QUINN CONTRACTING LTD. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Inventory Purchaser / Administrative (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB7 September 2018
Great company to work for, lots of flexibility for new moms. Only reason I didnt go back was it ended up being to long of hours so I went to look for another job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB19 July 2018
Great place to work, caring and commutative company to work for. Succession planning could be improved and salary for admin staff could be budgeted better but overall the culture and environment is great.
Pros
Great job culture
Cons
Advancement oppertunities and salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor managment
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Husky sunrise21 June 2018
No contract at the site ..fire you on spot instead of talking things put poor safety not a good place to.work no advancement no help old man's club lack of care
Pros
None
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7/7 Shift is amazing
Pipefitter Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Conklin, AB8 June 2018
Great work/life balance with the shift.

Amazing support team and work environment.

No room to advance once Journeyman status reached on particular jobsite.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Quinn
Quinn pipefitter (Current Employee) –  Joffre8 June 2018
Lets see no raises for almost 5 years no cost of living increases, when you ask Quinn or the client they basically say your lucky to be working! As the client make record profits! The only reason i stick around is to be home with my family its the only benefit to working at Quinn,little or no advancement oppurtunities, unless your an yes man,poor managment, they manage through fear,
Pros
Home every night
Cons
No raises/ cost of living, poor managment, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviroment
General foreman/Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ram River Husky22 April 2018
I enjoyed working at Quinn at this time, working in the mountains is always a pleasure, Quinn is a family orientated company that treats all employees as such.
Pros
working in great locations
Cons
Some slower times, smaller projects
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work is good but need to be improve
Mechanical / Piping maintenance lead (Current Employee) –  NWR red water6 April 2018
A typical day at work is good
I learn about safe work practice
Management is not very good
workplace culture is average
the hardest part of the job is a lake of planing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Client satisfaction driven
Safety Advisor (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB22 March 2018
My experience with Quinn was positive. Management cares about their people and Client satisfaction in a challenging industry. Quinn would be best served by focusing on obtaining better rates from their clients and passing the benefits to their workforce.
Pros
People and management
Cons
Client driven compensation forces Quinn to optimize workforce compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good old by network. It's who you know. Definitely not what you know
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Shutdowns3 March 2018
Need to strengthen upper management. Stop hiring guys that don't belong in certain positions. TAKE DSP'S on the tools. You don't have a company unless your a Forman and up? Ridiculous.
Pros
Searching still.
Cons
Don't take DSP's unless your a Forman or higher.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasure to work for.
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mountain House, AB26 February 2018
Quinn went above and beyond by providing me with a safe and exciting workplace in a time where such opportunities for employment were scare. The managing team of the Rocky District were some of the best in the buisness, always providing a steady stream of jobs during uncertain times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good and safe place to work is at Quinn Contracting
Pipe Fitter (Former Employee) –  Blackfalds Alberta22 February 2018
A typical day review work requirements, Learned that all people have some requirements to help maintain there day. Management upper is very good at there job. The workplace culture is good most of the time, some of the time floor level foreman needs more training to do there jobs better. The hardest part of the job was to help motivate others to focus on there jobs. The most enjoyable part of the job was when a major task was completed safely and in a timely fashion.
Pros
The people working there.
Cons
Floor level leadership needs more training to do there jobs better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term full time scaffolding job
Journeyman Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB11 February 2018
Straight up scaffolding work. Tube and Clamp, mostly, and professional co-workers. I personally enjoyed working for Quinn, as they were honest and up front about future jobs/work and are willing to transfer you to keep you busy.
Pros
Good wages, good people
Cons
Confusing hiring process
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
B Pressure Rig Welder (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB6 February 2018
When i worked for quinn it was very enjoyable, people i worked with were awesome and the management treated me well. I left the company to take a break from welding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good place to work
Maintenance man (Former Employee) –  Blackfalds, AB11 January 2018
Typical oilfield workplace ,most sites where a good place to work excepte for a few jobs where management had a lot to be desired.Quinn was not cheap when it came to safety and safety training I got along with most workers, but in all was good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Welders Helper (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB14 December 2017
Wouldn't mind working for them again.

Great company to work for they have lots of hours and the pay is excellent

They provided transportation to and from work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was with Quinn for approx 6 years
Journeyman Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 November 2017
They gave me my start in my trade. They treated me fairly and honestly. They are true leaders in the Maintenance and Turn around industry. Ive worked both turn around and maintenance for Quinn and both are well run and efficient.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
Pipefitter/labouer (Current Employee) –  Blackfalds, AB21 September 2017
Quinn contracting are very safety conscience company. I have worked for several different Managers there. For references you may talk to Bob Bott at the Ram River Gas Plant in Rocky Mountain House, or Tim Jackson at the Nova Joffrey plant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Safety Monitor (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB5 September 2017
A lot of great people to work with. Many tasks and duties to perform so the day was never boring, some days and weeks were long and allowed you to make more than average income.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good crew and productive environment
Materials/ Warehouse lead and Tool Distribution (Former Employee) –  Pine River, SK21 August 2017
Fast faced work always something to do days go by fast a lot to learn. Not as much stability as one would like as turnaround jobs can end at any point. A good pay check transportation to and from work if you aren't local you can make money off sub.
Pros
transport you too and from work
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Steam/Glycol Heating Systems Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB25 July 2017
Started working in the cold lake for Quinn in 2001
I worked my way up to the heating system job.
The company was very fair with the pay and work time.
When the oil prices started to go down,the work slowed down to as it always does.
I would go back to work for Quinn if the call was there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at QUINN CONTRACTING LTD.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 87 reviews
524
434
319
24
16

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture