Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A work environment where you become an integral part of the team very quickly.
PARKS & RECREATION TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB7 April 2018
Working for the RMWB allowed me to have a very diverse career in my field of education. I was rewarded for my successes, encouraged to take training pertinent to my career position, and felt welcome at all times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good
Apprentice Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB21 January 2018
worked there as a RAP apprentice when i was still in high school learned some of my first things of construction there lots friendly people there was good place to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Needs Work
finance (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB12 December 2017
Management and Culture is bad to work with. Senior levels are good, but directors and managers make the culture not good to work in.

CAO is trying to change for the better but the favoritism of the few leads the hard workers to never succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing Culture
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, AB4 December 2017
What is great about the RMWB is also its worst trait - an always changing senior leadership and council, which can result conflicting priorities and lack of continuity. Also, as I suppose in many government organizations, performance is not really measured by actual results, but rather how much your boss actually likes you.
Pros
All pros have been taken away
Cons
Lack of strategic continuity and lack of transparancy
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The rmwb
Network Services Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB14 November 2017
An always changing environment. It is hard to focus on senior management direction, as typically directors change on average in 18 months.
Benefits and salaries are competitive with the industry and the work in in-town.
However the environment is extremely political - of course, this is dependent on department.
Pros
competitive pay
Cons
Extremely political
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay is above average, unfortunately very little culture or opportunity for growth
Finance (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB5 August 2017
The pay is above average, unfortunately very little culture or opportunity for growth. employees are not motivated, and there is a huge disconnect between upper management and its employees
Pros
hours, benefits
Cons
little investment in personal or career advancement, poor morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rmwb
Manager, Creative Solutions (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB28 July 2017
I enjoyed working with my colleagues at the RMWB.

Did not expect to be made redundant and still don't believe it made operational sense.

Would have wished to finish my career there.
Pros
The People
Cons
Some of the decisions made at a senior level
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and a good group of employees
Senior Developer / Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, AB3 July 2017
I enjoyed working there, met a lot of good people. Learned a lot in my field. I enjoyed working on project with other departments. This employer valued contribution on all levels.
Pros
Fun environment, good people
Cons
Cost of living
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB26 June 2017
great place to work, enjoyable staff, flex hours available, overall enjoyable. work load was fast pace, most of the managers were very nice, close to home
Pros
flex hours available
Cons
contracts run out
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Records/Storage Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB30 May 2017
Great place to work, everyone was easy to get along with. If you ever had an issue with something someone was always there to help.

There was always something to work on, kept me busy and on my feet a lot which was awesome makes the day go by fast.
Pros
Great hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, AB18 April 2017
It was an incredible experience for me to be able to work at one of the biggest Municipality of Canada.
I found that experience very grateful, to help people to comfort them after going through a such disaster
Cons
very risky
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB12 March 2017
The Fort McMurray Hotel Group provided excellent opportunities to grow and build a long career. The management team provided much needed support and encouragement.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the trades guys are fun to work with
supervisor (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, AB16 February 2017
this is a good place to work however 35 hour work weeks are a little to slow for me I need more hours and be depended on more. there is not much room for advancement a great place if you have a few years left to retirement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Labourer (Summer Student) (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB1 February 2017
Good things don't last forever I learnt. The most fun job I've ever had in Fort McMurray. From the first day on the job staff and management made everything roll smooth for me to understand how things worked. It went by so fast I miss it so much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
RCMP Switchboard Operator (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, AB1 February 2017
Overall good company. The people are great. Management is over well helpful. Good Benefits. Good work atmosphere. I liked my experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Refuse pickup for municipality
Refuse Collector (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB24 October 2016
Drive a tandem truck with my class 3 license and loaded and unloaded the truck. Cleaned up the shop on a daily basis and put together refuse bins.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Great environment to work
Student Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB3 August 2016
Great staff that all work together to better the city and each other. Learned lots of skills about operating equipment and running a city.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a rewarding job.
Road maintenance technician (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB17 July 2016
good place to work . liked how organized it was people were also good if you needed help with something. family oriented.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Watch Clerk (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB16 July 2016
Amazing job with great people. Busy atmospher, with lots of multitasking required. My officers are wonderful and you learn something new everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Senior Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB22 April 2016
Always something new to look forward to, the people are all welcoming and very friendly.

Other staff willing to provide mentoring and coaching.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Distance between operational Units
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 36 reviews
514
410
39
21
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture

Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo Reviews by Location