RBC Employee Reviews for Insurance Advisor

Found 58 reviews matching the search See all 3,396 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Insurance Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 May 2019
Great experience in general, amazing team, I had the chance to learn from the company as well as improving my skills and my supervisor provided me with support in the process
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home and Auto Agent
Insurance Advisor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON26 March 2019
-Completed changes and new applications for the home and auto department
-Assisted agents with Life Insurance questions to better assist the clients.
-Dealt with client complaints
Pros
work/life balance
Cons
too far to travel
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Insurance Advisor (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON18 March 2019
Some offices are good but many are skeleton offices with no managers. Pay structure continuously changes to lower compensation while you receive updates from head office about more record breaking profits for the company. Great place to work 10 to 5 years ago but is steadily going downhill.
Pros
Can get away with doing nothing all day
Cons
Low pay, Managers have checked out, high turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management team
Insurance Advisor (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON28 February 2019
have your own office tools and you can work anywhere you want.
I learned how to do job independently
management team is very good and flexible.
give us alot of free to do our own jobs.
Pros
work and life balance
Cons
changes too often
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things have changed
Senior Insurance Advisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 January 2019
RBC used to be a greater company to work at and now I feel like It’s a very toxic, and emotional and mentally abusive place to work.
My pay was cut by 25k in 2 years.
Pros
Benefits.
Cons
So many
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
INSURANCE ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 November 2018
I worked for RBC, for many years, was able to advance in other areas of the company. I've worked in Banking, Automobile and property claims and disability insurance. I really enjoyed my time here
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start a career
Life Insurance Advisor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 October 2018
It's a good place to learn new things on your specific field. Management could be better if they really consider the client experiences based feedback from front line employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
soul crushing call center
Licensed Insurance Advisor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 September 2018
i hated every minute of my experience at rbc. I spent 3 years of my life working for an organization the micro manages every step you take. avoid rbc.
Pros
preferred rates for banking
Cons
micro managed to death
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job
Bilingual Insurance Advisor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 September 2018
This is a call centre job, and it was difficult due to all the stats we had to comply with (how much personal time we take, how long our calls are, if we kept a client with RBC Ins or not.)

Still, it was a great experience to learn from.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place as well as corporate place to start someone’s career
Licensed Insurance Advisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 August 2018
I started my insurance career with RBCI since January 2016 and moved a long way, but as of now I think it’s time to look for better opportunities. Moreover, I also thrive to become an underwriter in the future with better growth opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive learning environment
Licensed Insurance Advisor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 May 2018
- dealing with customers on the phone who are agitated is one of the downsides of the job
- limited work life balance, often times your personal work life balance is often not considered as they guy by their business needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you need to grasp insurance quickly, go for it.
Licensed Insurance Advisor for Home & Auto (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON5 May 2018
Customer experience makes the work interesting and challenging. Learning every day.

Good leadership and work environment

Difficult to get emergency leaves at times.
Pros
Great customer experience, you learn a lot. Trained staff.
Cons
Lack of flexibility for work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment
Insurance Advisor (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC2 May 2018
Everyone is treated with respect
Supervisor was encouraging and was will to help you succeed
The workplace was a nice and friendly environment
We worked as a team and no one was left behind
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive assest allocation driven corporate culture
Insurance Advisor / Investment Professional (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 December 2017
A corporate culture which rewarded quantity of business rather than quality of business engaged and retained. Quotas predominated the culture
Sales is what the head office always wanted
Pros
Brand recognition
Cons
Asset allocation driven work place culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
SENIOR INSURANCE ADVISOR - Field Sales (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 August 2017
Excellent organisation to learn/grow and develop.EXCELLENT Brand value and reputation.
Supportive Managers - culture depends on each office and members of the team.
Pros
Good to start/Learn and Grow
Cons
Moving up the ladder, very slow and it is more about connections, not education/knowledge and experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great place t o work
Licensed Insurance Advisor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 July 2017
rbc is always there to teach their employees . always wants the best for people who work there and make sure clients are happy with product and services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place
Insurance Advisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 June 2017
Nice working environment. Everyone is supportive. A lot of training and great benefits. Flexible working schedule. The hardest part is to find clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Bank
INSURANCE ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON3 May 2017
Very little traffic at the Insurance branch. Over 100 outbound calls daily. Building rapport with current RBC clients. Upsell and offer as many products as possible. Communicate with the community to become the referred advisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse work environment
Licensed Insurance Advisor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 March 2017
It's a company that supports diversity and inclusion at work. Which helps bringing different talents and people from different cultures together to work towards same goal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and best employee benefits
Insurance Advisor, Personal Home & Auto (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 March 2017
* Management is supportive
*Busy work day always
*Pressure is overwhelming sometimes
*Workplace culture is excellent
*Lot to learn on daily basis
*Lot of incentives on the floor on daily basis
Pros
Lot of perks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,396 reviews
51.4K
41.1K
3622
2146
1123

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture