Paragon Security Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace/ Busy
Concierge Guard / Condominium (Former Employee) –  Thornhill, ON9 July 2018
Answering phone calls.
Writting security reports.
Patrol of the Building.
Monitoring CCTV Cams.
Emergency Response.
Customer Srvice.
Booking and cancelling Amenities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security guard
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 June 2018
As a security officer i have a responsibility to connect with the people to provide the information they required. organization is huge and it has many postings to serve the clients.
Pros
more number of employees
Cons
nothing to say
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the people i had work with
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 June 2018
They are the few companies I enjoy to work with and they're encourage you to challenge yourself with confidence to grow with the company. They will help you towards promotions. I know if I ever move back to Toronto or if they expanded outside of Toronto area's towards a smaller city's, I would love to work for them again
Pros
Great staff, they do their very best for their employees, they are kinda people that willing to go for the extra mile
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company to work with
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON11 May 2018
A very supportive environment and scheduler to work with. The company would support its employees in every possible manner. This is a company where I would love to work again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treated poorly
Security Manager (Former Employee) –  1 adelaide street east25 April 2018
After 11 years i'm thrown into the mud and forced to quit. There is no such thing as a good contract security company.

I worked hard to advance in the company, and do a good job. Management is no where to be found unless you have on site management, problems don't get solved, you're made into a scape goat
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job for students
Concierge/Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Thornhill, ON20 April 2018
It's a good company to work for if you don't have issues with traveling a lot. Very inconsistent placements at times and scheduling can be random. Hard to get a permanent placement if you're a student but the schedulers and other team members are nice and help you out if you just ask. Decent place to work if you're young and looking for experience.
Pros
Approachable people within the company
Cons
Random placements, Far distances to travel, Don't get placed near your own area or a reasonable distance, Not compensated well in terms of wage if they place you far
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Front Desk Guard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 April 2018
I really good company overall. It also gave me good experience. The company was really bad at scheduling people the last minute. But I learned a lot and made new friends.
Pros
Well organized
Cons
Bad scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Welland, ON12 April 2018
Only been working for Paragon for a few months but from what I have seen it is a great company. Very fair and the training is fantastic. Management is awesome.
Pros
Room for advancement
Cons
Pay could be a bit more
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and organized
Concierge/Security (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 April 2018
it was nice to work with paragon. Had few issues with the company regarding pay. ( given less hours pay ) The hardest part of the job is to get a hold of company staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Lot of Smoke and Mirrors
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Commerce Court/First Canadian Place23 March 2018
When you first arrive at Head Office Paragon, it looks very professional. However, unless you are selected for a flagship property, you will be working for very low wages and expected to work on a moments notices, is is a good thing if you're not concerned about work life balance and want the overtime. If you are at a flagship property, you will have to continually deal with transient guards with no site training, a low level of personal pride and professionalism and lacking the required equipment. Paragon is always hiring, due to the high turn over, this is usually based on the fact that after a very short while (unless you are new to the country and have little command over the english language) you discover there is something better out there.
Management is liken to used car salesman, lacking in leadership skills but filled with many promises (beware what's really behind the smile).
Advancement within the company is impossible as there is limited room, if you have any skill you will be stuck and remain exactly where there want you, not where you wish to go. If security is an industry you wish to follow, contract security companies are not in your best interest, in-house and municipal positions offer better pay and the respect as a person you deserve. Trust me, you will not find it with this company.
Pros
They offer free cookies while on course
Cons
pretty much everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet many diverse and interesting people.
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 March 2018
Because of the nature of being a security guard posted in downtown Toronto you come up with many different situations. I've had these following situations, on various shifts: bomb scare; suicide attempts; assisting a assault victim; getting rid of a unclothed guy in the adjacent dog park (and this was at 2pm on a Sunday afternoon!). And more...
Pros
Friendly tenants who give gifts.
Cons
Low pay and long shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 February 2018
• Maintain environment by monitoring and setting building and equipment controls
• Prevent losses and damage by reporting irregularities; informing violators of policy and procedures; restraining trespassers
• Maintain organization's stability and reputation by complying with legal requirements
• Contribute to team effort by accomplishing related results as needed
• Provide a friendly environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
paragon
Security Officer Concierge (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 February 2018
Improved communication skills

"Friendly staff and free training"

"They are fantastic at making you feel like you have nothing to worry about now that you have found a good company"


"Low pay, low employee/coworker competence, low skill level job"

"Promise of part time becoming full time but have heard that this does not happen"
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
security
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 February 2018
Deal with contractors on a daily basis.
Exciting because you never know what is going to happen during the shift.
Active Job, balance desk time and on foot.
Dealing with Emergencies and disturbances throughout the shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 hour Nightshift
Full-Time Tactical Division Guard (Former Employee) –  North York, ON25 January 2018
On a usual Night-Shift period, I would clock in and begin my patrols throughout the building, wrote notes and surveillance on cameras. I also continously repeated that throughout the night until noon. I learned to use my time wisely and work with late hours. The hardest part of the job was the late hours and balancing that with my family life but i did what i had to survive. I did enjoy working with other guards and dealing with problems to protect our community.
Pros
Various hours and time period
Cons
night hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Survival Job
Security Mobile Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 January 2018
Paragon is a great company for anyone from student to someone who is almost retired and wants to survive.

However the company does not have enough opportunity and room for growth.
Cons
Too much politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to start
Security Site Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 January 2018
Great way to get training and experience if you are starting off. Not great in the long run, mediocre benefits, no pay raises unless explicitly requested.
Pros
Good starting experience
Cons
Not a long term career company
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible shift
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 December 2017
It was a great experience working with paragon. Being in the industry for about four years, it really does depend on how much you are willing to stay in a industry to BECOME a law enforcement officer. Salary does depend on the site and the team you are under. As long as you're willing to work long and weird hours they've always got a position for you.if you get a good manager/dispatcher.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends
Shift Lead (Current Employee) –  Leslie, ON23 December 2017
Being in the industry for about two years, it really does depend on how much your willing to stay in a industry to BECOME a law enforcement officer. Salary does depend on the site and the team you are under is like a lottery, you may get a good team but maybe with a bad scheduler or a bad team and a blessed scheduler. Take this as a JOB nothing more.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paragon provides good training
Security Officer Mississauga, Brampton, and Barrie (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON22 December 2017
The company is good, but sometimes, it can be a struggle to get a permanent gig.
There is some room for advancement, but I don't know where.
The management is good, but there is little progress as just guard.
Pros
supportive managment
Cons
few hours and low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Paragon Security. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 192 reviews
540
457
350
218
127

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture