Reitmans (Canada) Ltd Employee Reviews

Found 390 reviews matching the search See all 393 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the Worst Places I have EVER worked
Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary4 November 2018
I was employed by the Addition Elle store in Calgary. I found the store was terribly understaffed and morale was in the toilet. The customers were great and i felt bad that they had to endure such poor service due to lack of hours. There was a revolving door of managers who could not take the bullying of the DSM. Apparently i hear the store is closing down. Not at all surprising to me. Retail stores must be great at all levels to survive the retail landscape of today.
Pros
Close to Home
Cons
Terrible working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trop de stress
Conseillère de mode (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 October 2018
Près de 3 ans , j’ai vécue beaucoup de pression venant les membres de la gestion en boutique.
Pros
Rabais emploi parfait
Cons
Horaire diminué
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail horrible
Gerante adjointe (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 October 2018
Aucun soutien , les supérieurs tentent de faire partir les femmes en retour de congé de maternité , on coupe sans cesse les heures tout en augmentant les attentes , on coupe dans le service et après on nous demande pourquoi on vend moins. Les employés qui travaillent depuis plus longtemps pour la compagnie sont mises de coté ou en tente carrément de les faire partir . Bref je me recommande absolument pas cette compagnie
Pros
Aucun
Cons
Faible salaire, environnement de travail sterssant, attentes irealistes, quantite de travail absurde
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Fashion Sales Associate- Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON15 October 2018
Fun workplace, great team. Management understands and aims to meet the needs of staff members. The culture is fun. Everyone knows their role, and we work as a team to achieve our goals. However many negative corporate changes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 October 2018
Fun place to work at and the Management will support you with a good Training, pay a less salary for the amount of work you get done there, other than that nothing to complain about the job
Pros
good Environment to work
Cons
Less Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working at reitmans
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Corner Brook, NL10 October 2018
I loved working at reitmans. really nice people and really nice other employees. overall the work was good. I worked on cash, cleaned the store and talked to customers and helped them find what they were looking for.
Pros
worked with really nice people
Cons
always talking to customers. i prefer more hands on work. cooking or baking, cleaning or working on cash.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and Unfair
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC10 October 2018
Management is very greedy, hours constantly get cut by the head office for not reaching the unrealistic sales targets, management cheat their way in many ways.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant workplace culture
Retail Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON9 October 2018
Always room for growth. Upper management were approachable and respected your opinions. Training was provided from Human Resources throughout my years with Reitmans Ltd. Respect for staff and customers were important to them.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
Could be long hours depending on position and season
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and very good place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC28 September 2018
amazing for someone getting their first retail job its slower paced but the training program is great. everyone is really kind and they are very productive and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
better management
Team lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 September 2018
Had to ask for a transfer because the manager was discussing my medical condition i expressed to her as a reason of missing work with another coworker
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport

Want to know more about Reitmans (Canada) Ltd?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB12 September 2018
I liked working at Reitmans
The staff was very nice an always willing to help
There’s 50% discount on regular price items
Not a lot of storage for stuff
Small lunch room
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Not enough hours/ have to wear reitmans Clothing every shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and demanding work environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Mount Pearl, NL12 September 2018
Top performance is expected. Upper management holds you accountable for any sales lost and you can be written up or dismissed if you fall behind. Sales staff are wonderful, management are burnt out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail très agréable
Vendeuse, caissière (Former Employee) –  Saint-Hubert, QC29 August 2018
les employé sont toujours de bonne humeur et dévoués pour rendre les clients satisfait
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work with amazing coworkers
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON14 August 2018
a typical day at work would involve helping all customers when they are there. replenishing the stock when traffic is down. hardest part would be dealing with unhappy customers but we can always work it out.
Pros
get a discount on product
Cons
not to many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prefer not to comment
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON12 August 2018
Opening the store setting goals for the day!
scheduling sales associates for the day and evening shifts
DSM not all supportive
valved theirs company
Having to leave for personal reasons
Enjoyed working with my staff and our customers
Pros
prefer not to say
Cons
prefer not to comment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Conseillère mode (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC4 August 2018
Il y a beacoup de favoritisme au sein de l’équipe par exemple je n’avais pas d’heures par ce que j’étais nouvelle, mais une autre nouvelle obtiens plus d’heures que moi ok? Je suis étudiante et je dois acheter des vetement a chaque fois qu’il y a une nouvelle collection alors que je n’ai pas d’heures et donc pas d’argent pour les acheter!! Il y a trop d’exigence face au service a la clientele j’ai l’impression d’agresser les clientes tellement on me pousse a aller les voir a chaque 2 secondes et apres on se demande pourquoi elles sont pas fines
Pros
Souvent vide
Cons
Atmosphere de travail
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Part time.
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON30 July 2018
Good place for a student to work part time.

Working full time with any title above sales associate, your job is never safe. They move employees around from store to store, and if you do not wish to switch locations (maybe its too far from home) then you will never be offered another promotion through the company.

Often when employees leave, they do not rush to fill the position and others are expected to do the extra work with out any extra compensation. This goes on for extended periods of time and wears out the staff mentally and physically.

Unfortunately, they have a program that sets unrealistic sales goals (ei: Goal of $5000 for the day and you might only have 25 customers that day) and if you fail to reach the sales goal, you are reprimanded and in ongoing cases, let go.

Their benefits are decent, however it can take a very long time to get them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and bad experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON29 July 2018
Manager sucks but employees are the sweetest. Alot of new people coming in and leaving fast. Manger is demanding and rude as she only cared about being on the phone all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement productif et agreable
Commis/Caissière (Former Employee) –  Tracadie-Sheila, NB27 July 2018
J'ai aimé travailler pour cette entreprise, heure flexible belle ambiance etc...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Fashion Associate (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON23 July 2018
Working at Reitmans helped me get a sense of the fashion world, and what was in and was was fading out. I would help women of all ages find their style and sizes that worked fro them and their body type. I learned so much working their, and it helped my own wardrobe grow.
Pros
Discounted on clothes
Cons
Have to wear their cloths and stay on tope of each season
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Reitmans (Canada) Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 393 reviews
5103
4141
3102
230
117

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture