RBC Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable people to work with
Banking Advisor (Current Employee) –  St. Albert, AB10 September 2018
The role was effective at learning more about the industry and understanding different paths to take in the industry. Salary left more to be desired and there is not enough room for growth at the branch level.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RBC I&TS is an established institution in the financial services industry
Manager, US Tax Operations (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 September 2018
RBC I&TS is not only an established company, but also a social instigator and contributor to worthy causes.
Good place to work and workplace culture is easygoing.
Pros
Free coffees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional workplace
Expert Client Advisor - Canada (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 September 2018
At RBC the culture is great, however some managers are terrible. Their attitudes and ego gets in the way of you having a good day. The salary is terrible and you WILL work over time with no pay and no recognition. If you do not product push, they will shadow you until you start sales pitching to clients. You are rated based on your sales.
Pros
Good career if patient, moving up
Cons
no recognition
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Colleagues, Poor Management
Canada Benefits Administrator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 September 2018
Great culture in terms of colleagues.
Poor assistance and guidance from management. No room for growth, very mundane type of jobs.
Low salary and not comparable to competitors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 years in RBC
Senior Technical System Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 August 2018
flexible working hour
learning insurance business
management is excellent in overall.
culture is very diversified, and satisfied.
I don't encounter any touch part in the job.
was able to contribute a lot for every projects.
Pros
culture
Cons
pay is under average in RBC insurance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rbc
BUSINESS OPERATIONS MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 August 2018
Good company with great benefits and salary.
Good leadership and mentorship opportunities.
Good work life balance and opportunity for advancement.
Good overall place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disliked it very much
ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 August 2018
I always wanted to work for RBC but once I did I disliked it more than any job. Management was very intense on sales and making sure we are upgrading people’s accounts and asking about their money. It was a very uncomfortable environment and they have very high expectations for the low wage you get. I felt constantly worried about job security.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Poor work environment, poor management, low pay, high expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional position with low compensation
Client Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL22 August 2018
You get paid very little over minimum wage. I found the work and people enjoyable. It’s banking hours so the schedule is good. Has a professional environment.
Pros
Benefits, Hours of operation
Cons
Hourly pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work experience
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  London, ON20 August 2018
Great working environment with a lot of support. The hardest part is the long working hours but the pay makes up for it. You can have your lunch break whenever you want and everything is confidential within the firm
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work for
Technical Network Lead (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 August 2018
It is a great organization to gain a lot of experience and always rewarding. I have had the best 25 years in my career with this great company.
Great benefits and rewards to its talented employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More work less pay
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Strathmore, AB13 August 2018
Hours of work were ok. Management was bad. People were not united. No teamwork. Expectations were very high. Pay on the low side in comparison to other FIs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for work life balance...
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 August 2018
Good if you have a family, or other priorities. The salary is VERY low, but I guess the job security is good and almost impossible to do extra hours for lower ranked jobs. Lots of politics, not sure how people get promoted but it looks like it comes a lot from who you know more than on results.
Pros
Work-life balance, job security
Cons
low wage, not so great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place and good people, wages do not match work load
Senior banking advisor (Current Employee) –  Moncton, NB1 August 2018
High stress job that does not fairly match wages for work load and required sales targets. We have given feedback for years to increase hourly wages and not have so much emphasis put on end of year bonus.
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keyword “Clients Needs”
Cards Advisor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC31 July 2018
Although we are all clients, the Cards Advisor role is way too focused on the client service experience (aka Sales & micro managing to ensure sales are met).
In a nutshell, the advice centre role cares more about meeting sale targets rather then employees concerns. Employees are over worked, micro managed, not appreciated for their efforts, and a noticable difference is sensed in managements approach with the high performers and low performers. This role takes a toll on people and i do not recommend it to anyone who cares about their mental health.
Pros
Benefits, Decent pay
Cons
Micro managed, High call volumes, No appreciation, Over workes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stepping-stone for another job
Client Advisor (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON23 July 2018
Good, low pay, entry level job.
Of course there are opportunities for advancement, but even then, financial compensation is very low. Do not come in to this job expecting to make a lot of money, unless of course you are in it for a very long time, and can put up with poor pay until you receive a decent salary. Will need MULTIPLE promotions (which doesn't happen fast), in order to reach even a $45,000 salary.

All sales oriented to advance. A lot of pressure from management to reach sales goals, with VERY little incentive to sell. Clean atmosphere, people are very rude because it is a retail banking position, and the clients are WELL AWARE that they are being profited off of, and do not like that feeling.

Did not learn much at this position. You do not learn about finances, but simply bank processes, which is not interesting, vital, or relevant for day to day like.

Management is hit or miss.
Pros
Clean environment, steady hours
Cons
No-very little perks, poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the pay
Expert-Ressource Centre d'expertise (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 July 2018
Immense pressure put on each employee to complete various tasks. Your are expected to be cross trained on all jobs but not given the time to get properly trained. Targets get higher and higher year after year.

Since i started i got trained on various jobs. I became a SMEE "Subject Matter Expert" as i was very good at learning jobs quick and helping out with training etc. With my title change came more responsibilities without a pay increase.

Management will tell you it's quality over quantity however RBC has implemented a tracking system with an average processing time. If you do not meet the average time you are penalized. The types of requests vary therefore it is really not fair. Some requests can take hours while some take 5 seconds. First off it causes employees to be less helpful, less careful & causes office drama.

(example: one employee catches on to the system and skips long requests just to get a good rating which will get him/her a bigger bonus than other staff members)

I was a subject matter expert but was still expected to complete processing work because our team was understaffed. My manager was trying to hire more employees but upper management denied the requests. My department handled back office work, therefore it is all cost for RBC which is why they would deny hiring employees even though our work is months behind.

Our team was even told not to worry about CSC dates from the regional manager which is basically the date where your request should be completed for the client.

When i first started the business was running smoothly. The last
  more... year i was there many changes happened. Many innocent people with years of service were let go due to processing times.

Felt more like military camp being timed every single task. Having to press start and stop at least 100 times a day. If you forget to stop your timer you basically lose money on your bonus. Going the extra mile for a client was not encouraged. Impossible to get help from other staff members as they do not want to waste time which will change their salary.

Once i heard the business say not to worry about client commitment dates i knew it was time to part ways. RBC makes over 10 billion dollars a year and that is because of the excellent service that was provided year after year thanks to the staff. Instead of finding other ways to meet their targets they decided to cut staff & basically make staff feel like it's a crime to even get up and go to the washroom for 2 minutes.

My whole montreal office and even colleagues in Toronto had the same feelings. Many of my colleagues however were at an age where they feel like it's impossible to look for another job. (50+)

I didn't want to be surrounded by that day in day out. I can only see things getting worse. Think twice before applying at RBC.
  less
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Poor salary, high pressure, low advancement rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old fashioned job environment
Escalation Officer, RBC (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 July 2018
It's nice overall, very hard to get promoted though. They want you to stick around for a couple years before even considering giving you a well deserved promotion, always give priority to seniors when it comes to new job opportunities. On top of that salaries are not quite high compared to competitors.
Good place to gain experience but definitely not to stay for too long unless you don't mind spending the next 10 years of your life waiting for a decent salary increase and promotion.
Pros
health package
Cons
low salary, hard to get promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, tough hours and very high expectations.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  British Columbia13 July 2018
As a Branch Manager expect to work serious hours to maintain and grow your Branch and Team.

There are many opportunities within the Bank however if you are an average employee starting out only professional development and hard hard work will get you any opportunities for advancement.
Pros
Fair Salary and Benefits package
Cons
Extemely long work days if you expect to advance in Branch Management or beyond
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smart, challenging workplace
Manager Multichannel Strategy (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 July 2018
As with every company, culture is mostly dependent on where and who you work for. Canadian Banking is a great spot to land. Very challenging meaty work with extremely smart people.
Pros
prestige, opportunities, work life balance, good pay and benefits, charitable opportunities
Cons
red tape, competitive, ability to make an impact
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Management for a company of this size
Associate Director (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 July 2018
Fair compensation, good leadership. But workload is often imbalance... there are down time that has basically no work at all... and a month later, a major project that requires late nights and weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 2,839 reviews
51.2K
4967
3517
2108
193

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture