Paramount Properties Employee Reviews

Found 15 reviews matching the search See all 20 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not recommended
Rental Agent (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 June 2019
I could not have gotten out of that job fast enough. If you are applying for a job here and looking at the reviews, please trust them. The apartments are run down, management doesn't care as long as they are making money. Tenants will yell at you relentlessly and management will do nothing to help you. There is no appreciation or praise from management, even if you rent 20 apartments in under a week. You get away with a ton, but don't expect a thank you at any point. Expect to work on every 1st of the month, even if its a weekend or a statutory holiday. They consistently have jobs posted because turnover is that high, don't expect a permanent placement for at least 3 months or until someone else has had enough and quits. Don't waste your time, find another job.
Pros
rate of pay
Cons
no job security, angry tenants, bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just don't
Head Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 May 2019
Unless you like being overworked and undervalued, don't bother. They expect full tradesmen level work for slightly above minimum wage. The management is happy to micro-manage every aspect of your day-to-day, while gleefully admitting to knowing nothing about what you do.
Pros
Live on site
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i don't want to write a review
Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 April 2019
but it seems mandatory and now i have to make it to 150 characters just to continue on with the job application process. you ever get sick of job hunting? i do....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry level position
Property Administrator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 February 2019
Nice place to work if you're starting off in property management. Not a good place to stay long term. Management micro-manages everything you do. They dont take you seriously.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day
Rental Consultant/Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 December 2018
not a lot of praise or thanks for all of the work done. Even if you get a promotion your pay stays the same, but you get alot of extra duties. alot of phone calls from the owners with why the rentals are still available, alwways expected before the end of the month to have everything rented. they due back to back move ins, so when a new tennant moves in, the apartment is not fully move in ready...like painting, cleaning, and floors
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Went for interview and was completely appalled by behavior.
Interview Candidate (Former Employee) –  Elgin Street, Ottawa17 May 2018
I went for an interview in May 2017. I showed up 10 minutes early but the interview started 20 minutes after my scheduled time. When I was brought into the boardroom, one of the panelists didn't even show up. I was then told (by the President I might add...) I have no work experience or education multiple times. This is completely false (check my resume!). They also asked for my SIN which is ILLEGAL and should not be asked for until you are actually being hired by the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad work enviroment
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  1435 Prince of wales26 April 2018
No support for staff, and very little consideration. Very high employee turn over. Not willing to improve working conditions. They make the job harder then it has to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for
Live In Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 April 2018
Was provide proper training, but was expected to do everything very fast and didn’t care if it was done right. The office staff are horrible people to work for and the site manager is worse. Because she is a woman is feels like she needs to have something to prove. Long hours, only given negative comments and never any praise for a job well done.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not supportive of staff
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  1435 Prince of Wales12 March 2018
I was very difficult to work for this company as they don't support there staff. I took care of 325 apartments with very little help. They alos have a terrible consideration for tenants. I worked there three years and management was never open to suggestions on how to be more cost effective.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sketchy
Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 January 2018
Micromanagement is an understatement.
Very cold atmosphere
If you get placed with the wrong manager, prepare for stress and lack of job security..
Pros
Good temporary job
Cons
No Job security, if you are not apart of the “cliq” chances are you won’t last.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paramount
Building Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 February 2017
a little bit cheap on equiment. except for that regular low paying jobs.
there are different jobs from cleaner to painter and building superintendent. some building have more administrators ( people working in the office) then people actually doing the jobs on the ground.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to excel
Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 June 2016
typical day was to inspect building check , train staff and ensure all Tenants were taking care of coming and going.
Management was a bit scatterbrain in not knowing their direction or it changed daily.
Dealing with the multiple personalities and individuals in the building.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company
Hotel Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa30 January 2016
Paramount is really a temporary working environment. This company will take everything and give you very little. The family who runs this company micro manages everything and really has no intention of really developing you. The turn over is very high and if you have an opportunity to join another firm please strongly consider your options. Good Luck
Pros
Easy to get hired
Cons
You will not want to stay for long
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of interesting work, stay away from west end buildings
Building Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 May 2014
Paramount as a whole seems like a good company, except in certain buildings run by one particular manager. She has fired 10 supers in 3 years, most without any good reason at all, and ALL current employees are requesting transfers or looking for new jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 97No 6Report

See more Paramount Properties reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Paramount Properties. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.0
Based on 20 reviews
52
40
34
24
110

Ratings by category

2.1Work/Life Balance
2.1Salary/Benefits
1.6Job Security/Advancement
1.7Management
1.6Culture

Paramount Properties Reviews by Location