PlayStation Employee Reviews

Showing all 79 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente ambiente de trabajo
Promotor (Former Employee) –  Torreón, Coah.30 April 2019
Excelente empresa y muy divertido muchas capacitaciones y experiencia laboral
Pros
Seguro social
Cons
Sin antiguedad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
IT administrator (Former Employee) –  Oxford Circus, Greater London28 March 2019
Working at Sony was an enjoyable experience for me. The environment at Sony was relaxed and laid back. My colleagues were really helpful and friendly and were able to assist me with any queries or questions that I had during my time working there.
Pros
relaxed environment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and supportive environment
Executive Assistant to Chairman (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CA20 March 2019
learning many new games trend every day. people are very respectful and kind. the workplace has lots of decorative gaming characters from desks to wall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing Demos and selling PlayStation
Brand Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Miami, FL15 March 2019
The best part about this position is you rarely see your supervisor & most of your work will not be monitored or recorded/ watched. It is up to you how to make best use of your time.
Pros
Great pay. Mostly unsupervised
Cons
Strictly temporary work. Particular hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CA4 March 2019
Overall, it was a nice place and fun place to work in. Every day, there's a lot of interesting things happening. A great place to work especially for game players.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, poor work practices and difficult to advance.
Functional Tester (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside10 February 2019
A workplace that is generally only worth being a part of for the people you work with. Generally a lot of great people work here, but beyond that the company is mostly a negative experience.

Management beyond lower middle management will generally avoid interacting at all with the general staff. Almost like they don't wish to be sullied by the common folk!

Recently the company chose to offload all their contractors to a very poor and unprofessional company that has done nothing but cause problems and headaches for employees. Pay is all over the place and there are no employee rights to speak of. They employ poor management techniques and software that is not up to the task. Sony do not really care though, as they simply did not want to have to deal with contractors.

Additionally any idea of a career ladder or step-by-step advancement has disappeared. There is now a huge jump from the lowest rung to the next as the company has removed a lot of the mid-tier advancements that used to exist.

On top of this is zero job security as they can cut you at a weeks notice.

Generally only apply to work here if you wish to gain a bit of basic experience in QA and want to experience something of the gaming industry.
Pros
Free games
Cons
General atmosphere of disdain for contractors, zero job security, difficult advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place but no work ladder to climb
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  germany24 January 2019
good place but no work ladder to climb.i would of been happy to work there but they are removing the UK line from the campaign so I have to find something more secure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
divertido
promotora de ventas (Former Employee) –  Panamá, Chis.7 January 2019
para mi fue una gran oportunidad tranajar con la playstation ya que nuevamente interactue con los clientes como promotora y vendedora su receptividad para conmigo siendo extranjera fue muy buena y comprensible.
Pros
no
Cons
si 1 hora
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
SECURITY OFFICER (Former Employee) –  United States25 December 2018
Sony is the best place to work! I have never had any problem with Sony, they take care of their employees and really create an amazing work environment for everyone. Everyone is accepted.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varies a lot depending on department
Staff Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Foster City, CA16 December 2018
This review is specific only to engineering, which is a minority portion of Playstation HQ workforce. Overall a pretty good place to work, especially if you prefer comprehensive benefits and low-layoff risk over cash, stock options, or other more immediate or risky forms of compensation or unstable employers.

Promotions come at a plodding rate and are handed out more by tenure rather than performance. How good you are at your job seems to matter less than showing up every day and keeping your seat warm for years on end. This is in part a mutually exclusive function of the stability and low-layoff patterns noted above so I don't think it's specifically a bad thing if your career goal is 30-yrs stability followed by retirement.

Playstation HQ has officially relocated to San Mateo but so many decisions still have to go through senior management in Japan. HQ relocation may have made that worse rather than better -- Playstation used to ride under the radar of senior executives in Japan. Now that it's become the most successful recent story in Sony, it is reguarly a focus of their crosshairs.
Pros
Comprehensive benefits, senior management has an open door policy
Cons
Lower pay, difficulty hiring/retaining top engineering talent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work with great benefits
Manager - Program Management (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CA10 December 2018
Sony Interactive Entertainment is a competitively postured company in the San Francisco Bay Area and offers excellent benefits for their employees. Along with Employee Resource Groups the company endeavors to keep up to date with all employees on their advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun work environment, the playstation is a family entertainment center for kids 12 and under to play games, go through tubes, and slides.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Marion, IA3 December 2018
My work day started with cleaning usually, then I would normally help customers, then unload truck. I would check for partys to set up, and go around and make sure any department needed help.
Pros
Free drinks, 50% off food, 30 min breaks.
Cons
Never new anything about long term benifits, boss was not very nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
WWS QA Functional Tester (Former Employee) –  Liverpool27 November 2018
Has nice hours from 8:30AM till 4PM. Job lets you learn and advance yourself, though this doesn't mean you rise up quickly in the company.

Work culture is fun and offers a lot of benefits though for rewards of hard work, there isn't much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it
Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Rancho Bernardo, CA26 November 2018
Dont do it. Nearly ruined my career and did ruin my home life. I worked around the clock shift work and was not compensated for any weekend or extensive overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job,
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV14 November 2018
A typical day of work at PlayStation consisted of inbound calls from consumers about product issues. Everything was documented so as for quality assurance. Management was hands on and very supportive. Workplace was fun but also very serious. Hardest part of the job was keeping within the 9.5 minute limit for a troubleshooting call. Most enjoyable part was being able to learn the ins and outs of the PlayStation and how the PlayStation Network tends to work.
Pros
Pay and hours
Cons
schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Oppunity
Third Party Relations - Production Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Soho, Greater London11 November 2018
Daily tasks would involve checking products arriving on the PlayStation store in the form publisher intended. Ensuring information, images, price and availability are in order.
Planning and monitoring all content within the week up till future releases for the next few months.

The department I worked in was very welcoming, we'd often find ways to handle tasks which would overlap with others to find the most suitable way to manage multiple duties.

The work environment was very professional but not in a way to feel so stuffy, most staff are down to earth and know how to have a laugh while at work. Share stories, and information whether it was work-related or not.

Most enjoyable part of my job would be the entire experience, sometimes getting to share, with my line manager, some of the most unorthodox game we got to manage.
Pros
Connection within the industry, interaction with game publishers and developers, events, game codes, canteen/bar within the HQ
Cons
Contractor may miss out on few benefits such as Japanese Lessons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Playstation review
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  City of Edinburgh4 November 2018
Great team building call centre environment.

Lots of incentive to keep you working hard.

Good chance to progress career.

Located in Edinburgh so easy travel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Shift Lead (Dispatcher) (Former Employee) –  Foster City, CA1 November 2018
was an enjoyable experience fun place to work with a heavy customer service job but all around great experience full of amazing people to work with, i made a lot of growth in my field and gained lots of experience as well.
Pros
benefits and people
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What i learned while working here.
PlayStation kid depot daycare-(Teacher) (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TN14 October 2018
Working here made me a little more confident. the staff is very helpful the children are very well behaved. Its a great place to grow. They help you take some Early Childhood Class as well as work around your school schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None.
Director, Internal Audit (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CA24 September 2018
I enjoyed my 15 years at SIE, and was able to build an entire internal audit team from scratch, adding considerable value to Sony Playstation. I have many colleagues who will remain life-long friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PlayStation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 79 reviews
527
423
320
27
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture