Public Health Ontario Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work culture!
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 June 2018
Been a research assistant here for two years and it was such a great, collaborative environment. Everyone was always willing to help whenever problems came about and I have learned a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Environment in Data Entry
Data Entry Operator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 March 2018
The work is monotonous/repetitive and the workflow varies constantly throughout the year. There is a high turn over rate and training for new staff does not prepare you well to perform the job duties. Coworkers thrive on insults, mind games, power plays, drama and gossip. You are compensated well as a permanent or contract employee.
Pros
Good Pay, Easy work, Easy TTC access
Cons
Negative coworkers/Toxic work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work environment is good
IT Support Co-Ordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 January 2018
Loved working there with some great people.

Management noticed my hard work and promoted me to team lead.

Hardest part of job was setting up appointments with clients to visit them.

The most enjoyable time was my manager would take us out for lunch regularly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 December 2017
Overall it is a great place to work. Lots of room for advancement and most managers are easygoing as long as you do your work. However, there are some departments i.e data entry that is in need of a change of culture and the turnover rate is high. There are lots of politics at that place at the managerial level but the co workers are great to work with. Avoid the d.e department and you'll love your job.
Pros
Room for advancement, easy to do, not a lot of pressure
Cons
Politics, Data Entry department
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Project and Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 November 2017
C'est un bon endroit pour apprendre de nouvelles choses qui offre des plateformes intéressantes de partage de connaissances.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive work environment
Student laboratory assistant/technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 September 2017
in a relatively short period of time, I was able to learn so much at public health Ontario. This institute provides students a great learning opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
comfortable place
Office Clerk (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 September 2017
Good place to work. Has challenges that are not too complex and the people are great to work with. The culture is a family type atmosphere, with many social activities.
Pros
Many pot luck lunches
Cons
Poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Medical Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 September 2017
Great place to learn. All the people I met and worked with were very nice and always willing to teach me during my placement time. I felt that I was in a new module of college, because I got the opportunity to be in a very interesting and new department for me, and that was the Molecular and Diagnostics Department. You have a lot of interesting things to learn as see in that Department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, engaging, and collaborative work environment
Scientist, Oral Health (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 December 2016
The work culture is very collaborative. Focus on social learning. Opportunities to enhance skills and professional development. Learn from experienced professionals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Far location Looks like there is Politics involved in hiring process. Benefits at stake
Medical Laboratory Technologist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 November 2016
Looks like there is Politics involved in hiring process.
Benefits at stake
When having a fire drill you'll have sore legs the following day.
Co-workers ok
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Far location
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace enviroment
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 March 2016
the area that im in constantly busy, everyone very friendly lots of moving around hardest part of the job trying to organized everything multi task the work
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthcare environment
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 November 2015
A busy healthcare environment dealing with the scientific and technical requests and research from the Ministry, emergency preparedness response, outbreaks, and developing and providing workshops about the incident management system.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, Great organization
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 May 2015
My first experience working for a Canadian organization. The management and staff are very warm and there is a sense of care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in
Medical Laboratory Technologist (Current Employee) –  661 University Ave29 December 2014
Viral load of HEP/HIV samples
PCR, the most important method for process
Very relaxed and family like environment
Co-workers are very nice and friendly
Best scheduled work for MLT
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great managers and co workers
Program Assistant (Business Office) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 August 2014
Good atmosphere to work in. Everyone looks out for each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 9Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Public Health Ontario. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 16 reviews
57
47
31
21
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.0Culture

Public Health Ontario Reviews by Location