Purolator Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environemment de travail
Chef de Section (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 October 2017
Gestion d'opération, coordonner les activités (déchargement, tri, chargement).

Gérer des employés syndiqués et non-syndiqués dont; l’assignation, l’évaluation du rendement, l’encadrement, le développement, la présence au travail.

Participer à l’embauche, l’intégration et la formation de nouveaux employés et gestionnaires.

Produire les rapports, statistiques et compte-rendu des opérations

Maintenir un environnement de travail sain en améliorant toujours les relations de travail.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice environment
Gen Labourer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 October 2017
Great environment to work in, great people working on ur team, long hours hard work but great pay. I would do this job again any day. Keeps you fit an in shape as well.
Pros
breaks great pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment, excellent wage
AM Sorter - Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 September 2017
Fun safe place to work, with excellent wages and amazing staff. Union ran, with benifits. Also work hours were manageable. Learned alot from the work and staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to be out on the road by yourself
Utility Courier (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON26 September 2017
Once you get past the dusty warehouse part of the job it is not so bad once you are out on the road. Terrible shift and low hours during the warehouse portion though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definately well deverseafied
Courier (Former Employee) –  London, ON21 September 2017
Learn many new ways of direction and logistics. Geography becomes a tool of everyday life. Teaches adaptation and compromise thru judgement decision making.
Pros
Better understanding of your surroundings
Cons
Time and life do not always blend well
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people not friendly / former customer services Moncton
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB30 August 2017
My time with purolator was short and I am glad. Manager was unprofessional and had no people skills. I had to beg for coaching which only consisted on listening to the TL take calls . You were never explained what you did wrong or right. No feedback. No floor support , if you had a question you have to call a supervisor and wait on hold until they answered and hoped the customer didn't hang up in the mean time. It didn't matter what kind of skills you had there , it had more to do with if they liked you and you fit into their clicks. I have nothing good to say about this company . They wanted perfection on every call and you are given 30 days to show improvement. What improvement means who knows as you were never given a proper coaching
Pros
work hrs
Cons
stuck up employees/ not friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Retail Agent - part-time (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB27 August 2017
Enjoyed my time there. Was only part-time and needed full time hrs is only reason I left. Union environment which helps with dealing with management but makes it harder to get rid of bad employees.
Pros
Very busy- if you like that
Cons
Some heavy lifting, cramped working conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Learning and Development Specialist (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, Ont25 August 2017
Purolator gives back to it's communities across Canada through their Tackle Hunger program. We have activities at Head Office, and across different terminals within Canada to help raise food and money for the local food banks. We also support the CFL teams and raise food / money donations at each game.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to stay in shape
Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC10 August 2017
A great place to get paid to get in shape, highly demanding on the physical area, and lots of training is provided for different areas of the warehouse.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Truck Washer/ Dock/ Shipping/ Receiving (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB8 August 2017
- Worked here during school
- Fantastic at working around class schedule
- Amazing pay and benefits
- Fun and friendly workplace
- Always something to do
- Easy to move up within the company
- Positive atmosphere
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Occasional time constraints
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and helpful environment
Depot Support Representative (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC31 July 2017
Our location has very nice workplace with easy going colleagues, ready to help you at any times.The Management is always open for discussions. Unfortunately this location is going to be move to another location.
Pros
free BBQ
Cons
Union rules protect only the people with long experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Utility courier (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC17 July 2017
Read many reviews about how awful the management was but gave them the benefit of the doubt. Turns out that management is as bad as the reviews. In a union environment the managers feel the need to push employees far past human capabilities, They expect you to be super man and go above and beyond while being treated very poorly. The one thing they do care about it productivity so be prepared to work.
Pros
Lots of OT
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really a joke now
am sorter (Former Employee) –  calgary29 June 2017
lets just say the people you work with are amazing , everyone comes in does their jobs and you can make it a fun time . however the management team is a complete joke. I swear they pick them out of a barrel of monkeys , if you want to stress about your position and be used for everything your worth then this is the job for you.
Pros
good people
Cons
no hours and horrible managment, no thank yous
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, busy work enviorment
Retail Rep (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 June 2017
Fun place to work, fast paced, handle customer complaints, answer phones, email, deliver packages, organize freight, be able to lift up to 70 lb, download scanners
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and focused hard working place
Mail Sorter, Shipper & Receiver (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 June 2017
A reputable company that encourages you more on how to work safe around your work environment. Continue to treat your employees like the important piece that they are, and those employees will work harder for you. Moral was a big factor in Charlottetown and the employees outlook of the company and its management usually reflected most recent events. Positivity would have everyone in high spirits at work, while any negativity would rally the troops from the inside.
Pros
adequate breaks in between shifts
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lousy place towork at
Utility Courier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 June 2017
The only place I ever worked at where I did not look forward to being there . Managers are clueless as to what is required for the couriers to successfully complete deliveries . Company is disorganized and overwhelms the couriers with so many deliveries that they have no choice but to fail !!
Pros
None
Cons
Clueless management, always set up to fail, customers constant complaints .
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work with full benefits
Courier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 June 2017
A typical day at work as a owner operator would be long hours of driving by yourself,and it can get very boring but at least there is no one yelling or telling you how to do your job , you are your own boss. As a owner operator I learned how to work under pressure in severe weather conditions and still make it on time and deliver all the goods to their rightful owners.
Pros
Working on your own
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In the near future there will be no full time employees.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC12 May 2017
I worked for purolator for 12 years, i worked hard and got 40 hours after 5 years of working for purolator, then few years went by and they took the work away and shut the building down, and gave everybody 20 hours a week 5 hours a day with 1 day off, even when busy they will call on call people so you cant get 25 hours and have benafits, purolator will do anything to get you off benafits, only a few places with benafits if you like working weird hours. Management does not last at purolator because if your not heartless you wont lost. Human resource at purolator is the worst they will not help you only take your hours away and job, for example i drove forklift for 9 years and when i asked that my other job wanted to see my lincess in my job folder at purolator they didnt have anything under file so they told me sorry but we dont care about your other job, and we dont have anything on file even thoe i drive for 9 years. Worst place ever whoever said you will move up is lieing..where are you going to go to the next trailer!
Pros
None
Cons
Theres no future here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Way downhill in the last 2 years
Sorter (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON5 May 2017
I have been working for Purolator for almost a decade now and it is a really bad place to work now. Many drivers and now even management have been or are on stress leave in recent months. I've been cut down from driving 8 hrs a day to just 2hrs a morning sorting in the warehouse. Way too much micromanaging these days. Not a good environment to work in. Thunder Bay depot is always short staffed and they won't hire anybody.
Pros
Good wages
Cons
Strangely a stressful workplace in recent months. It shouldn't be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just Don't Work Here
AM Sorter (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 April 2017
If working night shift is something you like to do, then come here. If lifting, and only lifting, is what you enjoy doing, then come here. If being ordered around, treated like a robot and being yelled at is something you like to do, then come here.
Pros
None
Cons
Long Hours, Very Physically Demanding, Poor Management Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Purolator. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 192 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4