Paramount Fine Foods Management reviews

Found 36 reviews matching the search See all 79 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where you can start your career and get some more hours
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON1 March 2017
Working as supervisor at the Paramount Fine Foods gave me an elevated experience of handling a staff, daily operations and food production. Also I learned the ordering procedure, inventory management with help of my superiors.
Pros
Flexible timings
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work
Baker/line chef/kitchen (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 February 2017
Other workers are nice and good to work with, management needs a lot of improvement, they need to stop being so cheap and pay should be more on time, okay place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredibly fast paced work environment, however management was rude
Front Staff (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON18 December 2016
I had issues here from the beginning when I noticed the disorganization and disrespect from all of the managers and head chefs to their employees. I ended up leaving because of an assault from one of my managers... Do not recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with a lot of opportunity to learn and grow.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON17 September 2016
A typical day at work includes providing exceptional customer service to all guests. I've learned and continue to learn new skills. Management is high top, flexible as well as knowledgeable. Co-workers are excellent, helpful as well as fun to work with. The most enjoyable part of the job is the thank you, you will recieve from guests, co-workers and management to show their appreciation of your hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Team Leader, customer service (Current Employee) –  London, ON16 September 2016
the workplace was very organized. Great Management . Food was very healthy and clean,
gained a great experience with customer service and able to solve problems in a positive manners
Pros
free lunches, good hours
Cons
sometimes under staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 July 2016
Paramount is the worst place to work, manger is a micromanager, always talks down to employees, makes staff do a million different things and yells if some of the work did not get done, is extremely cheap and cares more about money then own staff, has the worst working conditions, and does not give tips on a regular basis, this location is not a sit down restaurant it is an express location. The people I worked with are awesome though, only one of the reasons I could stand to work there for so long.
The manager is also a hypocrite and doesn't respect the customers.
Pros
Free sandwiches, awesome coworkers
Cons
Nagging boss
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only place where you can say see you in h*ll and it's not a insult.
Staff (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 June 2016
They pay you less than minimum, get horrible tips not even worth the effort to wake up in the morning

They regularly break laws and overwork employee's. Don't work here if you want days off, need sick time or vacation the company is not compliant with legal regulations in that regard.

The supervisors are very hands off, as in they don't train and don't actually help in the running of the floor but are suuuuuuuuuper quick to throw staff under a bus to save their own a*s. They power trip super hard and will verbally and mentally abuse you in front of staff and customers, instantly write you up if you try to enforce your employee rights and say it was something else.

Oh yeah and the boss spies on you from his other office, and will constantly call to harrass you about your job. He will come in to the office to yell and scream at you at his pleasure and fire you simply because he wants to make a point to the other staff without following legal rules and regulations in regards to how to properly fire someone.
Pros
The staff are friendly
Cons
Everything not related to the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 June 2016
As good as it looks from the outside its just as worse for employees inside. Too much work for a minimum wage jobs, orders are endless no time to even sit for 2-3 minutes and you get a 15 min break after all the work.
Where I worked the manager was terrible, unless you were a girl who looked good. He'd always be flirting with the female employees and giving them the easier parts while giving the male employees a continuous hard time

Do not work here unless you can handle working under serious pressure
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job teaches how to coordinate and deal with pressure.
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON19 April 2016
A days job at Paramount includes preparing food, cooking food, delivery inspection, inventory inspector and general cleaning. The Management was new and trying to understand the business; did a decent job in putting a good team of workers together.
Pros
Job security if the worker shows promise
Cons
Poor distribution of work among the workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
Personal Driver to CEO/President (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 March 2016
A good company to work for. In the verge of expanding. At the orders of CEO and schedule based on his appointments. Job included not just driving but also taking care of company needs based on his request.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Open ended schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting setup of international cuisine in a Canadian environment
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON10 February 2016
Paramount is a good place to work, but not the best place around!

The management expects the restaurant to be fine dining, but the customers expect something quick and are not looking for such an experience.

There is very less scope of development if you are not of Arab or Middle Eastern origin!

But all in all, there cant be many complaints.
Pros
regular tips
Cons
Less benefits in terms of insurance and incentives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun job
Team leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 October 2015
a very good job. friendly crew.. good team.. good management.. great hours.. good pay.. you can learn a lot here.. would totally work here again.. hood pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Summary
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke21 August 2015
My time here as an Executive Assistant has been very informative- opened my eyes as to what it takes to grow a restaurant and begin the process of franchising.

A typical day would usually start at our head office, followed by meetings in and out of office. Meetings range from construction, food testing, franchising, visiting our corporate locations etc.

We finish at the office around 5-5:30pm and then head to our main corporate restaurant to finish off the evening. Some evenings include events, fundraisers or business dinners.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable workplace.
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 April 2015
The best place to work so professional and best food. The policies and procedures are very strict. I have gained a knowledge about the cuisine and culture and management like how to lead the team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people .
Prep-Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 July 2014
A Typical day at work starts by setting up the line and doing some prep work , then waiting for the lunch rush to start . I learned more than knife skills at paramount. i learned self discipline and patience.
The co-workers i worked with felt like family and everyone always helped one another. The job barely had any hard parts. It is when it is really busy and a manager comes to give you destructive criticism for having a plate 3-4 mins late. the most enjoyable part about the job was working with the people and having it be an open kitchen concept where it was easy to talk to the guests and make sure they left happy
Pros
free food
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Paramount Fine Foods reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Paramount Fine Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 79 reviews
521
424
316
210
18

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.7Culture