RANKIN CONSTRUCTION Employee Reviews

Found 16 reviews matching the search See all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy it here
Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Niagara, ON22 May 2019
Only been with the company for a short time however they been great to work for and the projects are always interesting and I enjoy working on them.

They do a lot of good work in the community
Pros
Interesting work sites and good equipment to work with
Cons
seasonal - but expected
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Skilled Labourer (Current Employee) –  Niagara, ON21 May 2019
I should have tried to join them earlier in my career. Been with a few companies and Rankin is by far the best place I have ever worked. Good bunch of guys and management really seems to care about the workers and jobsite conditions
Pros
Good guys to work with
Cons
With I would have joined sooner
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would still be their if I did not move out of province
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Niagara, ON11 May 2019
Enjoyed my time working with Rankin, good people and nice equipment - great combination. Family run company that still treated workers decent - had company picnics , golf tourney christmas party and gives out turkeys at chrsitmas... Loved my time with Rankin
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Contractor to work for
Skilled Labourer (Current Employee) –  Niagara, ON10 May 2019
Great people to work with, enjoy what they do and take pride in their work. Worked on some very interesting project throughout Niagara and Hamilton. Would not hesitate to recommend
Pros
good people
Cons
outdoor construction - seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Niagara, ON9 May 2019
Good bunch of guys, One of the best contractors in Ontario to work for. The pay the top union wages unlike others who are also unionized... a lot of newer equipment
Pros
Pay top union wages
Cons
None at this time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Group of Guys
Carpenter (Current Employee) –  Niagara, ON7 May 2019
Good place to work and they have helped me obtain my Red Seal Certification as a carpenter- The projects we work on are interesting and something I take pride in telling others i was apart of.
Pros
Christmas party and company golf Tourney
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No better employer in Niagara
Skilled Labourer (Current Employee) –  Niagara, ON1 May 2019
If you enjoy taking pride in your work and like to brag about what you have built - Rankin has given me the opportunity to work on highways, bridges, roads, renewable power and buildings - Meridian Centre in St, Catherines.

Rankin does all aspects of Heavy Construction and they do it well.

There is a huge sense of pride from those that have worked on Rankin Construction projects - I enjoy coming to work !!
Pros
Always expanding our horizons with the work we are doing
Cons
none at this point in time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company to work for in Niagara
Skilled Labourer (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON1 May 2019
Its no wonder anyone in construction wants to work here. management treats the crews well, the equipment is top notch.

Best thing that ever happened to me was starting here.

Very proud to be apart of Rankin Construction and there involvement in the community - Rankin Cancer Run
Pros
Great guys and safe worksites
Cons
Seasonal -however that is expected in heavy civil construction
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hired me as an apprentice and gave me a career
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON1 May 2019
Great group to work for, always has some interesting projects.

Many of the workers have been here for years and its no wonder many try to come here.
Pros
well kept equipment
Cons
the dispatcher can be a bit of a pain - however i think that is a requirement to be a dispatcher
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company - Great People
Supervisor/Manager (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON29 April 2019
Best employer I have ever worked for, not only do they look after the employees, they promote from within and opportunities are plenty. Not sure why the negative comments left by others, it has always been a company that rewards those that put in the effort and has a great team atmosphere.

I am very proud to work at Rankin Construction and take pride in all their involvement in the community - especially the Rankin Cancer Run
Pros
Great work atmosphere
Cons
being unionized seniority comes into play
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Operator (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON23 November 2018
I work for the union I just think that it's close to home money is ok if u like Kraft dinner in the winter and 2000 gran a month on unemployment yea it's a ok company.
Pros
Good
Cons
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an alright company to work for.
Heavy Equipment Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON28 April 2018
Don't have any major complaints. Was left alone to do my work. Wasn't really micro managed. Didn't really learn anything. There wasn't anything hard about working for them other than being out in the weather. The other workers weren't too bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay...horrible work atmosphere
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON10 July 2017
Good paying job with good benefits and pension. Good job if you dont mind being laid off for half of the year, especially as a truck driver. Big time boys club, you're either in or out. Management and some supervisor are very ignorant and degrading, reminds me of highschool. Good hard workers dont always get recognized, all depends who you know or who you...suck up too lol. They treat workers very poorly unless youre family or a friend. Was a good company but too big for its own good now.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Long hours, some management and supervisors are ignorant or hot headed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well liked company... don't know why.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Ontario10 April 2013
At first I thought this was going to be a great company to work for but soon learned there were next to no hours offered.
Pros
lots of time with friends and family.
Cons
lots of time with friends and family.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Heavy Equipment operator (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, On13 October 2012
Friendly people good co-workers. Don't get to much work when its slow. Not much seat time on different equipment.
Pros
high wages
Cons
short weeks low hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

See more RANKIN CONSTRUCTION reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RANKIN CONSTRUCTION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 19 reviews
54
410
33
20
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
4.1Culture

RANKIN CONSTRUCTION Reviews by Location