Provincial Health Services Authority (PHSA)

Provincial Health Services Authority (PHSA) Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 May 2018
The work in interesting and challenging. People are generally good. Some are disengaged, but they are in the minority. Management is professional but can be detached.
Pros
Balance
Cons
Salary could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant workplace with friendly but hardworking coworkers.
Temporary Administrative Resource Team (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC7 April 2018
Working with PHSA was a great experience. I was graced with lovely coworkers who maintained a fun but professional work environment. The work we were doing was fast paced but well organized and I'd have it no other way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent staff and work environment
Surgical Suite Aide (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC19 March 2018
I have had the pleasure of working at BC Children's hospital back in 2007-2012 and again in 2017. Out of all the surgical teams i have ever been a part of this team has been one of my favourites. The care that all staff give on all levels is astounding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and great team concept
Ward Clerk (Current Employee) –  Summerside, PE9 January 2018
You work as a team and every one and their contribution is valued and important. Busy, fast paced environment with lots of room to improve and grow in the role. Staff are always appreciative of help received and a great "family" feel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company does not value employees/ violates contracts
Physician (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 January 2018
The company violates contracts and will sue to not pay employees appropriately, despite knowing they are incorrect, as they know most employees don't have the time, energy or resources to defend themselves.

The PHSA didn't pay me for several months despite working full time.

Once they did pay me, they paid me at a lower rate than what was agreed upon.

They also failed to provide a contract in a timely manner (12 months into the contract year)

They also utilized pressure tactics to sign a contract for less money than what was previously promised.

The organization is extremely bureaucratic and inefficient.

Do not work for this organization.
Pros
Free hot dog 1-2 times a year
Cons
long hours. They short pay you, probably to pay for the hot dogs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Requires more life/work balance for all
Administrative Assistant, Contract (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC24 December 2017
Although the work was challenging, Workplace culture is that there needs to be more respect for all employees. Although there were courses to take for being a respectful workplace, not everyone follows through.
Was this review helpful?Yes 28NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable Working Environment
Associate, Employee Records & Benefits (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC3 December 2017
Given the limitations of finances in Healthcare, PHSA is a stable working environment with many highly experienced professionals. It is a patient-centrered organization which leaves little for innovative business practices.
Pros
Good benefits packages
Cons
Politically driven
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Amazing Company to Work For
ADMINISTRATIVE RESOURCES TEAM (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 November 2017
PHSA has amazing employees who are very accommodating and friendly, they always take care of their employees and offer amazing benefits for all. It was a pleasure working for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get in, learn, then move on (fast)
Advisor (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC14 October 2017
There is a large shortage of qualified labor in this company. There are a lot of talkers which fail to take action and the company itself is extremely middle management heavy. If you are a performer, you will get access to all sorts of interesting work in this company. Unfortunately, they will rely on you absolutely and do not compensate as per performance, rather its how knows and likes you instead. I developed a lot with this company but found it frustrating when performance increases are capped at 2-3% yearly and I was given the same increases as other peers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not friendly co-workers, not good in team work
Scheduling Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 July 2017
I would love working at PHSA easy work as I know myself as a hard worker but can't handle to work with co-workers who are not willing to help as a team and most of them PHSA employees are related to each other in other words they are family---:)) and if you don't have nobody your out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continuous Learning and Knowledge providing work place
Scheduling Agent (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC20 July 2017
1. Friendly work environment with great appreciation.
2. Job security with union membership
3. Team work with voluntary efforts and encouragement.
4. Constant communication through email and phone
5. Great management.
Pros
Backing union and events place.
Cons
Stretched workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Event Coordinator
Pride Event Community Engagement Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC13 July 2017
Coordinated participation, engagement in and evaluation of Pride events. Helped expand services and a support network for Transgender citizens of BC. Provided information on Transgender medical programs, supports, and other health resources.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to learn in a highly unionized enviornment
Payroll Systems Processor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC11 July 2017
Grateful to further my career in a large, highly unionized environment. Had a lot of opportunities to learn. Limited opportunities to advance due to union rules. Good pension plan.
Pros
Large enivironment and good company for long term environment
Cons
Unionized environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life balance and security
Finance Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC10 June 2017
reviewed financial statements and prepared financial statements to ensure compliance and controls. Great benefits and work life balance. Not a lot of opportunity to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was and staff were great to work with
Call Centre Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 June 2017
Even though I was there a short period of time. Management was very helpful and supportive so were the other staff. The job was okay i enjoyed talking to woman all over the province.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competent Staff but underperforming Culture
Experienced (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC11 May 2017
Poorly managed workplace with assignments and projects frequently running slowly, direction lacking quality, and budgets being extended. Very political environment with 'fit' being emphasized over competency. Promotions occurring when 'fit' exists, but not necessarily the skill sets to get the job done. Poor planning of initiatives and projects, with a lot of toxicity resulting; nearly impossible to get efforts back on track, with the culture ignoring risk assessments. HR is almost useless.
Pros
Decent pay. Convenient locations.
Cons
Inconsistent pay and job classification structures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Switchboard Operator (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 April 2017
Working here is great. Your co-workers are great. The environment is great! The hours can sometimes be a little tiring, but that's the life of a casual. There are dry times where you don't get a shift and there are times where your phone doesn't stop ringing.
Pros
Continous learning, great pay
Cons
Not very many shifts some months
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and job advancement
Finance staff (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC20 April 2017
I have been with the company for long time and actually very disappointing as the years go by with new management comes along which leads me to look for another job somewhere else after the long years of service. The company has serious politic issues and favorism takes a big role in their decision making of who they want to promote. Hard working and just sit down to do the work type will not be appreciated here. They are into people with the skills to suck up with the bosses. Staffs who work hard, start from the bottom, and have been there for years will never get promoted. Lower salary range compare to other gov't positions and pay raises are way below the inflation. Don't waste your time here!!
Pros
Good pension, work and life balance
Cons
Poor management, lower pay rates, poor job advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 48NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large organization -- your experience will depend on what group you are with
Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC19 April 2017
I enjoyed most the people around me. The size and scale of the organization made it challenging to navigate at times. It takes time to learn who's who in the zoo, especially given all of the various agencies within the PHSA umbrella, and how all the various groups are connected.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pressure cooker work environment but surrounded by some of the most intelligent and capable co-workers a person could ask for.
COMMUNICATIONS OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC31 March 2017
My time at PHSA was short - but I gained valuable experience. I found the workplace culture a bit stiff - it was a bit of a no-fun zone. My immediate manager was brilliant - but a micromanager who got bogged down in unimportant details and lacked the ability to distinguish between genuine crisis and non-troversy.
Pros
Excellent pay and benefits package
Cons
When you achieved a victory you merely did your job, when you made a mistake you were reminded of it regularly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Provincial Health Services Authority (PHSA). Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 51 reviews
513
414
312
24
18

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture

Provincial Health Services Authority (PHSA) Reviews by Location