Realstar Management Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with alot of friendly tenants and coworkers
Cleaning Staff (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 May 2018
A typical day at work was very fun and motivating. I learnt how to do my work fast and productively. The management is very friendly and runs business properly. The most enjoyable part of the job is cleaning up and knowing u worked hard and did a great job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See below
Asst. Resident Manager (Former Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QC3 May 2018
Time spent working here would have been better spent in Jail...
Beware and apply at your own risk. Promise you the sky and the moon. They squeeze you like a lemon and then throw you away.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Property Manager
Resident Manager (Former Employee) –  Barrie ON16 April 2018
Property Manager for different apartment buildings and townhouses in the city of Barrie. Very enjoyable work. Some troubleshooting with residents involved. Live-in position so not much privacy for the management staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't even think about applying
Resident Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 March 2018
Low pay, long hours, uncaring management.

Accommodations are provided as a taxable benefit. Apartment rate is raised yearly and more than offsets the annual raise which is always less than the CPI..

Bonuses can be good when rents are high and occupancy is 100%. During a downturn in the economy they consider it your fault they can't rent apartments. District Managers will lie to you and their upper management in front of you.

No support for front line workers.

Just a bad uncaring company.
Pros
Somewhere to live if you're homeless
Cons
everything you can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head Office Employee
Manager (Current Employee) –  Head Office27 December 2017
I have worked with Realstar for almost four years at the head office. The owners and management of the company are fantastic. They care about their workers and provide a very professional and easy environment to work in. I personally found growth opportunities very easy to come by at Realstar, you simply have to ask for growth and they will do their best to assist you in any way possible (mind you, not all roles have this movement). The office at Realstar is full of very friendly and down to earth people - which in my experience is very rare to find. In addition to this, they appreciate and support work life balance. I highly recommend Realstar.
Pros
Great compensation, holiday party, decent benefits, good bonuses, great management, good working environment, good work life balance.
Cons
Growth may be difficult to obtian, depending on the role
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldnt recommend this place to anyone
Assistant Resident Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 December 2017
This place is only good to work if you have absolutely no bills and don't care to be treated like garbage by your manager and the above people. they don't care to buy you from not talking about the poor and unethical things that happen in this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learn more skills
Assistant resident manager (Former Employee) –  Assistant Resident Manager19 December 2017
a typical day at work is running building cleaning and maintenance.
I learned a lot of maintenance skills.
the most enjoyable part of the job is residents appreciate to my hard work to let them happy live.
Pros
taxable living appartment
Cons
over night on call
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You work for free on call & make less then $10 per hr
Past Employee (Former Employee) –  Confidential18 December 2017
Slave work, slave labour rates
They trick you on promise of bonuses.
Lie about the hours - On calls same as work not pd.
Work is overwork and underpaid
Pros
Unit is free
Cons
Less then minimum wage - Labour board knows them well!
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funny how they are always running ads and can not get anyone
Slave (Former Employee) –  Edmonton2 December 2017
Work here if you want to get 17k a year what a joke. Slave drivers, work you to beyond normal, my manager was great person. Boss is a great couple. Thery want more than 60 hours with out over time and 3 days off every two weeks. Worked so hard fingers bled
Pros
Nothing off the top of my head
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Realstar is the best in the property management industry!
N/A (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 November 2017
I have been working for Realstar for 3 years and it has been a wonderful experience! The company was founded by two gentlemen in 1974 and they really make you feel like family. They really value loyalty and people who want to work hard to make the company successful. Management works hard at motivating and developing their employees. I really have nothing but positive things to say about Realstar.
Pros
Holiday Party's, Years of Service Awards
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, Terrible Management
Assistant Super (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON8 October 2017
The company offered a lot of advancement, room to grow, and bonuses. It, however, was run by terribly racist, homophobic and sexist individuals. I wish I could've stayed on. The pay was excellent, but the management was beyond poor and not at trained in leadership or common decency.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Accountant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 August 2017
Very good place , for the person who wants to learn from the professional in fast pace environment, very decent workplace culture and flexible timing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment
Building Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 July 2017
Productive and fun workplace.A typical day is going through work orders, reviewing them, calling contractors and scheduling repairs and inspections. Busy times are during the last and first weeks of the month. Tenants can sometimes be annoying but you should know how not to take them personally when they're furious. When you are working in this field, you get fulfilled and satisfied when you're able to help and solve the tenant's issues. However, it sometimes becomes frustrating when contractors are not able to do their jobs well. Sometimes, you are also thankful that some of the tenants are easy to talk to and are appreciative of what you do for them. Property management is a small industry and when management changes, there are always positives and negatives to them. People will always compare the past and the current managements and they will always find something good about the current one when you're providing good service and will always find something bad about the current one when there are so many problems existing. Experience in this field is always a plus for you go back to what you've experienced before in some scenarios when you're trying to come up with a decision in a particular situation.
Pros
set hours, good benefits
Cons
low salary, bonuses not being awarded as promised
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to start a new career with.
Resident Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 June 2017
A typical day at a Realstar property is 90% cleaning, with maintenance done on an as needed basis. Showing of suites and taking of rents are also a daily part of the job as well.
During my time with Realstar I learned time management and how to co-ordinate with contractors as well as working within a specific operating budget.
Management at Realstar is not the greatest as there are too many different managers that you have to report to for different aspects of the job.
The hardest part of the job was the extremely long hours and no recognition for a job well done.
The most enjoyable part of the job was organizing the events for the residents and the people I got to know along the way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place ever, stay clear
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK18 June 2017
What kind of company sets rules saying no dogs allowed in building, then hires two teams with dogs. This company has nobody in upper management that has run a building. The people saying this company is a good one are suspect. The guy who says he can't use his carpenter skills has to be a fake, carpenters make four times the money while working one fourth the time. If you are not a drunk or a druggie, stay away, and if you have skills, there are companies that will pay you far more than this one. This job pays less than minimum wage.
Pros
A place to live
Cons
Bad management, very poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place to work
Resident Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 April 2017
A typical day as a Resident Manager, you clean non-stop all day, the ladies DO NOT work in the office, you learn to teach yourself.
Management lol the P.M loves to gossip about everyone, lies about everyone, has no customer service at all very rude to the staff and the residents hardest part of the job dealing with two-faced people,
The most enjoyable part of the job The residents!
Pros
dealing with great tenants every day
Cons
long hours/you live where you work
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper management not trained
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK12 April 2017
Working for this company was frustrating. Over the two years working here, we had three different DM's, and the rules changed each time. We were not allowed to enforce the rules Realstar had made, including the ones they made new signs for.
These jobs are not true management jobs, therefore they are supposed to be paying overtime, but we had to go to the labor board to get ours. ARM's and RM's are supposed to get overtime.
The job with our first DM was ok, but when she left, it went downhill fast. This was due to people forced into doing jobs they were not trained for.
Pros
Staff lunch
Cons
Bad communication with upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Purchasing Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 February 2017
Realstar is a great company to work at. Almost everyone who has worked there, has surpassed 15 plus years of employment. It is a very comfortable environment to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a complete night mare
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  amherstburg,on.Dalhouise place apartments10 February 2017
the worst place we have ever worked.was told be the manager that this is his building,his rules .it was do as i say not as i do. we were yelled at called a ssholes lied to all these managers want is assistants to do ALL the work they are the lazyest managers we have ever seen the office is never open they never leave their apartment the place is a mess.
Pros
very nice tenants
Cons
no upper management support
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Resident Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON19 January 2017
They are okay to work for . They don't care much about employees.They care more about making money than staff.

Would not recommend them.
Pros
Days off
Cons
Long work hours for less than minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Realstar Management. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 51 reviews
511
414
314
24
18

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture