PCL Employee Reviews

Found 33 reviews matching the search See all 84 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hi
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 December 2018
Another great company to work for with oppurtunities to grow and class act management. Great teamwork and made many of friends there during my time with them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is work
Year Industrial Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 November 2018
I'm going to leave the review as no comment... work is work, you will have good times and bad times, just take each day one at a time and make the best of it all. try to have fun and learn as much as you can and never stop working!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe work environment
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 November 2018
A typical day would consist of cable pull for the first bit then gland and terminate.

I learned working with this company was to be more independent worker.

the hardest part of the job was the long work weeks near the end of the job but that goes for any project.

The most enjoyable part of the job was to learn new parts of the trade as I went.
Pros
Good pay / good crew
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to work for
welder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 November 2018
Ive worked for PCL a few times over the years and liked working for them.. their management can be tough on their employees but they also expect a little more out of their tradesmen than the average company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with
Instrumentation Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB3 October 2018
It was very enjoyable construction job at Fort hills with Suncor.
Cutting and grinding aluminum slotted stud and ready rod, using file to make the smooth edges and spray with galvanizing paint to make sandwich brackets.
Use Hilti drill to make hole in the concrete to install stands
Install stand and heat detector on the pump in cwa 07 building in secondary extraction.
Install gas detector on the stands in cwa06 building in secondary extraction.
Install pressure gauges with coupling and nipples outside of the building of area 02 in secondary extraction.
Install flanges, gasket, bleed ring and torquing bolts with sequence (15372648) to achieve required torque in the bolts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place to work
Year Electrical Apprentice Edmonton (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 August 2018
PCL - People Come Last

I've worked my fair share of construction, and some jobs are better than others. But PCL is by far the worst. They don't treat their guys well.
Cons
everyone walk around with two faces
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of work, little time
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Redwater, AB13 June 2018
constant layoffs and small hirings, you see so many people come and go in a short amount of time it definitely makes you think about how secure your employment status really is
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Steamfitter Pipefitter-Foreman (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 June 2018
great place to work. lots of hours provided. general meetings to stay up to date. most enjoyable was the people I worked with and the support when needed
Pros
lots of work
Cons
short staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company with quality
Scaffolding Foreman / Inspector (Former Employee) –  NWR16 May 2018
Always looking for quality in workmanship and leadership!
willing to train their workers and promote to management.
Culture of the jobs are good and always willing to listen for improvements
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
ELECTRICIAN (Former Employee) –  Redwater, AB16 April 2018
never have nothing wrong to say about this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Estimator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 April 2018
One of the best managers that I have had the pleasure of working for. Senior Management was very welcoming and friendly to everyone. I enjoyed going to work every day.
Pros
Great Place and awesome benefits
Cons
Not many
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company itself is decent
Electrician Lead Hand (Current Employee) –  Fort McKay, AB18 February 2018
There are plenty of chances to learn, succeed and be promoted into new and more challenging positions. Company is generally willing to help you get the tickets you need to be successful in your chosen field. Company management tries to find ways to keep the craft working and making money, even if it's not their chosen trade (without forcing people who didn't want to stay).
Pros
Job Longevity
Cons
Large Company Feel
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional place to work
Foreman/ General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Alberta12 February 2018
Loved working for PCL. Well organised and professionally run company. I always felt appreciated and treated with respect. The work was always interesting and challenging
Pros
Good pay and benifits
Cons
Living away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Electrical Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Edmonton6 February 2018
lots of good people to work with, too much management. the covered costs got to be high so they had to layoff a lot of staff employees. I would go back if the called me in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Notch
Energy (Pipefitter/Steamfitter) (Current Employee) –  Fort Hills, AB29 January 2018
well safety culture, good atmosphere, pleasant people to work with
enjoy working with a great bunch of guys, looking forward to working with them all again soon
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place ever
Worker (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK23 January 2018
You are cattle to this company, no matter how hard you work or your knowledge of your job , if you are not willing to be dominated and pushed to do things unsafely to make them more money, you get passed along. The experience I had with this company was awful and Im sorry i wasted years of my life there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a overall great company i feel to work for
journyman scaffolder (Former Employee) –  shell Scottford alberta10 January 2018
was with this company only for about 6 months the biggest mistake I made overall. even though the workers themselves was great to work with when it can to management or overall work culture if wasn't the best experience. management was very demanding use threatening techniques to get work done and they always had a push to get things done regardless of the safety aspect of the overall job. I personally wouldn't recommend this company to anyone
Pros
workers, pay
Cons
overall atmospher and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
met some really good people
Pipefitter - Lead Hand (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB8 January 2018
excellent company to work for met alot of good friends , very focused on safety and your not rushed to do high risk work , you are given the sufficient tools for the job
Pros
good pay and good benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
efficient and effective
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB15 December 2017
I have enjoyed working for PCL. I have worked with a great team with a strong work ethics and I was able to gain more knowledge and grow as an electrician. The management were amazing as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well its a job
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB7 December 2017
Very disorganized. Pay is good. Zero job security. LOA's are hard to come by if you do get one they cancel it. Over crowded lunch rooms that are full of abandoned used PPE
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PCL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 84 reviews
519
428
320
28
19

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture