Ray of Hope Employee Reviews

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 30 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to gain experience
Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON18 August 2018
A great place to gain experience for individuals looking to go into a career in policing or corrections. Management is lacking in certain locations however the coworkers make up for it.
Pros
Experience
Cons
high turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON12 May 2018
was a great experience volunteering here, very well coordinated and went very smoothly each time I have helped served meals here. would love to come back and help again!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and Fun
Welcome Home Refugee House Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON6 April 2018
I enjoyed working at Ray of Hope. It provides a diverse work environment with a focus on helping newly arrived refugees receive housing and stability in Canada. I learned a lot about the refugee system and what they have to go through to receive status. I worked in a very small team, which was a cool experience.
The hardest part of the job for me was feeling useful. I was the youngest on the team and had no prior education or knowledge of the refugee process, so although I learned a lot, I struggled to feel as though I could really contribute.
However, I loved the challenge and came to really respect and enjoy the people living at Welcome Home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON11 November 2017
Loved working with different people and finding new things about them. Always loved in meeting new people and to discuss about their life and encourage one another.
Pros
Long Hours
Cons
Too crowded
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and constantly changing clientele
Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Petersburg, ON2 October 2015
A typical day saw me monitoring the residents within the Secure Custody for Young Offenders. My position as a direct child care worker had me completing various responsibilities through out my shift. I always had the pleasure of having constant training to better myself in my roles.
Management was always assisting, encouraging , and directing me when needed.
Co-workers were awesome and fun to work with in a team fostered environment.
The hardest part of the job was physically restraining youth when needed, not because I wasn't properly trained but because of the emotional frustration the youths had.
The most enjoyable aspect of the job was the constant interacting with the youth.
Pros
Awesome co-workers, great training, supportive management.
Cons
bad food !
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Volunteer Shift
Volunteer Experiences (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON13 March 2015
Volunteering consists of interacting with any person who wishes to drop in at the community center that day. It is entirely optional, but i have become familiar with the regulars.
I assist them with doing their laundry, allowing them to have showers, administering them food tickets and supplying them with coffee and treats.
I also interact with them on a friendship and caring level. This consists of simply just chatting, or playing board games, cards, pool, etc.
This is a very rewarding position as it allows me to interact with people I might not have otherwise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic
Hospitality Team Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON5 November 2014
Great for volunteering! Love to work there and see more of the community and what goes on. Experiences can be great or sometimes uncomfortable but always allow you to grow as a person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good Company
Youth Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON26 February 2013
A typical work day is structured but room for ideas of your own. I have learned alot working for Ray of Hope such as time managment and working with many different people from mental health and addictions to youth in conflict with the law. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people and clients I work with; managment is very supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work place and Meet alot of New friends
Line Cook / Server (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON11 September 2012
I was extremely skilled at putting together traditional dishes with many satisfied customers. I would always doing Daily operation of various kitchen tools and machinery. It was a fun seasonal experience and i would love to do it again when given the Chance.
Pros
lot of fun and friendly staff
Cons
dont have one at this point in time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more Ray of Hope reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ray of Hope. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 30 reviews
58
49
39
21
13

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.4Culture

Ray of Hope Reviews by Location