Patterson-UTI Drilling Company LLC Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 573 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn multiple useful skills for the real world and make good money
Motorman (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB3 April 2018
If you would like to learn many different useful skills in maintenance and drilling operations and earn a great living, this is a job for you. Great benefits and RRSP matching contributions.
Pros
Gain useful mechanical skills
Cons
labor intensive for green hands
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Roughneck (Former Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC15 February 2018
Patterson hired me as a green hand and the drillers, Derrick hand, motor hand and roughnecks taught me all the safety rules about rigging. Would work their again
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for.
Drilling rigs (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB13 September 2017
Patterson Uti Drilling is a good company to work for. Rigs are usually steady with not much down time. Always room for advancement and moving up on the rig
Pros
Steady work
Cons
oil and gas prices
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good safe well run company
Motor Hand, floor hand (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB28 March 2017
Nice quality diesel electric triple drilling rigs. Safety culture unmatched. Really well organized mangement. Small family culture makes you feel like you are well taken care of.
Pros
safety culture
Cons
lack of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Derrick Hand (Current Employee) –  Across Canada22 March 2017
This is a great company to work for, but as a Rig Technician I couldn't be guaranteed steady work and was always in a different location. I love the company and believe anyone would enjoy working for them!
Pros
The work environment is a great network of individuals that are like family.
Cons
Being away from 2-8 weeks at a time and not knowing if you'll have work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working on Pattereson Rig 24
Roughneck (Former Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC13 October 2016
I liked working on Patterson rig 24 being a roughneck and llike to do it again on another rig some where else. I liked being out in the field and making a living for myself and family. it gave me new experiences in the field, I've worked in the field moving rigs for years swamping on a bed trucks and picker trucks even on them big trucks called commanders. I started as a leasehand for a couple months and made my way up to be9ing a roughneck which got to be more interesting cause the work was more to my taste which is always keeping busy and always moving.
Pros
I was always working out in the field
Cons
Didnt complain about anything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best job i had
motor hand (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 August 2016
it was one of the longest jobs i ever had in my life. i enjoyed doing what i did. Had to always be safe. They made us take courses, to get our certificates. To make sure that we were competent at what we did for work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours great pay no more work.
Roughneck/ Floorhand (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB12 April 2016
great work long hours and great pay. no more work because the price of oil is down and wont see a rig for a while. nothing that will change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB9 April 2016
Working on rig floor
tripping in and out of the hole (making or breaking sections of drill pipe)
Taking Samples for geologist
cleaning and repairing equipment on site
Working at heights and in confined spaces
Pros
Great wages
Cons
Away from home for long periods of time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Relief Rig Manager (Current Employee) –  Nisku, AB13 November 2015
I have worked for Patterson-UTI for going on 12 years and have everything about the drilling industr. They have a great culture of safety and the men that work for them are the best at what they do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very hard worker and eager to learn. i am looking for a carrer and would love to become a major asset to a company.
Roughneck (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB18 February 2015
various job duties including cleaning and racking pipe ,tripping in and out of the whole, using chain tongs and normal tongs to tighten up the connection before drilling further.. always working and keeping busy.
Pros
hot lunches
Cons
camp work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for and many great people to work with
Derrickhand (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB16 December 2013
A typical work schedule is 14 days on and 7 days off with first week working days 7am to 7pm, second week working nights 7pm to 7am. Learned how to maintain equipment (machinery) learned how to drill down hole knowing the dangers and how to fix them always had great coworkers and hardest part of job was probably working extended periods outside at heights in the Freezing cold weather. But loved my week of with time to do everything i needed.
Pros
Great Money
Cons
Being away from Home for extended periods of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well payed, long hard hours, away from home
Rig Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 November 2013
Managed two six men crews, on a 12hr shift
Maintance and upkeep of rig, and rig equipment
Coordinated service crews
Learned alot about mechanical and electrical, people skils and dealing with problems and high levels of stress.
The hardest part of the job was the hours, being the rig manager i was on call 24hr, and stationed at the rig for days.
The most enjoyable part of the job, was feeling of accomplishment when machinary and people worked in perfect harmony and completed task and finished projects.
Pros
Great pay, and benefits
Cons
Long hard hours, away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Roughneck (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB27 September 2013
Great job, great money, lots of time off after 2 weeks work 1 week of to relax, travel, and basically anything else.
Pros
week off
Cons
working out in all weather conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management
Derrickhand (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON11 September 2013
a typical day involved maintaining mud and working the board. keep mud pumps running and shakers shaking. good place to advance
Pros
camp on location
Cons
hard to get hired on
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain accounting experience
Controller (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 October 2012
Able to apply accounting knowledge and expertise and gain extensive knowledge with Oracle software
Pros
good environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Patterson-UTI Drilling Company LLC reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Patterson-UTI Drilling Company LLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 573 reviews
5218
4198
3105
227
125

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Patterson-UTI Drilling Company LLC Reviews by Job Title

Patterson-UTI Drilling Company LLC Reviews by Location