Papa John's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
draining mentally abusive work environment
Everything (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 September 2018
this job literally made me go mentally insane the pizza tastes good but the treatment from management made me feel like i was a worthless nobody that cant do anything myself
Pros
good supper
Cons
no compassion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job that comes with some issues
Instore Staff (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON5 September 2018
The manager refused to give paid training, does not give vacation pay, the cleanness of the establishment wasn't its best, the managers were nice and always asking to help which was nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my favorite jobs, and pizza.
Store front Cashier (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON5 September 2018
I really enjoyed this job. The management was incredible and super encouraging about ensuring you were comfortable and learned tasks at your own pace. By the end, I could create and cook customers orders at demand, make the pizza boxes, do orders in person and over the phone virtually at the same time, as well as clean as needed too. I was very nervous about answering customers over the phone, but the manager tested this by calling the store and had me answer it, myself not knowing it was him. Super encouraging! The pizza is also delicious. I love it more than any other pizza.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre work place
Pizza Maker/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB30 August 2018
Personally for me this was not the right job for me. One of the only perks is getting 50% off on all the food and drinks that were made there. Just not the right job for me.
Pros
discount
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a small fun work place close to home
PREP COOK (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 August 2018
hours were good and people were better. only worked there for a short time since i had to move back to Victoria but my time spent there was short but enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Workplace with many work to do.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON13 August 2018
I learned a lot from Papa Johns and I am willing to do better in the future if I get a job. I am currently a student and I did do mistakes but I am sure I can overcome them and work better if get this job.
Cons
Less communication with employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its fun to work and manageable.
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 August 2018
It's hard to be in operation as we dealt of everyone but if you ove your work and the your coworker are supportive and cooperative so that's the reason that our branch were excellent but not perfect. But we should not be affected with some issues from our customers.
Pros
We had a 50% discount of the pizza we order.
Cons
If no sale, we had to cut our time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unprofessionial managment
Pizza Maker/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BC25 July 2018
papa john's was a good first place to work at. although management at this location was not the best. hours were good, but would get asked to come in with no headsup
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Companies should be run by mature, business oriented people, not teenagers.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON23 July 2018
As a delivery driver, I was paid cash under the table. $5 an hour, plus tips and delivery fees. I averaged $17-$20 an hour. Low stress job. Store is run by teenagers. Work environment is not healthy. Franchise owners dont care about their employees. Finally had enough and quit.
Pros
Low stress
Cons
Long hours, low pay, high turn over rate, bad managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal job if you like to make some cash and pizza
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC16 July 2018
Very stable job and would highly recommend it for people who like to work in a fast-paced environment.

Proud to say that the ingredients there are always fresh and the work area is very clean. Staff is very friendly and encouraging, making a busy day very fun and engaging.
Pros
Employee discount of menu items, encouraging management
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A perfect place to learn/earn.
Sales Associate (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  1706 Dundas street west13 July 2018
Since I joined this company, I have learned the skills of working under pressure and how to give an excellent customer service.
I can handle any situation that may arise on the workplace.
Pros
Free Lunch on 8 hour Shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with friendly co workers
Cashier, Pizza Maker (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON24 June 2018
-papa johns was a friendly place to work
-the hours weren't very good but my co workers were friendly
-I enjoyed my time at papa johns
-there was some tough customers but I enjoyed over coming those challenges
Pros
great co workers
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Manager/ Shift supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 June 2018
the company is great but sometimes lacks caring to their employees. they should have benefits to compensate the crazy shifts and stress in food service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in Papa John's is a good experience.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 May 2018
Working in this company for 6 years is a good experience for me. Management are nice and they do help their employee. I am very grateful that I work in this company.
Pros
free meal
Cons
salary and benefits are not enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment and okay managment
Counter/ Kitchen (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB22 May 2018
Overall it wasn't the place for me. There were no breaks but it wasn't very busy most days, poorly done training, and the crew was never very orientated or in the right position provided. On the plus side there was a 50% discount, you pretty much got a break whenever you weren't busy, and the crew members were pretty high spirited with lots of energy.
Pros
50% off pizza
Cons
not enough crew
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviorment
Manager/Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB17 May 2018
Papa John's is a very fun time, from making the pizza to cutting to delivering. This is a nice low stress job in almost any position plus who doesn't love pizza!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They were awful, inconsistent, and uncivil
Store Manager/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 May 2018
I've never been as unsatisfied with how a company is ran then this one. Driving for the company isn't bad but everything else is a waste of your time.
Pros
None
Cons
Low pay, unorganized management, rude customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON6 May 2018
The salary was highly variable due to the way they approached tips. On a bad night, you earned around half of minimum wage, which wasn't worth coming in for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with lovely colleagues and managers
pizza maker/ driver (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC5 May 2018
Nice and small restrauant to run.
I usually work between 4:30 to 8:30pm. The store begins to really busy after 5pm till my shift is off. I learned how to work effenciently under the large presure and avoide to making mistakes.Also, that is the hardest part of the job. Additionally, pay the most pattention to the customers to theri satisfaction.
Pros
Free pizze
Cons
busy dinner rush
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emphasis on TEAM
In-Store Employee (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 April 2018
At the location I worked at, the manager emphasized teamwork and communication. This allowed us to work effectively and collaboratively. I definitely recommend this position for young students, as the manager is very flexible and understanding. It's a positive environment to work in.
Pros
Free staff meals
Cons
Minimal hours for part-timers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Papa John's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 8,045 reviews
52.2K
42.5K
32.1K
2732
1577

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.4Culture