RBC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a hackathon not a job
Group Member, Hack-a-thon (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 March 2018
Really, it was just an event that I was invited to. I was in a group and worked alongside one of the RBC employees. It was a good time and I hoped I could have had a job there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on what group you work for.
Application Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 March 2018
It has become who you know not what you know in certain groups of the bank. Promotion seem to be given out to people based on who they know in higher position not based on their experiences. This devaluates the position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great culture stemming from top management
Banking Advisor (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON19 March 2018
Amazing culture, great management and overall great employee experience was given as well the entire time I was employed with RBC. Management is driven to help all employees succeed and ensure they are reaching their full potential.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales driven
Client Advisor (Former Employee) –  Squamish, BC18 March 2018
I was a customer service representative and then my title was changed to client advisor so I could sell more products even though I didn't have the education to support what they wanted me to sell. The management and the team is incredible, however the company is there for profit only.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and flexible working environment
Technical System Analyst Co-op (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 March 2018
I have learned how agile SDLC methodology works. Working from home is allowed for everyone. The floors for agile teams are quite advanced and fantastic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic Work
Team Lead / Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto17 March 2018
I work in the IT Risk field. The work is interesting and dynamic. However, it is frustrating as the issues I deal with on a daily basis are due to an organization that does not react to change effectively.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 March 2018
The working in large organizations with prescribed processes and systems was simple. Hand good experience dealing with interdepartmental individuals with conflicting priorities to achieve the desired objective.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Staff
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 March 2018
This is a people and customer focus bank. It caters to give the best customer service to its clients. The working relations of staff was very conducive, collaborative, and team work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized organization
Client Care Advisor/Manager Delegate (Current Employee) –  New Tecumseth, ON15 March 2018
Management is good but it could be improved.

The hardest part of my job right now is trying to have a work/family life balance. I have to work extended hours which affects my time with my family

The most enjoyable part of my job are my co-workers!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad culture, Lack of Connection with Management
Risk Manager, Model Validation (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 March 2018
Bad culture, Lack of Connection with Management
Depends on the team that you join
Might not learn anything at all
Some teams work well, but generally not fine
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great employer
Financial Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON12 March 2018
RBC was a great place to work. I would still be working for them if I had not been going through a divorce. They pay well and had great benefits and working hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The advisor I worked for was horrible.
Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 March 2018
I developed serious anixety issues after working here. The advisor I worked for was a mean spirited, ego-manic. The pay was horrible. The benefits were good, it's why I stayed so long. RBC is a great company to work for but I don't recommend working as an Associate unless you enjoy being criticized and ridiculed 5 days of the week. The day I walked out was one of the best days of my life.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Horrible pay. Poor office morale.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postive work environment supportive of staff
Cash Cage Clerk - Reception (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC12 March 2018
Cash Cage Position required 6 months training and offered ongoing courses to advance and help in position.

This was a very busy, fast paced and challenging position and a banking or securities background is an asset. The clerk must be extremely detailed oriented, able to follow instructions and comfortable with computers and switchboards.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Forever changing policies- must be constantly on top of new policies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and nice people
Travel Claims Examiner (Former Employee) –  mississauga11 March 2018
i worked here for 3+ years
no problems with management or growth opportunities.
i found that those who wanted to succeed could and would if they put in the effort and the work necessary.

the pay does not reflect the amount of work that needs to be done.
for such a large business, i find that they underpay a lot of their employees.
Pros
professionalism
Cons
underpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team player, experience, Bilingual,
Bilingual SR. PRODUCTION SUPPORT ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Toronto,ont.10 March 2018
Ensuring things get done in a timely manner.
Various experience with different companies.
Strong manegment skills acquired through courses and trining.
Friendly and easy going.
No one who pulls their weight.
Keeping the customer / client happy and enjoying what you do.
Pros
Interacting with colleagues.
Cons
Use for the right decision
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conducive working environment
Director (Current Employee) –  Toronto9 March 2018
Excellent support and resources are available for career development.
I love working with RBC as you are encouraged to speak up for a good and work as a one team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse, exciting place to work
Client Adviser (Current Employee) –  fort saskatchewan8 March 2018
Call center was very team oriented, diverse and community involved.\
Branch not team oriented or community involved.
I got trained at the advise center called Royal Direct located in Winnipeg. The training was advanced and challenging. Came away with more knowledge then managers at the branches. Upon moving to a branch unfulfilled. No advise center in Alberta or i would be there
Pros
Training and learning
Cons
no training at branch for team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun enviroment
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  fort mac8 March 2018
great place to work, great managers and good work life balance. pay is not the best and inter office politics is normal. however eazy to move up if working hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful experience
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC7 March 2018
working for RBC is a wonderful experience and great for the future. The staff are always willing to help you if ever you get stuck and the management is very polite and down to earth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 March 2018
Considering that I’ve been working with Royal Bank for over 12 years, this should tell you that it is a great company to work for. Further more, it’s the people that make the environment enjoyable and fun. Rbc takes prides in hiring the most talented people which I believe as I assist with the interview and hiring process due to my current role.

Overall, they are a great company to work with.
Pros
Th people
Cons
Fast paced environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 2,612 reviews
51.1K
4891
3474
297
181

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture