Current Employee) –  alberta canada30 September 2016
The work was challenging. worked outside all the time. Company treated me well. Very fair. Money was great and benefits were good.
Pros
wages, benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paying job, good benefits, but the other people take getting used to.
Track Maintenance Labourer (Former Employee) –  Hay River, NT29 February 2016
Disorganized, but not an unpleasant job. Got along with most of my crew, and have nothing bad to say about most of the foremen, and had no issues with the supervisors. I was disappointed to be let go with very short notice (I arrived at work, after the regular 6 hour commute from home to be notified by a foreman, not the supervisor). Good pay, good benefits. I learned a lot about how tracks are put together, maintained, and proper procedures. A lot of hard work that I enjoyed. It was switched up enough to stay interesting, but enough routine to be easily followed. Not much respect between levels of authority or between fellow workers.
Pros
Accommodations paid for while on shift. A generous LOA
Cons
No overtime. A lot of animosity between most other employees. Hostile environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Track maintainer (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC1 February 2016
Was labor intensive but a good crew made the long days go by quickly. Awesome learning experience worked with a lot of different crews very teamwork orientated.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
out of town in hotel
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well rounded company
Operator (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC26 October 2015
remcan was a fast paced environment, it was never a dull moment.
everyday we learned new things, working on the rail road consisted of many different tasks everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i am easy to get along with and hard working
foreman (Former Employee) –  canada27 January 2015
i learn very quick and if i dont know how to do something i will ask
Pros
hard worker
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 35Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Labourer/operator (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC8 November 2012
remcan is good but looking for more concret work over all an awsome expeirence learned lots and wanting more
Pros
co workers and owners
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Remcan Projects. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.7
Culture
2.9