Patriot Forge Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectable employer
Manual Machinist (Lathe) (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON6 February 2019
I worked here as a manual machinist until a massive layoff a few years ago. My supervisor was excellent, fair, and knowledgeable. Very professional guy. Pay was not great, and rotating shifts were hard to adjust to.
Pros
professional environment, well organized and co-ordinated
Cons
pay was on the low end of average, rotating shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
CNC Set-up Technician (Former Employee) –  Paris, ON16 November 2018
Managment is terrible. supervisor is an a-hole just a terrible place to work.
lay offs like crazy, they do not provide fans or anything In the summer time. so very hot.
Pros
none
Cons
lay off
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manual machinist
General Machinist (Former Employee) –  Paris, ON8 October 2018
Excellent place to work good co workers n good management work is steady lots of overtime you work two shifts days and afternoons so you can arrange appointments for different things easier this way
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working experience
Trepan Operator (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON10 October 2017
Patriot was an amazing place to be employed for many reasons. The Salary was great, the Supervisors were great. The working environment was not suitable to me due to the oils and greases which aggravated my skin.
Pros
Wages, experience
Cons
Oils and Heat
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON22 May 2017
I enjoyed my time at Patriot Forge, as it is a massive steel plant in the steel industry. I learned a lot of good skills during my employment with Patriot Forge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place wit ups and downs
Maintenance Supervisor/Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON30 April 2017
Left here in a huff after a bad manager. Really was short sighted...grass is greener on the other side of the fence....not so much. I made some amazing friendships and had some great experiences.
Got to work on fantastic projects, travelled, met allot of great people.
Had great people to work with...
A couple of bad managers changed everything...

Miss working with the best team one could ask for.

Great social environment...

okay I'm getting moist
Pros
great pay, fun people, amazing BBQ's
Cons
heat, noise, hot steel
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
General Labourer (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON5 January 2017
Good place to work, all my co-workers are friendly and helpful. I have learned and continue to learn many skills. Management is organized and shows good leadership
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Sometimes gets hot during the summer
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Paris, ON8 December 2016
Worked there for many years and regrettably decided grass was greener on the other side of the fence. Missed the best team I have ever had the pleasure of working with. Supervision will always roll up their sleeves and pitch in if needed.
Pros
good benefits, team environment, great facilities
Cons
Communication, clarity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people to work with
General Labour (Former Employee) –  Paris, ON2 June 2016
I would get to work and punch in, head to the locker room get dressed and head to the floor. the people i worked with were easy to get along with and helped each other out.
The hardest part of the job would be the heat during hot days in the summer
The most enjoyable part of the job was when they had lunches/ get together for the staff.
Pros
great hours
Cons
hot weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forge
Process Technician - layoff (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON25 April 2016
Learned new processes of raw forgings and how they are produced. Also about the metallurgy that is involved to produce the product.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was work
Lathe Programmer Operator (Former Employee) –  Paris, ON29 January 2016
Went to work did my job went home. Typical Job. Great guys to work with. Shift Switch every 2 weeks was tough but enjoyed the 4 10s on afternoons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Numbers company
Plant Manager (Current Employee) –  Brantford, Ontario3 October 2015
Can be more focused on the bottom line than on customer satisfaction, this is just a recent change with new management being hired.
Pros
Good salary and benefites
Cons
unsure of the future
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Heat treat department (Former Employee) –  Paris, ON25 May 2015
Heat treated and training on all aspects of the job .I took the job with some of my steel knowledge from a previous job. I would still be there but was laid off
Pros
not a job where you are being told what to do by formans or managers make your oun desitions
Cons
not many I addapt to jobs easily
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work with
Saw Operator (Former Employee) –  brantford ontario1 February 2015
The job there was very challenging. The expectation was production shipping trouble shooting. A lot to handle and a lot of multitasking was required for that job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Brantford,ontario8 April 2014
Management was good. machine operators were friendly. learned many things about the forging process
Pros
worked 4-10hr shifts.
Cons
sometimes really dirty enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good steady workplace
cnc machinist (Current Employee) –  paris ON22 February 2014
great co workers, no complaints
days and afternoons
no weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent co-workers in a semi productive enviroment.
Saw Operator (Current Employee) –  Brantford Ontario25 March 2013
-either 10 hrs running 5 saws or material handling, sometimes both.
-learned alot about blueprint reading.
management is one of the most important aspects of a job. with out the proper leadership workers spent too much time running in circles and getting nothing done or having to redo work.
-i've always had great co-workers, they can't be faulted for managements lack of direction.
-hardest part of the job is trying to apply yourself and learn something new....just dosn't seem to work here.
-at the end of the day seeing all the production you managed to get done even with the lack of organization of the department.
Pros
close to home
Cons
pay and lack of overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Patriot Forge. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 18 reviews
55
47
33
22
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Patriot Forge Reviews by Location