PIE Wood Fired Pizza Joint Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nope
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON26 November 2018
This is a chain that is growing stagnant. Most of the locations only have short busy periods during the Summer and then drastically decline the rest of the year.The low pay rate makes it a poor employment choice.You will find management rather two faced and uninterested in the well being of most employees.Don't bother working here, you can do much better.
Pros
Good staff
Cons
Upper management has their heads up their butts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers can be good and bad, inconsistent hours, environment needs work
Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON18 April 2018
Kitchen staff smokes far too much, usually little to no time for breaks, or if there is, you'll be cut early, coworkers are generally friendly, but can be aggravating if it's busy or they decide to be lazy. Front house spends far too much time chatting and sitting on phones than paying attention to customers
Pros
Half Price Food
Cons
Breaks are rare/extremely short
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont work here
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON28 February 2018
Pie is a fun place to work at but a lot of the people who work there are not friendly at all including the managers.
I wasn't really taught a lot of things had to pretty much learn everything on my own.
Pros
free food sometimes
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON6 February 2018
Provided a great stepping stone to learning how to work in the kitchen. learning how to make wood fired pizza is a fun and interesting job. head chef did not treat all staff well, however.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
no break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced productive social environment
Dishwasher/Food Prep (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON24 January 2018
Typically worked dinner shifts. Very social fun environment, focused on delivering quality foods efficiently. Great management and staff. Very positive and enjoyable work experience.
Pros
Fun staff energetic environment
Cons
Not many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Server (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON8 January 2018
Good job to work at it was fun and had a lot of coworkers. there are many times where the restaurant was very busy so you must be able to multitask and be busy.
Pros
good coworkers
Cons
long hours with no break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely exciting, rewarding and flexible workplace.
Server (Current Employee) –  Muskoka, ON13 September 2017
Working at PIE has given me some of the best relationships I have. These relationships are not only with my co-workers but my employers and regular customers as well. PIE is an amazing place to work and I highly recommend it for anyone looking for a professional workplace that treats you like family and challenges you to be the best you can be at your job.
Pros
Great tips
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pie
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON31 July 2017
Great place to work- great staff, amazing training. Helping customers is something is always an opportunity there and the food is simple amazing! Great place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover Filthy Kitchen
Cook (Former Employee) –  Lakeshore, barrie20 July 2017
Never have I worked in a restaurant where cross contamination between meats and produce are no big deal. High staff turnover of staff. Terrible employee morale. Use to have free staff meals. Now it's burnt pizza n food for meals. Had one kitchen manager fired for selling hard drugs, the next one fired for stealing staff tip out money.
Pros
Disgruntled staff to complain with about management
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love pie
dough maker and perp cook and dishes (Current Employee) –  Collingwood, ON19 July 2017
pie is a good place to work and eat. Their food is good and people are great!!!
i like the pep plus its one of my favs.
i think their after 8 pm special is really cool too...
Pros
good people
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, busy restaurant, with a nice view of the lakeshore
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON24 June 2016
Business is unknown upon arriving for a shift, could be busy, or not at all. I learnt to expect the unexpected. Management and co-workers were very friendly, and easy-going. The hardest part was the stress of a dinner rush on a friday/saturday night, and the most enjoyable part was a free lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a friendly and welcoming work enviroment, very disoganized.
Hostess/Waitress (Current Employee) –  Pickering, ON6 August 2015
The management here is very poor, you get very little training and guidance. I have learned to become a productive worker and do things without being asked. Most employees are unmotivated about coming in and doing work, which makes the atmosphere for employees very uninviting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PIE Wood Fired Pizza Joint. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 13 reviews
53
42
36
20
12

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
3.1Culture

PIE Wood Fired Pizza Joint Reviews by Job Title

PIE Wood Fired Pizza Joint Reviews by Location