Pet Valu Employee Reviews

Found 216 reviews matching the search See all 369 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail manager
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS13 December 2018
A great company to work for. They try hard to work with their staff and find ways to make new transitions workable.
Customer base is nice as well, a great mix of people in my locations.
Pros
Benefits, Decent management, good discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun workplace
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg8 December 2018
Absolutely loved my job and my staff members. I enjoyed improving our store as a team and insuring customers had the best possible experience while shopping here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff, great customers
pet professional (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB3 December 2018
great place to work
job not secure
didn t feel appreciation for senior staff
beautiful store
staff knew thier stuff about pet products
open til 9 at night is uneccesary, too late and never busy
life/work balance barely exists
wage not great for the work being done
no benefits for any part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The warehouse is a mess.
Order Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 November 2018
It took more than 2 months to get an accurate pay. They let people go just to pay others less. Very stingy company.. can't even supply pens. This job involves pushing around a cart that you have to hunt down. You have to lift heavy totes. There is roaches and mice everywhere. The management has their favourites and there is no sense of respect. Its constant demands and they fail to update the team on new concepts. The coworkers are sneaky to take your cart if you happened to arrive earlier and manage to get one that doesn't hurt your wrists. I'm not impressed with this company whatsoever.
Cons
repetitive, all on paper, cheap
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Pet Expert (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON9 November 2018
A typical day at work would include most importantly the care and well beings of the animals and helping customers find the best products for their pets.
Pros
employees were very friendly
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dauphin, MB9 November 2018
great place to work, lots of learning that needs to be done, get to see animals. get great knowledge of different foods and toys that are suitable for different animals
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization with growth potential in the pet food, supply and services sector
BSA / Business Intelligence Lead (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 November 2018
- Dynamic organization with rapid expansion strategy.
- Some very capable people in place to support growth.
- Management driven purely by numbers.
- Insecurity amongst employees about their role in the future.
- Plenty of opportunities for people who work smart and hard.
- Wonderful environment for animal lovers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No respect or appreciation
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Niagara, ON31 October 2018
it would seem that you have to be a friend of the owner to get anywhere in this company, Kalar and Lundys Lane location. If the owner has had enough of you she will cut your hours in half. Nothing to do? No appreciation.
Cons
boring, nothing to do at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the job
Manager (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 October 2018
I really enjoyed working for Pet Valu. The staff was amazing and so was the owner, it was a team environment. I liked working with the animals as well as helping people learn how to improve their pets health and quality of life.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, poor management
Full Time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Casselman, ON17 October 2018
My typical day would be...
To open the store, set up the register
Check stores e-mail and respond to any incoming messages
Call customers about special orders that were made
Make sure store is organized
Help customers choose a product that was right for them
General cleaning duties
Counting the register and making daily bank deposits
Setting up the security system and closing the store
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace environment
Senior Inventory Administrator (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC10 October 2018
a usual day will start with a normal coffee and it will get intense and fast as it goes by. a small daily meeting in the morning to discuss how the day is looking. Nice people and good working environment over all.
Pros
Convenient working hours
Cons
Lower pay grades
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Starting wage, good training
Part Time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 October 2018
In the time I was there the company's focus seemed to change from taking care of the customer to pushing their own product and it really affected the overall work environment causing good people to leave.
Pros
Adoptable cats in store
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and environment to work in!
Sales person (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON23 September 2018
I love working there but getting paid minimum wage after working there for five years is not paying the bills and there is just no sight of advancement.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if owner doesnt like you watch out, lose hours and respect
Cashier (Former Employee) –  lundys lane and kalar6 September 2018
I started working as a temp, but when the owner went and hired one person, I let it slide, then someone quits and she hires a new full-time person. Not once did she offer me a permanent position. I guess she never liked me as a person even tho I was good at what I did, dusting every day to look busy. When I stopped dusting, no one else did it! She made me feel incompetent and insulted. I dreaded going into work for my shifts, then the hours started dropping by 10 hours a week, I had to give notice, she was glad, she didn't even want her 2-week notice so I left after one shift.
Cons
Employees liked me as a person, and I loved all the pets that came shopping with their, sometime snooty owners
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Store Front Employee (Former Employee) –  Fall River, NS30 August 2018
I truly enjoyed working at this Nova Scotia location, amazing staff, and amazing customers. There wasn't a day that I didn't go in anxious or upset. Staff really made sure that you were trained properly, and helped with checking expiration dates, and restocking.
Pros
30 minute breaks
Cons
I recieved shorter shifts, requested longer hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just pickbup boxes and put them in a compact machine
Heavy-duty cleaner (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC16 August 2018
Picking boxes and plastics from the working area and put them in a garage container for plastics and garbage but cardbox I do put them in a compact machine.
Pros
Free poza
Cons
No long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great After School Job
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON9 August 2018
This is a perfect stepping stone kinda job. Not a job/career I could see myself doing forever. It was the kinda job that it allowed me to do upgrading so I could go back to school to improve my life/career.
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
No room for advancement when such a small place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company - Franchise owners are Independant
Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 August 2018
Pet Valu has an amazing work culture and it shows with the excellent service, clean stores and pride staff takes in the job.
Note: Stores are individually franchised. Some store owners can be difficult.
Advice: Caution who you work for.
Pros
Great training, fun team, good Managers, flexible
Cons
Owners can be mean
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was okay
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB31 July 2018
the management and corporation is a mess. they don't take new and improved ideas into consideration, are rude and hostile. one positive is that i loved all the costumers and all the animals that i can into contact with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with animals
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lacombe, AB4 July 2018
Can be very demanding but also a great experience. Have to be able to lift up to 50 lbs. Most enjoyable thing about this job is interacting with all the animals that came on and working with rescue centers.
Pros
playing with the animals
Cons
putting away inventory
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pet Valu. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 369 reviews
596
4106
387
231
149

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.6Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.5Culture