Petro Canada Employee Reviews in Calgary, AB

Found 38 reviews matching the search See all 872 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working part time to enjoy both family and work
Senior Administration (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 January 2019
Petro Canada was part of my life for over 26 years and was an awesome place to work
Suncor took over and I stayed in for 5 more years and was offered a package to leave
Suncor was a different environment with their work ethics's.
Pros
Great company with all the benefits and great salary
Cons
Suncor took over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work at especially to improve my communication skills.
Guest Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 September 2018
It was a good opportunity to work as a Guest service attendant, especially given that it was my first job in Canada. I improved my communication skills and obtained customer experience. I learnt how to work under extreme pressure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 August 2018
Was sign on as contract work at the time. Training was adequate and responsibilities were evenly divided among the team fairly to ensure workload was fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 June 2018
I was totally unknown about Canadian job system at this time .
I was recently landed in Calgary and had an opportunity to work at this company. I had pretty tough time at that period as i have limited English and was completely unknown about the technology that were used at the station, but eventually things started getting easier as my training went on
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun place to work with lots of opportunities to grow.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 February 2018
Employers were really nice to work with. I earned a lot of skills while working with them like, managing the store, maintaining professional relations with other higher officials and lot more.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 October 2017
Petro Canada was a good company to work for, They had great
benefits, good work hours, management was good and supported their employees. Over all work environment was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Back Office Staff (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 July 2017
Good place to work and learn the ropes about what a job in retail is like. Not a lot of pressure but time goes by quickly when working. Overall, not a difficult job to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Guest Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 October 2016
Productive work setup customer service fast pace good hard working experienced coworkers and managers good benefits and lot of learning everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to start with
Retail Sales Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 September 2016
Learnt the transaction details
Hiring and training staff
Teamwork
Time management
Courtesy
Professionalism
Problem solving
Best customer service
Compliments from the customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 March 2016
The best part of this place corporate culture and almost 40 employees used to work here and we all are like one family at work and outside too. The Director and Owner of the organization very friendly and he supported in every aspect. I have learned more about customer service here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 February 2016
Treated very well and respected. Everyone is friendly and welcoming. Helpful when first starting out. No complaints.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace.
Cashier/ Customer service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 January 2016
I used to work night shifts more, so can maintain whole store. Learned about lottery, customer service, how to upsale food, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive place to express your skills
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 December 2015
it is my first job. i learned a lot working here.Management helped me alot.I enjoy interacting with the customers.co-workers are very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding but enjoyable role
SENIOR LAND COORDINATOR, CONTRACT (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 November 2015
Dealing with land administrative requests from various companies, processing crossing and road use requests.

Small working environment, nice group.

Consulting position, timelines expected on a weekly basis.
Pros
No Pros - Consulting Position
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enhanced customer service
Cashier/Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 October 2015
The job was good and challenging, interacting with customers everyday was very active and i learned lots everyday. The management was okay, it could've been good if they offer benefits to their employees.
Pros
50% discount in all products
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-phase working environment, enjoyed life-work balance, learned a lot
Guest Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 September 2015
The branch where I am assigned is the busiest Petro-Canada as others would say so I get to enjoy the fast-phased working environment there. I learned a lot from customer service, product knowledge, to cars and whatnot . I have nothing to say bad about the management especially to my boss because she's been very helpful and understanding to us/ her staffs. My co-workers are mostly Filipinos so it's easy to adapt. The hardest part or the most challenging of the job I would say is arranging the stocks in the c-can. We have to ensure FIFO in all deliveries. The most enjoyable part I would say is cashiering because you get to deal with different kind of people. Getting to know some customers that turned to patrons.
Pros
Incentives every time we passed the audit or got 100% on the mystery shop
Cons
No health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 September 2015
I got an experience to greet customers, manage cash being a cashier and many more. Moreover, learned how to work in a team with positive attitude.Overall, it was a good experience.
Pros
Freindly Manager
Cons
Low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1st job in Canada
Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 September 2015
It is a good company to work for
but the organization keeps changing

sometimes you are asked to work crazy hours
and you need to go on shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Nice to work for
CONSULTING ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 May 2015
Main Office took on corrosion for the company several Disciplines.

Was Exposed to many different issues like sour service, cathodic protection, water filtration processes, gas dehydration, Amine Sweetening units, pressure equipment, assessment of corroded equipment and pipelines, inspection. I was a very broad exposure and experience obtained from this company.

Co-workers were helpful and fun to deal with.

Hardest part of the job was dealing with a particular field operator to implement the required changes to stop corrosion, which in the end caused a rupture.

The most Enjoyable part was being able to partake and be exposed to such a variety of issues and the deep learning from all these.
Pros
great learnings and exposure.
Cons
Management issues in some places in the field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team environment
Corporate Communications Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 February 2015
Petro-Canada had a strong team culture and environment. I had the opportunity to build excellent working relationships.
Pros
Excellent benefits and compensation
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport