PCL Construction Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Apprentice Electrician/Welder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 May 2018
very good company to work for, well managed and very secure towards safety. I really y enjoyed working for PCL and looking forward to work for them in the future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs major Improvement
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 April 2018
I want to say way more and way less but unfortunately the review has to be a certain number before it'll let me move on PCL stands for people come last
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work area , full of great people and experiences
Solution Delivery Student (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 April 2018
Excellent company to work with to gain experience with many people who are veterans in the field. The climate was welcoming and the work was rewarding. Would love to work for them again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Fort Mackay, AB9 April 2018
I really enjoyed my time with PCL Energy. They let me progress as an electrician by allowing me to challenge my self with some difficult tasks. The people I worked with were all amazing.
Pros
Great company, great leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Employee (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 April 2018
Worked with some great people. For such a large company it operates as a very tight knit family. Interesting atmosphere where you will be challenged.
Pros
Many Team Building Opportunities
Cons
Hard to get into inner circle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair place to work
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 March 2018
A huge company focused on commercial and high rise with minor civil. Branches all over North America, mostly successful and recognised in Canada.
Good for starting construction career and juniors , and those who come in at high levels. Confused for mid career employees and no clear start up point on contract (clarify before signing).
Mostly outsourced projects with minor selfperform job.
No appreciation for skill set gained outside of PCL. Everything should be achieved internally to be recognized including designations and trainings, unless you have the backup in executive team. So, if you are at mid career and/or with diverse background, you need to be very very patient for growth as you will see less experienced less educated (if any) employees raise based on their PCL years/network and you are left for at least first few years, no matter how good you perform.
You will see some nice old people very welcoming, as well as few rude young ones who barely willing to talk. Is there a generation change as a result of hiring?! Not sure.
Pros
Free lunch and coffee, training facilities, It
Cons
Stereotype
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Quality Control Administrator (Former Employee) –  Wood Buffalo, AB10 March 2018
It is a high stress, fast paced environment. The most enjoyable is the great people you meet and create friendships with. With working away from your family, this is very important. We normally say "Our family away from our families"
Pros
Uplift on Project Sites
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continuous pressure to finish
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Alberta8 March 2018
At the Ft. Hills project there was a lot of pressure to finish. There is a safe work culture but there was a continuous pressure from the client to finish.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Carpenter/Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB20 February 2018
Got a lot done in a safe and fun atmosphere. Management was excellent good leadership skills. always enjoyed going back to work.....i enjoyed the work schedule .
Pros
good wages
Cons
camp
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for.
Shuttering Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, canada20 February 2018
they had your best entrees at all time , working over time was optional.
lean construction was a big deal for them and waste control.
there was a good atmosphere at work and every body worked well together

.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"B" Welder,SteamFitter/PipeFitter
B-Pressure welder/Pipe fitter (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB7 February 2018
i as a "B" pressure Welder, doing TIG,MIG.FLUX CORE, CWB. SMAW,GMAW,STT. MAX/S/S. gauging cutting, tacking, welding, measuring, and i have more welding tickets, plus as a PipeFitter, fitting pipe and fitting,
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For the scope of the job all in all was fairly organized
Red seal journeyman carpenter (Former Employee) –  Minnedosa, MB4 February 2018
I had a good experience with Pcl
I was new and layoffs were expected at end of the project
Like every job there were some glitches with subs and material some could have been avoided and others could not
Pros
Safe work experience, family oriented
Cons
Work order changed kept delaying decision which gets frustrating but part of large company process
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and great group of people
CARPENTER-Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 February 2018
I have thoroughly enjoyed my time with PCL. I moved from a labourer to an apprentice carpenter position. I am grateful for that opportunity and everything I have learned during my tenure with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically and intellectually demanding work with great incentives
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Redwater, AB26 January 2018
A typical day at a PCL site centers around a solid safety culture, no one is asked to perform tasks in a dangerous way. The management is supportive and excels at enabling workers to achieve their potential. The hardest part of any construction job in a refinery setting will always be doing the work safely while still remaining productive; though these challenges are presented to many companies, I can say with certainty that no company deals with adversity the way PCL does.
Pros
Opportunities to demonstrate valuable skills and abilities
Cons
Physically demanding, exposure to the elements
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work with lots of opportunity for advancement
Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 January 2018
A typical day at PCL is fast paced, exciting and full of new challenges. The employees at PCL really care for the business and take the right steps to present PCL in a positive manor.
Pros
Job advancement
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my first choice to work but when offered work I take it
Journeyman Pipefitter (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB20 January 2018
PCL is always looking for people to advance within the company which is great but I have found that the deadlines they have to meet are very strict. PCL should start doing competency testing for all trades hired, there is always lots of rework
Pros
Not hard to get into supevision positions, competetitive wages
Cons
Hard to plan more than 3 days ahead, Constant changes in work scope, No competency testing for many trades
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from PCL Construction
22 April 2018

Thanks for your review! Please feel free to share any suggestions you may have by contacting us at indeed@pcl.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Laborer /Finisher (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 January 2018
Great place to work, the pay is really good, your treated well. Room for advancement within the company. Work hard and it will pay off, great work environment.
Pros
The pay, the people, the environment
Cons
Not much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from PCL Construction
22 April 2018

Thank you for the review! It's great to hear that you are enjoying your time at PCL.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pcl
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 January 2018
- Excellent long term company
- Excellent project
- Long hours
- Pay is low, but stocks is good
- Hard to move up
- need better training
- Do not see management too much
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from PCL Construction
22 April 2018

Thanks for your review! We're glad you were given the opportunity to work on a great project. Please feel free to share feedback on your experiences with hours, career advancement, and training at indeed@pcl.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best organization to work for!
District HSE Manager - Southern Alberta (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 January 2018
My time at PCL was one of the best experiences I have had over my entire career. The company supported my goals and family. It was a family atmosphere, that encourage individuals to grow and prosper within the organization.
Pros
People
Cons
Growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Official response from PCL Construction
22 April 2018

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you chose to spend your career with PCL. All the best!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
atypical day at work
Carpenter / Formwork Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Carpenter, SK3 January 2018
they mostly give you all tools and equipment you need to finish your job.
adapting to new ways to finish your job can be painfull hard.
the care towards there workforce should be higher.
Pros
good team
Cons
dont get hurt on the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PCL Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 462 reviews
5156
4170
382
231
123

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture