Powell - CDN Employee Reviews

Found 23 reviews matching the search See all 24 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be better
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 April 2018
people seem to be a consumable commodity. this company is based in the states and could use some more solid technical people here. Management seems very poor which was obvious to both employees and clients. I would work here again if I had to but I wouldn't hold my breath for a long term position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
labourer
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Gorham, ON24 January 2018
working 11 hours a day in any weather in and out side work
i learned a lot about working on different road equipment and running different machines, management was good to work with and very understanding.
there wasnt really a hard part to the day if your a hard working perosn and can keep up to the work
enjoyed getting the job done and working with other people
Pros
lunch room on site
Cons
didn't upgrade people to better jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company to work for. I was very fortunate to have worked with this team.
Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 January 2017
Team & Safety oriented, work the problem.
Very friendly, like family.
Hierarchical responsibilities need more definition.
Cooperative office culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Industrial Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 January 2017
Fellow workers were fantastic, supervisors really cared, great place to learn, safety was uppermost. Wages were great and an overall great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very good atmosphere
Electrical Technician (Former Employee) –  Acheson, AB14 October 2016
I like to work powell Canada

It was very good experience to work e-house for Enbridge pipelines

And very nice co workers
Very good peoples
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 14Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic culture with fabulous teams & customer products
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Acheson, AB14 September 2016
Great place to work with a strong supportive management team. Strong departments with great co-workers. Lots of fun activities year round to help build stronger working teams.
Pros
State of the act facility with cafeteria
Cons
Just out of the city limits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The production is cool and have team work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 July 2016
I work at night and I learned a lot and awesome training everyday is additional knowledge for me and very interesting. They send us on training related on our job and even safety and health seminars with certificate.
The management every month they conduct a meeting to updates us the company. The supervisor veryday they talk to ask.my co worker same we have a conversation related on job.
For me the hardest job is always in the beginning because you think to much but after all of hard work training and patience then it's really easy and you love it and indeed it's fun
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 16Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, learn more skills, good team work, approachable to the management
4th year Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Acheson, AB24 May 2016
Must be arrived on time.
Having 5 minutes daily stretching for the condition of muscle being stretch.
Job box meeting, talking about progress. What you have done and what you are suppose to do next.
The hazard assistment. Make a plan with your team, eliminate hazard. Proper tools on the job. Proper PPE ( Personal Protective Equipment ) and etc...
Pros
Nice Lunch room, Fridge, Microwave, Lockers and also you can buy foods in the Cafeteria.
Cons
surely 40/week plus Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 13Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One Man Army
Sr. Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 May 2016
If you do not follow up with task that has been assigned, the task will not be executed. A Project Manager in Powell has no authority
Pros
Free Coffee
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Journeymen Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 January 2016
awesome management , great working atmosphere, best co-workers, It was a great time with powell canada. working with safe manner. I enjoyed my work with Powell canada.
Pros
timcards
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 15Report

Want to know more about Powell - CDN?

Ask a question
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment (Buisness Units)
employee (Current Employee) –  Acheson, AB14 December 2015
-Upper Management No Experience in Western Canadian Market.
-Bad decision making in forecasting and targeting new opportunity's.
-No training provided.
-Wow factor with facility appearance, but disappointing factor with completion on targets on projects etc.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable company
Ehouse (Former Employee) –  Acheson, AB30 November 2015
There is no job security. One day they say lot of work, next day there is layoffs. Not good management. Last year too many people were hire and the plant extended too much. This year many people were let go when oil price went down. There is no work life balance, lot of stress to get work done when it is busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment great managers great coworkers
Switchgear (Current Employee) –  Acheson11 September 2015
I work there in switchgear and i love it! No cons in my opinion. My boss is on the ball, the work is clearly outlined. Safety and hr issues are strongly upheld
Pros
No micromanaging
Cons
Terrible employees get too many chances before they are fired
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 27Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
second year electrician (Former Employee) –  edmonton alberta14 May 2015
If they ever get their behinds in gear i would work for them again in a second. Excellent company just not enough work. They would treat their employees like people, give you props for doing well and would always be positive.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 22Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Machine operator (Former Employee) –  Acheson, AB13 February 2015
supervisor's are very helpful to their subordinates. co-employees are happy and fun to be with. willing to give a hand for those that are not so familiar with the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 27Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment
Electrical Designer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 January 2015
good working environment with good co-workers.
easily gets broad
Cons
lunches are expansive
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 26Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
electrical
3rd year Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  acheson8 January 2015
good company

wish they had more stable work
on day they tell you layoffs the next day the will say lots of work
Cons
small lunch room, work with labours from other countries who know nothing and lazy
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 12Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American run..
estimator (Former Employee) –  Acheson, ab12 November 2014
Spent three months there. Great place with a ton of potential. . Unfortunately the American Management team is not in touch with the Canadian culture.
Pros
new office
Cons
confused management
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming atmosphere
Electrical and Instrumentaion Purchaser (Former Employee) –  Acheson, AB28 July 2014
I enjoyed the open and comfortable environment; the hardest part of the job was communication with unqualified employees in the same position.
Pros
relaxed work schedule
Cons
Lack of organization and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 12Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work
Field Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton AB13 May 2014
It was a good place to work.
The co-workers were great and worked as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 20Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Powell - CDN. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 24 reviews
57
48
34
24
11

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.7Culture

Powell - CDN Reviews by Location