Pacific Western Transportation Employee Reviews

Found 15 reviews matching the search See all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with worst management
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON13 February 2019
The company is good with good sense of safety in mind. But management here is not worth calling a management. Supervisors keep personal grudges and prejudice against certain employees. The safety trainers breaks the safety rules. Its all big talks from big mouths.
Pay scale is good but its not a homely environment.
Pros
Pay scale
Cons
Supervisor's unprofessionalism, office gossiping, untrained persons working as trainers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grate place to work
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Whistler, BC16 November 2018
would love to go back and work with whistler transit was the best company i have ever worked for if i ever had the chance to move back to Whistler and work for them in a heart beat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Positive Place To Work At!!
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, AB19 September 2018
I've been with this company for almost a year. I've never experienced such a supportive and positive work environment.
The management and supervisory roles, are held by two very professional and skilled individuals. Support of staff as well as thorough training, are ongoing.
The staff culture is close, very much like a family, and we are all supportive of one another, particularly in the last 6 months. Any sort of conflict, is easily overcome and worked through.
Job and life balance is excellent, for the most part, and our manager and supervisor, try very hard to ensure that we have that balance.
This company is very flexible, and there is room to advance, both upwardly and laterally.
Excellent place to work!
Pros
Supportive, good atmosphere
Cons
Benefits package could have better coverage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful top management!
Transit Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB9 August 2018
Working with other employees was great. They had a bunch of dedicated people working there. To bad the operations manager is nothing but a power hungry, disrespectful, back stabbing person. They have lost very senior bus drivers because they can no longer take how they are being treated. All they care about is money! The drivers are not supported, they are not properly trained, safety is a big issue due to not being trained properly, and if they can terminate someone and hire someone at a lesser wage, they do! Even after going to the top person in the company, nothing was done. They don’t care about safety, yet it’s all over there company profile, they just care about profit. I think Airdrie Transit should wake up. Just take the operations in house, they will be much better off. Stay away, you can do much better! It’s a game to them.
Pros
I met get employees
Cons
Terrible management, long hours and the hard work is never enough, the lying from the management is unbelievable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an ok company.
Parts Clerk (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 April 2018
I don't like the workplace culture in the shop. The management is good but the pay is very less as compared to the work. Employees must pay for the medical and dental benefits.
Pros
None
Cons
Many
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport

Comment – 7 May 2018

Too much favoritism in this company. They terminate anybody's employment without notice or cause. Don't work for this company.

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and flexible work environment.
Shuttle Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 August 2017
It is a fun place to work.
Staff is great. They are friendly and helpful.
Good Life Work balance.
Good Opportunities to learn other aspects of job.
Good Benefits.
Uniform provided.
Good Opportunities to see beautiful places in Canada and USA.
Good earning potential.
Has employees association to serve and protect jobs.
Collective Bargaining by the employees association that makes employees worry free in terms of improving employment conditions, benefits and pay increments.
Pros
Job Flexibility
Cons
Cold Hearted Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Apprentice Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 August 2017
good place to work, every on his very help full.• Able to work supervised or unsupervised
• Perform general repairs: brake jobs, cooling system, exhaust system etc
• Efficiently repaired breakdowns in a timely manner
• Demonstrated high sense of accountability
Pros
Nice co-workers
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politics rule all... Be cautious
Shop (Former Employee) –  Alberta23 May 2017
Working for this company for over 5 years now in Alberta. They have very good ground level employees that give their heart and souls to success but receive little to no support or recognition from management.. You will not advance or grow in this company much if at all. You must be part of the ol' boys club to get any due credit or advancement.. This is not the good company it used to be. You won't get proper tooling to do your job, you are always under the gun and often threatened to be fired if you complain too much or don't just do as youre told (even if it makes no sense).
Pros
Some benfiits, pay is OK
Cons
Hours vary too much, you are just a number
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
transit Operator.
Transit Operator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 February 2016
dealing with the public i enjoy a lot on that day to work with the people.

i have a typical day on the job afternoon shift until early morning.

3) i learned a lot to work with people i enjoyed driving and the communication with the public.
Pros
no
Cons
14
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 14Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun place to work
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Mississauga14 May 2015
A typical day at work, would going to the defferent hotels to pick up passengers taking to the airport
I learn people are happy when things are done the right way on time how it shoud.
Management should have had more meeting with their front line workers more.
Mostly old guys but it was fun working with them,.
The hardest part of the job was the heavy repetitive lifting
The tips
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 11Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned new technology, clean work place with a lot of politics
Certified Mechanic (Former Employee) –  whistler bc19 July 2014
Learned new technology, clean work place with a lot of politics
Pros
wage and benefits
Cons
long hours 4 on 4 off 12hr day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work in, and everyone around is friendly and nice
Mobile ticket agent (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 December 2013
I've learned to be more patient and helpful, i also improved my organization skills and communication skills, my co-workers are very friendly, some are hard to deal with but in general, everyone's very nice, the hardest part of the job was being in difficult situations for example if the bus was very late, customers would get angry and they asked for a refund or sometimes i solved the problem by contacting the office or the bus to see where it is and the most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with customers, helping them and making sure they get to where they want by helping them out with the map and directions.
Pros
got dropped to the airport by the company's bus, instead of parking at the airport and paying money for parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Wash bay Maintenance Person (Former Employee) –  Mississauga9 May 2013
Enjoyed working there with a reasonable group of employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Airport Express Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 September 2012
Great Company with a strong and pleasant culture. Always room to learn and grow.
Pros
paid sick days, modern kitchen with premium free coffee, and full benefits.
Cons
no benefits for family unless we pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 6Report

See more Pacific Western Transportation reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pacific Western Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 16 reviews
53
47
32
22
12

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture

Pacific Western Transportation Reviews by Location