Pearson Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, unpreferable shift
Night Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  new22 March 2015
Overall decent company, solid night shift work. Few perks or incentives to work the shift with low pay for the work and involved.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as Tech Support at Pearson was a dead end job
Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON19 March 2015
The work itself can be easy but the pay is relatively low and there are no opportunities for promotions.

It is a call-centre where the managers will micro manage your every move.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have enjoyed my job at Pearson Canada
Packaging & Returns Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ON18 March 2015
I sort through the orders to match up the loose picks with the bulk picks, Once this has been done, I then use the forklift to take the orders to the appropriate department. Once I have completed all of this, I then go to the department and help with packing the orders so they can be shipped out to the customers. I receive invoice into the system. I put skids of product back into rack locations.
I work with my Leader to ensure that everything gets done by the due dates.
I don't feel that my job is hard. I'm busy all day and the is what I enjoy about the job. I know when I go to work that I won't be sitting around doing nothing.
Pros
Short Commute to work
Cons
Pay rate not high enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pearson
Night Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Newmarket. Ontario16 March 2015
I worked for the company for almost 10 years, due to convenient timing of my arrival and my previous experience I was able to move up in the company quickly.
Pros
benefits
Cons
midnight shift no chance in change
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Technical Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC27 February 2015
Great company to work for. Great opportunities for career advancement. Relaxed environment. Cooperative staff. Good office location.
Pros
Good Benefits and perks
Cons
Too much restructuring
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and confusing
Software Engineer / Escalation Specialist (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC26 February 2015
This company has given me the impression that it does not know what it wants. Aside from all the technical quality it's people have, it does not make good choices. Management has been a real issue.

Probably the fact that this is a mega corporation with varying interests is the reason why they have made poor software choices. I don't think they're a successful software company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, energetic and work-life balance
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto26 February 2015
As a financial analyst, I will develop budget, forecasts for our business divisions and provide analysis on the financials.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Limited growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company overall.
Inside Sales and Solutions Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 December 2014
Management was understanding of the needs of the job and expectations were set accordingly. Looked forward to every single day at work as the environment was very supporting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good and enjoyable experience
Edexcel examiner (Current Employee) –  on line18 July 2014
I have enjoyed working for Edexcel as an examiner the experience has been an eye opener as I have never worked with computer marking programs. I managed to apply my knowledge to evaluate students works in a fair way. The team I worked with was very supportive and were there to any questions I needed answering, despite us only working online
Pros
free lunch on training
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management
Science Writer (Former Employee) –  Montreal12 April 2014
I write and edit material from home for Pearson.I tele-work and work via internet with a few of the employees there and they are all very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best but could be worse
Graduate Admissions Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto1 April 2014
I have been employed here for over 5 years. Company has been bought 3 times by various companies and with that came departmental/structural changes but mostly administrative.
As an admissions Advisor I interview and present to qualified prospects whom shown interest in our online Masters program. (We design online degree whom we partnerships with over 50 schools across the U.S)
Pros
free education .i.e. Graduate degree, good benefits
Cons
pay not so wonderful, management can be lackaisical, not challenging enough, minimum job advanacement
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A relax place to work with some amazing people. Cross training into other departments allows for a diverse skill and knowledge.
Return Clerk (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ON13 August 2013
I work on the day shift, 6:30am-3:00pm. My main job is a returns clerk. Customers return boxes of books, that is process through logpro for good stock or garbage. Through training and knowledge I could be assisting other departments such as receiving, packaging, picking, quality control, or helping on the raymond reach.
Pros
Great health benefits, Pension, Vacation.
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON21 January 2013
I enjoyed working with my co-worker in team role enviroment
Pros
buying books for next to nothing
Cons
heavy heavy labour
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Fellow co-workers and BBQ
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON21 January 2013
My fellow co-workers and the most benfit I got from work was pay and benfit.
Pros
benfits of buying books for next to nothing
Cons
very very heavy labour
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Belle entreprise
Directeur Marketing (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 December 2017
J'ai vécu de belles années chez Pearson. Les produits sont de grande qualité.
Pros
Équipe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Pearson reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pearson. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,515 reviews
5503
4489
3345
2111
167

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture