Province of Nova Scotia Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work-life balance
Director (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS7 April 2018
The government is a great place to work for stability and benefits. Salaries are lower compared to the private sector for jobs that require advanced skills but most people you'll work with are honest and hard working. Due to bureaucracy, it often takes a long time to get things approved.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Computer Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS7 January 2017
Province of Nova Scotia is a great place to work. Great people and enjoyable working environment. You will be asked to manage and do lots of projects by yourself. This makes it a great learning environment.
Pros
Enjoyable working atmosphere
Cons
Slow pace
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
SAP Operations lead and test manager (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS9 June 2016
Productive
Punctuality
PMP skills
stretching the timings and working hard to reach goals
enjoying my work
daily challenges
new tools
Pros
multi cultural
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to gain new skills and serve the Public
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS9 February 2016
I found the workload to be extensive at times, due to shortage of staff. I have acquired many administrative skills and knowledge of the protocol of a government office and the policy and procedures.

Most of the management that I was required to work with seemed reasonable and fair, as well as the co-workers who were very accommodating when need be.

I take on all of my positions with an understanding that the job must meet deadlines and constant change. This I welcome, since I strive more in situations like this.

I enjoy working with great people and helping out the Public.
Pros
Working with good people who were down to earth
Cons
Heavy work loads at times, but not really a problem.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Halifax25 October 2013
-Great company to work for, benefits and salary were great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
methodical work place with professional people
Programmer (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS1 June 2013
* A typical day of work consists of bug fix and roll out changes to QA environment.

* I learned how to handle multiple task and prioritize them. I also learned how to handle user expectation.

* co-workers were professional.

* manage both user and team lead's expectation.

* Learn about new tools and more in depth knowledge about Java.
Pros
jobs security
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS4 April 2013
Learned a lot, not only working experience, also how to deal with different people, also Canadian working enverionment culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to get a term/permanent
Secretary I (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS12 November 2012
I have been casual for over a year. All assignments have been good. Diversity is not just a catch phrase and diversity makes it a very respectable workplace.

There is a lot of work to do and sometimes it cannot be completed in the time alloted.
Pros
diversity, respectable workplace
Cons
no benefits if casual
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Province of Nova Scotia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 9 reviews
54
42
33
20
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
4.3Culture

Province of Nova Scotia Reviews by Location