PCL Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional place to work
Foreman/ General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Alberta12 February 2018
Loved working for PCL. Well organised and professionally run company. I always felt appreciated and treated with respect. The work was always interesting and challenging
Pros
Good pay and benifits
Cons
Living away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Electrical Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Edmonton6 February 2018
lots of good people to work with, too much management. the covered costs got to be high so they had to layoff a lot of staff employees. I would go back if the called me in the future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Notch
Energy (Pipefitter/Steamfitter) (Current Employee) –  Fort Hills, AB29 January 2018
well safety culture, good atmosphere, pleasant people to work with
enjoy working with a great bunch of guys, looking forward to working with them all again soon
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place ever
Worker (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK23 January 2018
You are cattle to this company, no matter how hard you work or your knowledge of your job , if you are not willing to be dominated and pushed to do things unsafely to make them more money, you get passed along. The experience I had with this company was awful and Im sorry i wasted years of my life there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a overall great company i feel to work for
journyman scaffolder (Former Employee) –  shell Scottford alberta10 January 2018
was with this company only for about 6 months the biggest mistake I made overall. even though the workers themselves was great to work with when it can to management or overall work culture if wasn't the best experience. management was very demanding use threatening techniques to get work done and they always had a push to get things done regardless of the safety aspect of the overall job. I personally wouldn't recommend this company to anyone
Pros
workers, pay
Cons
overall atmospher and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
met some really good people
Pipefitter - Lead Hand (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB8 January 2018
excellent company to work for met alot of good friends , very focused on safety and your not rushed to do high risk work , you are given the sufficient tools for the job
Pros
good pay and good benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
efficient and effective
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB15 December 2017
I have enjoyed working for PCL. I have worked with a great team with a strong work ethics and I was able to gain more knowledge and grow as an electrician. The management were amazing as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well its a job
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB7 December 2017
Very disorganized. Pay is good. Zero job security. LOA's are hard to come by if you do get one they cancel it. Over crowded lunch rooms that are full of abandoned used PPE
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to work
Journeyman (Current Employee) –  Fort Hils2 November 2017
It's only been a few months since I started here. Hard to give you a real review on anything concrete about the company. My crew is good but that does not reflect upper management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lead Hand Labour
Lead Hand Labour (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 October 2017
My typical day at work was participate in the pre-construction conference when possible to familiarize himself with the job peculiarities and offer practical advice pertaining to the various project schedules and budgets.

I learned how to organize, direct, and request the proper equipment needed for timely project completion.

For management, I determined and recommended changes in methods, schedules, and procedures and improved where necessary for all employers. Also, I ensured proper paper flow to and from the office.

The most enjoyable part of that job was maintain a close working relationship with the Supervisor to ensure proper delegation of responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pays the bills
Welding Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Redwater, AB23 September 2017
not a great company but the quality of the tools end equipment were above average and there was no shortage. there was never an issue with pay checks but some of the supervision was not very experienced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Structural Welder (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB5 September 2017
worked for 18 months at Surmont 2, great company and safety incentives. despite being in camp and away from family, it was a good project to be a part of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible atmoshere
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 August 2017
Absolutely the worst company to work for .This company does not want thinkers ,they want robots , they thrive on finding ways to reprimand employees . They do not manage and coach employees even though they like to say that they do , they dictate and punish with pleasure . I quit this place after two years of unhappiness without finding another job . I know that sounds crazy , but it really is life sucking atmosphere ,
Pros
its a pay check
Cons
too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good overall work experience
Ironworker/Foreman (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB6 June 2017
A good overall work experience at PCL

-fair, knowledgeable and qualified supervision for the most part
-good overall working conditions
-good coworkers at the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB30 May 2017
PCLis a good place to come make money and leave it isn't a great place to rise up as there is just to many people its an old boys club with union and non-union ties
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alight company to work for.
Carpenter (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 May 2017
Treats workers alright need to do better at paying more. Need to learn more about worker culture and spend time working with new people. I would work here still but.....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Carpenter Apprentice Level 1 (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 May 2017
PCL has numerous career streams. Whether you are looking for a corporate or a construction career, exciting opportunities are waiting for you at the PCL family of companies.

Within both PCL's corporate offices and construction operations, your career with PCL will give you an opportunity for growth and advancement. For more information on a particular career path, click on the career paths below.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profitable
Journeyman Welder (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB28 April 2017
Hired out of union hall, No Questions asked. All i wanted was a fair chance at work and was given it. Everything was great until I was given flights home on my days off that seen me get home a day later. I was only one province over and guys on the east coast were getting home before me
Pros
Flights
Cons
Overnighters in Calgary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Night Shift Foreman (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB24 April 2017
good place to , good people there as well , would work for them in the future if given the opportunity and on the next project as well .room to advance as well
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good Work
Pipefitter Foreman (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB20 April 2017
Definently production driven, enjoyed the work. 7-10's camp job with flights, would work with them again. treated everyone with respect, good safety culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report

See more PCL reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PCL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 56 reviews
511
420
316
24
15

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture