Petro Canada Employee Reviews in Calgary, AB

Found 38 reviews matching the search See all 880 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  calgary8 November 2014
good learning opportunities.
team work.
hectic schedule.
training new people
interpersonal skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
HR and LMS Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 September 2014
Working as a contractor allowed me to experience different departments where I learn so much and met some amazing people which to this day I'm still in contact with.
Pros
Great opportunities to grow with the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Guest Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 September 2014
good workplace and good benefits
good employer and great pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place where i can efficiently deliver my work.
GSA and CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 August 2014
My overall review about working for Petro Canada is a good one.
Pros
chance to interact with customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enterpreunrial and Exciting
Fort Hills Architect / PM support (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 March 2014
As an architect for numerous projects, this was company that listed to advice and made one feel a valuable member of the organization.

This was an exciting, dynamic and strong team oriented environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
Retail Licensee (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 January 2014
Overall the company is Great!

I owned the inventories of the gas station. I also have a share in the botton line.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outside Job
Parking Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 January 2014
Not really a good place to be working at in the winter
Pumping gas for customers
Pros
Tips
Cons
Freezing Weather
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Cashier, Sales (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 November 2013
A typical day at work is to get the job done. Not just get it done, but to do it right. I learned that you can learn from your mistakes. If doors close on you there are still other doors that are open for you. I have also learned not to repeat the same mistake twice.

I tend to like and be patient with my co-workers. I also learn a lot from them.

The hardest part of the job is when you do not feel appreciated by the end of the day, whether it is from your boss or co-workers, or most importantly your customers for something you did not do wrong.

The most enjoyable part of the job is when you feel appreciated and when you get along with everyone around you.
Pros
Long breaks
Cons
Too tired by the end of the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geophysicist working in a junior oil company
Senior Geophysicist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB, Tripoli, Libya19 November 2013
Basinwell is a junior oil company focusing on the Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin. The company is putting emphasis on producing oil from old fields by re-entry/re-completion, water flooding, and drill step-out wells.

As a geophysicist, my work is to validate the leads /prospects /acquisition proposals from the geologists by using seismic data.

I am also actively involved in the opportunity hunting process by analyzing well, land and engineering data (GeoScout) in combination with seismic data.

The hardest part of this job is to make decision based on limited data (seismic data is expensive here). The most enjoyable part is that your achievements are recognized and appreciated by the management.
Pros
Pros: highly motivated
Cons
Cons: low salary, job security (junior company)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working long rotation in the desert with limited fun
Lead Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 August 2013
Start with task assignment to engineers and technicians
Work overseas in Oil & Gas
Fair Management
Co-workers friendly, but mostly not skilled
Working long hours on project completion
Doing the field work
Pros
Good pay for moderate work
Cons
Desert work enviroment on 6-3 week rotations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy place to work.
General Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 June 2013
I need to support my family so looking for better office job with better salary and benefits and job timings should be 9 to 5 pm. Weekends should be off including statutory holidays.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
can work OT but should be paid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taught me many things
Sales associate/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 March 2013
I learnt how to work under pressure and how to handle customer complains and how to work with people who are sometimes hard to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning fast and fun
cahier (Former Employee) –  calgary,ab14 March 2013
im very fast learning,good people, time management, friendly...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great job. You are self employed.
RETAIL LICENSEE (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 January 2013
• As a Retail Licensee, sequentially operated a series of three Petro Canada gas stations in Calgary (including the flagship station on 36th and Memorial Drive), with a total sales of more than $12 million per year, which was consistently above the company’s budget and expectations.
• Supervised day-to-day operations of the station and the convenience store. Administered budgets, authorized financial transactions, monitored product inventories. Wrote and authorized reports to head office.
• Oversaw the other Petro Canada businesses on the premises, including the A&W restaurant, the flower shop and the liquor store. Determined staffing requirements; hired, trained and coached staff.
• Monitored the inside and outside of the building, ensuring that Petro Canada’s standards were being met and pass the surprise monthly inspections.
• Dealt with customer interactions and recommendations.
Pros
you are self employed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work Place
Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary28 December 2012
Handle cash, schedule, deliveries and run the business smoothly. I have gained a good knowledge of managing the staff and the payroll. The hardest part of the job is that it is 24-hr availability.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect ground for improving your personality
CASHIER/GUEST SERVICE ATTENDANT (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta6 October 2012
*Attending to customers
*Being polite at all times
*Everything is under company's policy
*Supportive
*When customers files-up while you are alone
*Meeting different kind of people everyday
Pros
short time travel to work
Cons
standing for long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very rewarding experience.
Record's Control Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 October 2012
It was a challenge to set up a filing system from scratch for oil and gas well files that were still in boxes from the company Petro Canada took over.
I enjoyed the challenge and felt a sense of accomplishment and felt appreciated for my work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Petro Canada reviews

You may want to try: