RBC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of pressure nowadays...
Sr. Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 April 2018
A lot of positions have been cut recently and the people left are overloaded. The balance between work and personal life has deteriorated considerably in the past year or so.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Client Advisor, Business Services (Current Employee) –  Renfrew, ON1 April 2018
Great company to work for . Work life balance good and also the chance for career development . Would recommend RBC to anyone looking to join the world of banking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competitive work place
IFRS Consultant - Enterprise Hedge Accounting (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 March 2018
Provided opportunities to work with colleagues from culturally diverse backgrounds. Fast paced environment requiring hands-on experience. Provides opportunities to learn and grow within the organization.
Pros
Opportunities to learn and grow within the organization.
Cons
Salary and Benefits are not competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with great work culture
Banking Advisor (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC28 March 2018
great place to work for and immense opportunities to grow as you can prove yourself at different stages and grow with the organisation. the management is also good and workplace culture is good too. it is very enjoyable to work here too as the staff is very helpful and friendly .i would definitely recommend rbc bank as an employment option for suitable candidates.
Pros
great environment to work.
Cons
long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing. I wish I could work there full time
Risk Operations Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 March 2018
Most awesome place I have ever worked in at 88 queens quay. Culture is friendly, but most of them are very old. So it's not a suitable environment if you are a young adult...
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Senior Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 March 2018
Both legacy and new systems running dynamically in parallel;
Workplace is inspiring but workload is heavy;
The most enjoyable part of the job is diversified of tasks all the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tough place to work
Financial Planner (Former Employee) –  New Liskeard, ON22 March 2018
as a financial planner, there is no time for family or outside activities. The work environment and the staff at my location were all looking to advance into the corporation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QE Lead
QA Lead (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 March 2018
A typical work place with lot of opportunities, learning and growth options. But the problem is with the middle level management. The best place for bossism.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have been working at RBC full-time
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 March 2018
Pros

Mostly very good people, high proportion of female employees in management positions, senior management have mostly all been working at RBC for many years

Cons

Work is not always delegated well between teams and departments so hours were quite long

Advice to Management

Focus seems to be increasingly toward short term financial cost savings vs. developing and retaining mid-level managers for long-term growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great first job, but career wise, not the greatest
Client Advisor (Former Employee) –  etobicoke20 March 2018
working for RBC is great as a first time job for those who have just finished college/ or university to get an idea of where they want to go, long-term. But if you are looking for a career, would not recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
QA Team Lead/People Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 March 2018
RBC takes care of their employees, and offer various employee perks. I enjoy going to work everyday. RBC encourages all employees to have a development plan. You are encouraged to work with your manager on your development plan.
Pros
Free Coffee
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a hackathon not a job
Group Member, Hack-a-thon (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 March 2018
Really, it was just an event that I was invited to. I was in a group and worked alongside one of the RBC employees. It was a good time and I hoped I could have had a job there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on what group you work for.
Application Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 March 2018
It has become who you know not what you know in certain groups of the bank. Promotion seem to be given out to people based on who they know in higher position not based on their experiences. This devaluates the position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great culture stemming from top management
Banking Advisor (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON19 March 2018
Amazing culture, great management and overall great employee experience was given as well the entire time I was employed with RBC. Management is driven to help all employees succeed and ensure they are reaching their full potential.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales driven
Client Advisor (Former Employee) –  Squamish, BC18 March 2018
I was a customer service representative and then my title was changed to client advisor so I could sell more products even though I didn't have the education to support what they wanted me to sell. The management and the team is incredible, however the company is there for profit only.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and flexible working environment
Technical System Analyst Co-op (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 March 2018
I have learned how agile SDLC methodology works. Working from home is allowed for everyone. The floors for agile teams are quite advanced and fantastic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic Work
Team Lead / Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto17 March 2018
I work in the IT Risk field. The work is interesting and dynamic. However, it is frustrating as the issues I deal with on a daily basis are due to an organization that does not react to change effectively.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Staff
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 March 2018
This is a people and customer focus bank. It caters to give the best customer service to its clients. The working relations of staff was very conducive, collaborative, and team work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized organization
Client Care Advisor/Manager Delegate (Current Employee) –  New Tecumseth, ON15 March 2018
Management is good but it could be improved.

The hardest part of my job right now is trying to have a work/family life balance. I have to work extended hours which affects my time with my family

The most enjoyable part of my job are my co-workers!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad culture, Lack of Connection with Management
Risk Manager, Model Validation (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 March 2018
Bad culture, Lack of Connection with Management
Depends on the team that you join
Might not learn anything at all
Some teams work well, but generally not fine
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 2,427 reviews
5996
4818
3447
288
178

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture