Realstar Management Employee Reviews

Found 68 reviews matching the search See all 69 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooks, AB9 August 2019
Learned lots from a great company... went from assistant manager to manager in less than a year .... the people are amazing and always there to teach and help develop you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC25 July 2019
I have nothing to say except that it's the best company and I'm proud to be part of Realstar’s family. Everyday is always different and always new challenges. I learned new techniques. There is a lot of physical activity and multitasking. And everyday you meet new people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are good people trying to do their best.
Resident Manager- General building maintenance (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 July 2019
The problem with this company is typical with most management companies, in that --- they do not value the people that brings true value to the bottomline, which are the employees. Their thinking is usually short term and centers around the dollar. Value comes from people and their ability to produce efficiently. Upper management that pretends to be royalty prevents ones potential from being realized.
Pros
Employees are good people.
Cons
Management sucks. The problem comes from head office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Leasing Agent (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 July 2019
They truly care and value their employees. Great work environment. Very professional
Pros
Professional, Good wages
Cons
Stability for Jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Residents can be very friendly
Assistant Resident Manager/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON22 June 2019
Company does not care about its employees only about the money they can make for themselves, bonuses and benefits are not that great, they tax everything and you make next to nothing.
If you are old and already retired and don't want to do anything then this is a fit for you, not for someone who can do everything or anyone with a family because they will fire you with no real reason at any given time and not care to make someone or their family homeless
Pros
You live where you work
Cons
Pay and benefits suck
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
HR Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 June 2019
there is a Friendly Culture
all the time you have Great support from managers
They provide the opportunity for growth
they give reasonable salary and compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 May 2019
In the world of Property Management this is a company with strong values and character. At the time I worked there the management was all male but has come a long way.
I would recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company !!
Assistant resident (Former Employee) –  Fort Erie, ON19 March 2019
They do what they say, and say what they mean.Good people to work with.They are great at giving out bonuses. As long as you do what your asked to do.A
Pros
BBQ in the summer, Halloween get to gethers, christmas party and dinners. Gave 1/4 bonuses.
Cons
8_5 mon to fri. 1 . 5 hrs of once a qeek and every other weekend of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, family orieted
Assistant Resident Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 November 2018
My typical day day at work is always make sure the building is kept cleaned and safe for the residents.I learned a lot working for this company, including working togeather as a team and always looking out for each other. I also learned great customer service and always making sure the residents for safe and happy. There wasnt really a hard part in my job because everyone worked as a team and helped when and where we could.the most enjoyable part of the job is putting on the residents events and seeing everyone come togeather as a family and being so happy.
Pros
having a roof over are head
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working and residing at this beautiful place. Great experience.
Resident Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 November 2018
Managed a luxury high-rise building of 479 apartments in down town Toronto.
Tenant Services
- Assist and administer lease agreements.
- Dispatch tenant work orders; Maintain tenant work order e-mail.
- Handle tenant, vendor and prospective tenant walk-ins.
- Assist with tenant and vendor related interface as needed.
- Assist District Manager with tenant relations as required.
Administrative Duties
-Assist Property Management with the day to day operations and tenant relations through the coordination of tenant requests and administration of maintenance services.
-Answer and route phone calls from tenants and vendors to the appropriate contact within Property Management and/or dispatch personnel based on immediate needs.
-Provide tenants and vendors with assistance in all aspects of scheduling building maintenance, communicating building procedures and supplying general building information.
-Provide high quality of customer service, update and maintain current daily and emergency tenant contact lists and tenant information manuals.
-Provide support to Property Managers by producing, modifying and /or distributing various forms, spreadsheets, manuals, information packages, and miscellaneous type-written information.
-Process correspondence for tenants, contractors and other third parties for Property Management staff.
-Maintain and update insurance certificate files for all contractors performing work at the properties.
-Assist with the scheduling of contractor work and coordinate with tenants.
-Contribute toward overall office operational needs by helping to
  more... provide phone coverage, ordering supplies.
-Maintain and update as necessary all tenant contact information, after hour access.
-Maintain reported Risk Management Policies and Incidents immediately upon occurrence and emergency contact information as well as a master tenant contact e-mail address listing.
-Handle miscellaneous assignments as requested by management
-Maintained highly organized filing system for leases, tenants, insurance certificates, vendors, buildings, drawings, contracts and PO's.
-Assisted property manager as needed on special projects.
-Assist with the coordination of rent/lease collections.
  less
Pros
Free housing
Cons
On site and on call for emergency 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant resident manager
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Halifax25 October 2018
If you want to be constantly lied to , demeaned in front of tenants and contracted workers.
Apply for this job.
Worst supervisor i ever had
May 15 -Sept 14
Pros
None
Cons
Noisy, unorganized, and opinionated
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright place to work and live
Resident&Assistant Manager, Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Alberta16 October 2018
meet new people,resident events.your basically working for yourself,to make Quarterly Bonuses,Pleasant working Enviroment
Good way to Advance if a personwants to get into the Real Easte
Pros
medical
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was a joke
Assistant Resident Manager (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON3 September 2018
management is unprofessional, rude, and unfit for their role in this company. Zero-training, treated unfairly to the point where tenants were concerned for our wellbeing. Complained to upper management about the hostile work environment which only made things worse.
Pros
free rent, friendly tenants, thats about it
Cons
management, unfair overtime wage, on-call
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON24 August 2018
while i was there i learned how to manage a building and grew close with some of the tenants. a typical day started around 8am. the days were long as i was on call alot and wasnt able to go out on my own as often as i would have liked. the workplace and coworkers were awesome to work with and the tenants were amazing. we had days at the buildings where we would do lunches for the tenants to ensure that people in the building were happy and had a sense of community.
Pros
free unit
Cons
lack of free time
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Salary/Great Opportunity
Assistant Resident Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 July 2018
I actually loved working for Realstar. I was a Resident Manager and lived on site. I was able to meet and greet renter's potential renter's and all inquiring about rentals. It was a great experience. The only reason I even considered leaving this company is that the salary was only take home of $300.00/week plus the apartment. No one can live on that income.
Pros
Great atmosphere!
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Upper Management - Patient & Helpful
Resident Manager - Tennyson Apts (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 June 2018
I worked there for over 2 years. Any issues I had were addressed accordingly and respected by head office.

For those unhappy in their current position, try speaking with HR and they will resolve your concerns, rest assured.

I would be delighted to go back to work for realstar when the time comes.

Loved my job and the residents too. Happy to say!
Pros
Great Pay - Great Bonus - Free Apt- Free Cable
Cons
Hard to find hard working assistance
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a place you want to work
Manager - Tennyson Apartments (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 June 2018
The higher managers take from your budget, backstab you, and allow people to steal from your property. When you question or promise to tell the owners - they threaten and fire you, leaving you homeless.

They promise time off, but don't hire anyone for your property for 6 months, leaving you to work 24/7 365, and only pay you for 4 days aweek.
Pros
no pros
Cons
only cons -
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with alot of friendly tenants and coworkers
Cleaning Staff (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 May 2018
A typical day at work was very fun and motivating. I learnt how to do my work fast and productively. The management is very friendly and runs business properly. The most enjoyable part of the job is cleaning up and knowing u worked hard and did a great job
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See below
Asst. Resident Manager (Former Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QC3 May 2018
Time spent working here would have been better spent in Jail...
Beware and apply at your own risk. Promise you the sky and the moon. They squeeze you like a lemon and then throw you away.
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Property Manager
Resident Manager (Former Employee) –  Barrie ON16 April 2018
Property Manager for different apartment buildings and townhouses in the city of Barrie. Very enjoyable work. Some troubleshooting with residents involved. Live-in position so not much privacy for the management staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Realstar Management. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 69 reviews
516
420
316
25
112

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture