Pelly Construction Employee Reviews

Found 19 reviews matching the search See all 21 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company's
Equipment Operator/ Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Whitehorse yukon8 July 2019
Great management and staff. Nice camps to stay in while away at work. Equipment well maintained and runs smoothly. Good benefits to go along with good job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gear extremely tired
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Eagle gold project12 July 2018
This job is only good for short term, kiss butt or your done. Say what you want to hear and don’t ever have your own opinion, you will be gone faster then you know it
Pros
Camp
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strict safety guidelines
Housekeeper/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Williams Lake, BC9 September 2017
Pelly construction paid well and u found their mine to follow very strict safety guidelines which at a mine is obviously paramount. The kitchen was open 24 hours, and you could request anything you wanted for breakfast like oatmeal, yogurt and berries. Omelettes, bacon and eggs. The people were easy to get along with and everyone was willing to help me understand how best to do my job as make it easier for me. Overall I really enjoyed my time there and wish that a full time position had become available.
Pros
24 hour kitchen with great homemade meals and lunches
Cons
Not enough full time positions available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty good company
Excavator, Dozer, and Grader (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife Highway16 September 2015
At Pelly they had good foreman, good Supervisor, great people. Got to show my self taught high Production skills, and they are pretty good. LOL Mostly blasted rock, tried loading from side, but learned quickly you can not do with blasted rock. The big chuncks make truck shaking, and this truckers do not like. All around it was great job, pay was lower on scale and equipment was older also. But am not a complainer, overall I was happy there.
Pros
Learned a lot about blasted rock
Cons
pay was low
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Haul Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Chetwynd, BC1 July 2015
they were willing to give anybody a fair chance. work with you to find a piece of equipment that you could be fluint on. equipment could have used some more attention. good staff.
Pros
good staff
Cons
equipment a little tired
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and productive work environment. Good job!
The workday was 11 hrs. Camp life was good, with good food and all the amenities of home. Great work/life balance for me- 20 days on/10 days off. Management was pretty good for the most part. I was fortunate enough to have great people to work with which made the job fun. I made some close lifelong friends at that job.
Pros
Good people, camp and job. Good pay.
Cons
It ended.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Employer / Work Environment
Industrial Service Welder (Former Employee) –  Whitehorse, YT10 July 2014
No job security or advancement opportunity. Employer didn't cover travel expenses as per industry standard, especially since other employees were. The camp living conditions were quite bad: bad food (couldn't eat most of it), no temperature regulation in rooms, very noisy rooms, poor internet, no TV.
Pros
Some great co-workers
Cons
No paid travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A produtive and fun place to work
Haul Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Chetwynd, bc29 June 2014
get up, eat, go to work for 11hrs, come home eat then go to bed. 21 days straight and 10 off. coworkers were all great!
Pros
in camp
Cons
not seeing my kids that much
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Chetwynd, BC7 May 2014
enjoyed camp.
good food.
good benefits
company tried to work around employees home life as best as they could
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Minto Mine14 November 2013
Ran all types of Equipment. Worked various shifts.
Day shift and night shift. 21/8 day turn around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working for this company
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  faro yukon17 May 2013
good company to work for. great benifets. good pay. great leadership.
Pros
good co workers. great hours. good money
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Machine operator/labourer (Former Employee) –  tumbler ridge bc9 March 2013
lerned lots from instructors and peers, was a good company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and a so so camp
Blast Hole Driller (Current Employee) –  Whitehorse, YT30 December 2012
Production every day. Most equipment is in new or 5 -8 years old.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the people
Housekeeper /Truck Driver - Full-time (Former Employee) –  chetwynd bc18 November 2012
When working for this company I really enjoyed the people and management I worked with but advancing in the career proved very difficult no matter how hard you worked.
Pros
good people, great environment
Cons
hard to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to be
Certified Haul Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Chetwynd, BC16 October 2012
conduct walk around and pre trip inspections, operated 793f series haul trucks. winter driving safety and prevention manouvers. co-workers were great help. i love operating heavy equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly , remote area,
Cook (Former Employee) –  Old Crow, YT13 October 2012
Making breakfast, clean up, baking, pre-ping for dinner, no lunch was required. Having sandwich makings available for lunches. Cleaning of the camp.
There was no difficulty at this work site, people, co-workers all got along. Beautiful remote area, was able to see how the peoples who lived there live off the land.
I did all the work in the kitchen, which I do enjoy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emploie
CHAUFFEUR DE CAMION HORS-ROUTE (Former Employee) –  Chetwynd, BC29 September 2012
Transporté charbon au concasseur , transporté matier premiere pour construire un chemin a l`interne
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Operating Equipment
Packer Operator (Former Employee) –  Whitehorse, YT16 April 2012
I would work closely with the Boss, I learned how t operate a Packer safely and properly. I worked very well with everyone, I started off as a labourer, they moved me onto machines also trained me to run a 777 rock truck, took the course for it also. I enjoyed everything about it
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport

See more Pelly Construction reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pelly Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 21 reviews
56
410
33
21
11

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
3.9Culture

Pelly Construction Reviews by Location