PetroChina Canada Employee Reviews

Found 16 reviews matching the search See all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
internship
Information Management Intern (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 June 2018
was present for a layoff of over 10 staff. Upper management did not seem to think about the overall company when laying off staff. It only seemed to be about numbers. Everyone was very nice and friendly but I didn't learn much and wasn't given any responsibility as an intern.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, lack of communication from executive team
Senior Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 June 2017
This was a stressful environment to work in, due to the language barriers and the differences in culture.
I learned that a job is just as much the employees choice as it is the employers.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the team atmosphere on the project side.
Pros
salary and benefits
Cons
the culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brion was a fun place to work
Surface Land Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta13 March 2017
In the 5 years that I was working at Brion Energy it was a great and thriving company.

Working and learning new systems.

There were a few language issues in the Chinese language.
Pros
Private Offices
Cons
Work long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplce
Pipefitter Foreman (Former Employee) –  Ft McKay AB28 February 2017
Every day was something new , no real typical work day with this type of job . I learned many new aspects of extraction facility / refinery operations . My management skills with this job improved due to lots of multi tasking on a daily basis . The job safety was the main workplace culture . The hardest part of the job entailed being out in the elements for extended periods . Managing the crew they provided was the best part of the job for me .
Pros
Camp facilities / food
Cons
Travel days to and from camp
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional work place.
Project Controls Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 February 2017
Very professional organisation with highly educated management team. I had the opportunity to learn SAP and quantity surveying in this company. In general, the work environment was very professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A bad combination of Chinese public company and porr local management
Senior Engineer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 December 2016
This company is the worst combination of poor local management and public Chinese company management.
There isn't clarity on company goals.
There is' clarity on roles and responsibilities for employees. There is no possibility of career development is you are not Chinese.
The local manager that are still working in the company don't have any authority and their priority is to follow direction from the Chinese staff to remain in the company.
Pros
Competitive salary and pakage for old employes.
Cons
porr management, no possibilities of carrear development, terrible work enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace developing company with very high standards
HSSE Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 November 2016
The people were amazing to work with and always conducted themselves at the highest level of commitment, The pace was horrendously fast and lots of last minute innitiatives and deadlines, this is typical in a startup environment. Another challenge was the need to reduce costs. This was so paramount that it held back progress.
It was satisfying to work with dedicated people with common goals and willing to work the challenges together
Pros
the people and hi level of committment
Cons
long hours, high expectations and low resources
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Construction Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 September 2016
I worked in the Mackay area on the SAGD project. The management was great and the area was good to work in. The accomodations were very good and the food was excellent. Hope the economics improve so the other areas of interest for Brion will develop. My immediate co workers are agreat team and I would like to continue to work with them.
Pros
Good conditions
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 stars
Sr. Project Engineer / Lead Process Engineer, (Former Employee) –  Calgary & Fort MacMurray, Alberta19 August 2016
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Protdutive and fun place to work
Mechanical / Integrity QA Inspector (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB15 June 2016
A great place to work. Had the pleasure to work with some of the top inspectors in the industry.I learned a great deal of new skills during my time at Brion Energy and I hope to utilize them on the next project!
Pros
great pay
Cons
long way from home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working,
QA/QC Piping Lead (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB22 April 2016
-Typical day of work consists of activities listed on my resume.
- What i've learned on this job, patience and hard work is the key to success.
- Management is the key to successful project.
- My co- workers, I couldn't ask for better co workers on the current project i'm working.
- Hardest part of my job is being away from my family.
- The most enjoyable part of my job is working with such great co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company. Apply elsewhere.
Small company & I don't want to identify myself (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 April 2016
This is a terrible company. Do not apply for a job here. It claims to be a "real Canadian company" but it is 100% owned by the government of China. Management refuses to listen to employees that know what they are doing - the "exec" is comprised partially of Chinese government employees and the rest of them wouldn't make the C-Suite at any other oil and gas company in Calgary.
Pros
Hours were not too bad
Cons
Clueless management / literally everything other than the hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Supply Chain (Current Employee) –  Calgary26 September 2014
A great group of people to work with, great environment and the opportunity for growth.
Pros
Work/Life balance, great pay
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great food and the Camps and Staff are great
Safety Advisor (Current Employee) –  Fort Mcmurray14 May 2014
Start your day with a great breakfast then off to a different company safety meeting each day.
Currently working a 14 and 14 shift good people to work with and a good family life too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 12Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun loving, great people skills and networking
Field HSSE Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary , AB12 November 2013
My typical day involves attending safety meetings
- Office assignments
- Site tours
- Auditing
- management meetings
- Coordination of site activities
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 47Report

See more PetroChina Canada reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PetroChina Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 17 reviews
53
46
34
23
11

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

PetroChina Canada Reviews by Location