Paragon Security Employee Reviews

Found 195 reviews matching the search See all 206 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience and knowledge learning
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 October 2018
I had a good experience at paragon security. I was there for a few years. I recieved my first security job with paragon. They are a good company, but i feel like theres no place to grow or move up with that company. Its a good experience when your first looking for a job to gain experience, but not when your trying to move up with them for a better position.
Pros
good employees
Cons
no chance to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paragon Security
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 October 2018
A day:

Low pay, mediocre benefits, a union that can be good or bad or nothing at all. Abuse from clients and people, don't be surprised in this field.
Pros
Co-Worker (Sometimes)
Cons
Low pay. mediocer benifits, abusive people and work environments sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they are ok
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON1 October 2018
paragon is ok, however i dont know what els to say, they are just ok in their work, i really dont know what els to say, other then life is ok with paragon
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheap Security Company
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Diffirent locations through GTA26 September 2018
This company is a good staring company as you begin your journey withing security field as they hire you right the way. They charge WAY TOO much for their uniform that will need fixing or replacement withing month or two(cheap). So they make money even before you start as you sign papers with them. The pros is that they have good training classes and O.K- HR department, but the other things such. The other things such as to provide you better pay after probation and giving a reasonable distance to travel from your home to work as they always give you the furthest location possible. Training is good paycheck and job security is not as they can fire you if you are sick for more then 3 days or always late within your probation period which is make sense. My rate is 3/5 Stars.
Pros
PROS are good training and HR.
Cons
CONS : bad locations, poor personnel change, poor uniform quality(expensive).
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Niagara, ON24 September 2018
Great management, workers and atmosphere. always a great time going into work. everyone is treated fairly with respect and the team always works together to get the job done
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Site Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON17 September 2018
Great company to start security with. provides training and support to staff. Slightly disorganized in scheduling but it is common in security. Constantly changing schedules can be hard to keep up with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its good
Assisting people (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 September 2018
The company its good, providing a detail how to work as a security guard and how to assist people and the management always looking out and reliable so far.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Sometimes they mess your payment but its rare
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON2 September 2018
they send you to sites as long as you can drive to them even if it is a hour away and the supervisers need a additude check love to boss you around and talk down to you much like the beginning of the movie Full Metal Jacket
Pros
long hours
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Management
Client Service Manager / Locating Commissioner (Current Employee) –  North York, ON31 August 2018
Very happy to be part of this team. Having had roles that were largely unsupported, this is a very refreshing change.
The teams are skilled in their fields and everyone displays the same mindset.
Having defined roles and clear expectations leave little room for ambiguity. That in turn then leads to successful teams.
Pros
Supported completely, Sr Management believe in employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON26 August 2018
Working there was okay, as work itself wasn't bad, but the pay sucked as they only paid minimum with very fewer opportunities for advancement. Overall experience was average.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doesn't Get Any Better
Security Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 August 2018
I previously worked for 2 other well-known security companies in Toronto and I must say, Paragon is definitely nothing I have experienced before. It's well organized, management is always very helpful and responsive, the pay is well above the average and they have most of the high-end sites in Toronto. I honestly wish I joined Paragon earlier.
Pros
Pay, nice sites, good management
Cons
You have to pay for uniforms
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people but terrible experience
Shift Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ON16 August 2018
It's a good place to work with lots of nice people, unfortunately the management isn't the greatest and neither is the salary. Nothing happens at the Newmarket Mall so little experience is gained.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Security Specialist for Aviva Canada (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 August 2018
Vastly expanded my knowledge on access control systems and national integration.

Avagilon systems (CCTV) were integrated with C'Cure systems (passcard and alarms) for monitoring across Canada and passcard systems are administered centrally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace/ Busy
Concierge Guard / Condominium (Former Employee) –  Thornhill, ON9 July 2018
Answering phone calls.
Writting security reports.
Patrol of the Building.
Monitoring CCTV Cams.
Emergency Response.
Customer Srvice.
Booking and cancelling Amenities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security guard
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 June 2018
As a security officer i have a responsibility to connect with the people to provide the information they required. organization is huge and it has many postings to serve the clients.
Pros
more number of employees
Cons
nothing to say
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the people i had work with
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 June 2018
They are the few companies I enjoy to work with and they're encourage you to challenge yourself with confidence to grow with the company. They will help you towards promotions. I know if I ever move back to Toronto or if they expanded outside of Toronto area's towards a smaller city's, I would love to work for them again
Pros
Great staff, they do their very best for their employees, they are kinda people that willing to go for the extra mile
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company to work with
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON11 May 2018
A very supportive environment and scheduler to work with. The company would support its employees in every possible manner. This is a company where I would love to work again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistency and Stability
Base-Building Security Officer (Current Employee) –  200 Bay Street10 May 2018
A typical shift for a Paragon Security officer consists of patrol duties as well as being seated at the front desk to monitor CCTV and greet customers/tenants. When necessary, the guards will be required to documents any outstanding activity and/or events. Otherwise, the workplace culture is welcoming and generally efficient.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treated poorly
Security Manager (Former Employee) –  1 adelaide street east25 April 2018
After 11 years i'm thrown into the mud and forced to quit. There is no such thing as a good contract security company.

I worked hard to advance in the company, and do a good job. Management is no where to be found unless you have on site management, problems don't get solved, you're made into a scape goat
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job for students
Concierge/Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Thornhill, ON20 April 2018
It's a good company to work for if you don't have issues with traveling a lot. Very inconsistent placements at times and scheduling can be random. Hard to get a permanent placement if you're a student but the schedulers and other team members are nice and help you out if you just ask. Decent place to work if you're young and looking for experience.
Pros
Approachable people within the company
Cons
Random placements, Far distances to travel, Don't get placed near your own area or a reasonable distance, Not compensated well in terms of wage if they place you far
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Paragon Security. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 206 reviews
543
461
354
220
128

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture