Provincial Health Services Authority (PHSA)
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Provincial Health Services Authority (PHSA) Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 122 reviews matching the search
See all 128 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
To be clear, there are previous reviews that have been posted here that are NOT specific to the finance position in Saanich. There’s a great group of staff in that department that support each other tremendously well. All staff begin training on basic tasks Surrounding the billing record process Then training progresses from there. Supervisors are supportive, what they don’t have at hand they find out for you. Management has gone through numerous changes Causing Added stress To the group. Multiple system upgrades over a short period Causing a backlog of records. Once fully trained overtime Is offered (no obligations to do so). At times can be difficult personalities as a few are dissatisfied with changes made over last few years. With added duties and expectations Some feel unappreciated. Plenty of opportunities to learn and grow.
Pros
Wage and hours, supportive team environment
Cons
Limited positions to move up, at times stressful
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Provincial Health Services Authority (PHSA)
26 November 2020
We are pleased to hear that your experience with PHSA was largely positive!We know PHSA is an incredibly large organization and are happy to see positive reviews about specific departments.Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Your feedback helps inform PHSA’s future practices.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Archaic IT and processes that slow down your work. No training or help available for your job, and no freedom to be able to do your work in a way that would be faster and save you time. Deadlines are completely unrealistic and it is expected you use your own personal time to work so that deadlines are met. Coworkers and management are generally incompetent and in positions that they don't have the education or training for. All of this combined leads to a highly stressful and toxic work environment where frustration is constantly high and expressed through micromanagement, verbal harassment, and, more rarely, physical harassment.
Pros
Pay is good
Cons
Literally everything else
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Provincial Health Services Authority (PHSA)
10 November 2020
We are sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience during your employment with us. PHSA takes this feedback to heart, and we hope you had an opportunity for an exit interview with us. If you didn’t, we certainly would be open to hearing more about your experience. If you would be willing to share more information, feel free to contact askhr@phsa.ca and a member of our HR team will be in touch with you. Thank you for taking the time to complete a review this past summer. Your feedback helps inform PHSA’s future practices.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The Manager level people are totally committed and really wonderful. The union sucks the life (and fees) out of you. Get out of the union ASAP. Great place to serve society
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Provincial Health Services Authority (PHSA)
7 October 2020
We are pleased to hear that your experience with PHSA was largely positive!Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Your feedback helps inform PHSA’s future practices.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Minimal direction from supervisor, and too much direction from coworkers. I hear endless versions of how one task should be done. The training is extremely inconsistent. Very gossipy environment, and playing the blame game. Supervisor has no sense of how to lead a team, and barely around at all. If management wasn't so terrible, this wouldn't be such a dreadful company to work for.
Pros
Good hours, decent pay
Cons
Toxic workplace, poor management, minimal training
Was this review helpful?
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Working as an LPN, there is no room for advancement or other opportunities, but you are treated fairly by mngt. The work culture is stressful due to the environment and sheer number of staff. I enjoy the long term benefits of working in this health authority.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Provincial Health Services Authority (PHSA)
7 October 2020
We are pleased to hear that your experience with PHSA has been a positive one thus far!Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Your feedback helps inform PHSA’s future practices.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Please have a review of some of the Admin Managers as they are not professional. At one of the meetings, one of the manages would lean against the wall while speaking - not very professional.
Pros
Parking
Cons
Can not work earlier hours
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Corrupted organization with a lot of arrogant personalities. People get hired through personal connections. A lot of rude and disrespectful people. ....
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Continual learning on the job with different tasks and types of work daily. Liaise with multiple teams on each assignment ticket, leading to continual growth of network and knowledge
Pros
Fast-paced work and ability to grow
Cons
strict work policies
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Provincial Health Services Authority (PHSA)
7 October 2020
We are pleased to hear that your experience with PHSA has been a positive one thus far!Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Your feedback helps inform PHSA’s future practices.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
great feeling of value from the work and the passionate people, however some of the senior management in CST were investigated and removed which caused many levels below to be audited and caused stress. Unfortunate consequences of allowing friends of friend to get roles they are not qualified for, then wasting $1M of tax payer money, shame
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Able to acquire very broad and in depth knowledge. Good team culture, and knowledge sharing environment. Supportive supervisor and peers. Specialized courses available.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Provincial Health Services Authority (PHSA)
7 October 2020
We are pleased to hear that your experience with PHSA has been a positive one thus far!Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Your feedback helps inform PHSA’s future practices.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Good large enterprise environment. A good place to learn how projects are handled in big organizations. Sometimes that also acts as a constraint as you have to go through so many layers for decision making
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Was ok made a lot of friends. Management was scattered and not much contact unless something was wrong. I would never go back to that department but would go back to PHSA
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Very poor management, have no concern for the safety of their staff, expect you to work for free if you do not complete work on time, no enforcement of procedures
Pros
Guaranteed salary
Cons
Can't move up as everything is based on seniority
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It was a typical crown corporation. The major issue was the time tracking tool which meticulously micro manage the time spent in each project. Billable Vs Non Billable was not fair
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Good luck with their broken hiring process, very frustrating and your left confused/frustrated by the process with only excuses and no clear explanation why no follow through with your application process/experience. You get a contact from a talent recruiter and have a basic phone interview and then your told your resume will be forwarded to another recruiting member. After that process good luck getting any further contact from the PHSA and seeing the applicant process go any further unless you lucky enough that some recruiter actually does their job with your application. Even when your told you will hear back from someone from the PHSA within the time frame they said a call or contact will be made, the call or email does not transpire. When you finally do call back your treated to abrupt reply and or another form letter emailed to you and told sorry you resume/application was miss placed or lost in the paper shuffle Guess PHSA hiring staff are too busy, over worked and overwhelmed by whats going on in our part of the world May or may not be a good place to work but I finally gave up on the PHSA and found another position at another employer....note 6 weeks later I was offered a position but declined the position because of their broken hiring process/practices Good luck to all and Stay Safe
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It doesn’t matter how much experience you have you will start at the very bottom Some of the employees that have been there a few years will try and undermine you. I also found that there were no standard operating procedures so if one person taught you a certain way it wasn’t necessarily the way another person did it this lead to conflict that the”managers” couldn’t or wouldn’t sort out no wonder there’s a high turn over
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Each department may vary but, in a larger department there are opportunities to move around and colleagues to support and learn from. There are development opportunities for each person.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
good coworkers, good hours, nice hospital, good management, better benefits, nice landscaping, work/life balance, job security but no advancement available
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Management treats staff like stupid, picking monkeys. There is no respect given. You are talked about openly, on the warehouse floor, by management. You need tough skin to work here.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
A good company to work with, I feel supported and have opportunities to grow. I have been a health care worker and will be graduating my psychiatric nursing soon hoping to get a job with PHSA
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The best thing was training opportunities, which were reasonable. Some of my colleagues were great. The 'surface mission' of the organization is admirable, but the delivery is anything but. Far too much work for one person, shallow and false support and gaslighting from direct manager which never amounted to anything useful (and in fact was counterproductive, because she would say she was supporting us so often and so loudly to whoever would listen, that they believed her - but we received no actual help), and she eventually made it her mission to tell stories about our performance and target me as an individual. Everyone around her including senior management locally and provincial management allowed this to happen even though they knew better, and the union was not only no help, it was terrible at communication and did an awful (and unapproved by me) job of representing me during conflict resolution. Highly recommend steering clear of this organization. Miserable experience overall.
Was this review helpful?