Original Joe's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
casual fine dining
Cook/Closer (Former Employee) –  8th avenue, saskatoon2 May 2018
I enjoyed working here, but there was not much I could do to advance. They had their own ideas about cooking, and there was a very strict hierarchy based on seniority.
Pros
nice servers
Cons
lots of cleaning/frying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good crowd
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB27 April 2018
- Good people to work with.
- Clean kitchen.
- Well knowledged.
- Very helpful around the kitchen.
- great attitudes towards customers front and back of house.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
vast experience in food and service industry
Prep Cook/Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 April 2018
this is place where you like to work ,you really can be your own boss by taking so much of responsibilities in hand ,its fun working here,i am working here as a part timer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for bartending or serving but not for advancement
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 April 2018
Great job for bartending or serving, decent culture and they are very good at work and life balance but past this I wouldn't consider moving into head office, to many cooks in the kitchen for the head management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and supportive employees
Server (Current Employee) –  Manitoba28 February 2018
You feel very welcomed , and they always want to help when you need it . as well as the management is very respecting and great .
The employees are all friendly and positive.
Pros
40% discount on food and drinks
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day a work should be a happy day not a moody one
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK24 January 2018
a typical day was be busy but yet slow more steady

I have learned that it takes a colm mind to do great job no matter where you are

the manager was always nice to me but not nice like a friend more like a coworker should be

I like the sight of different culture working together

the hardest part was when a big rush comes in out of nowhere when you already have a lot to do

the most enjoyable part is when all my hard work pays off and was a successful day
Pros
seeing happy faces on great days
Cons
seeing only the back of the place of hire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun work environment. Perfect for university and college students looking to make extra money.
SERVER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 November 2017
Fast paced work environment; great part time job for anyone in university or college. Great work environment now that they have scrapped the high heels dress code.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waitress st albert original joes
Sever-hostess-bartender (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 October 2017
the boss/ ownner is a horrible drunk that is inappropriate and extremely sexist.He abuses his authority and mistreats the immigrant workers and forces them to work over time without paying them in full. The kitchen also misses out on thier tip outs because he uses the money for other things. he gets young women"employees" drunk at the bar and speaks in a permisquis and inappropriate manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome people and staff :)
closing server (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 September 2017
I have served for over 8 years and have truly enjoyed every minute of it . I always enjoyed myself and meeting so many new people. I cherish a lot of great memories.
Pros
meeting great people along the way
Cons
sometimes feet hurt but those are usually the best nights lol
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally fun atmosphere
Server (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 September 2017
Fun atmosphere but often was hit on. I received inconsistent - and dwindling - hours, for no apparent reason. I never received a reason from management.
Cons
Inconsistent and unreliable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looks like fun
Prep Cook/superviser (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK19 July 2017
I would love to work for you and your company I feel it would be a grate experience for me thank you for taking my application I can't wate to work for you
Pros
Hard work
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management was great here.
Server (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK6 June 2017
Get to work, review your section and start taking tables. Take care of the guests make sure they have what they need and up sell food items. Ensure your guests have a memorable time at Original Joe's. Do your nightly cleaning tasks.
Pros
Loved the staff and the food.
Cons
Sometimes short hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy restaurant. Must be a team player.
Cook manager (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB9 May 2017
God people to work for. If I moved back to cold Lake I would apply back at original Joes. This company 8s good to work for. This company has consistency e
Ith the menu and recipes.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best part was the food
Dishwasher and Prep cook (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC5 April 2017
Often came to work in eveving and not many dishes had been done in the day. had to stay very late to get work done and not very many people helped out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 April 2017
Down to earth and Down the Street! A very well rounded company. Very brand orientated with the heart of it being in customer service. Lots of room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive positive environment
Prep Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Strathmore, AB14 February 2017
Typical day at work prepare food, clean work space, organize freezers and coolers, and wash all the dishes. I learned how to work I well in a fast-pace environment and multi-task. Management was easygoing and friendly. Hardest part of your job was the dinner rush got very busy. Most enjoyable part of the job Getting to eat good food.
Pros
learning how to cook/prepare food
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with Great people, Management issues
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB8 February 2017
Working at Original Joe's was great for me in so many ways, it revealed to me that unknowingly I am great in the fast paced environment of a kitchen and am a good team member. Most days involved cleaning, cooking, and preparation. Management was very nice although there were obvious personal issues going on within. The hardest part of my job was busy eventful nights. The most enjoyable part was coming to work in a good friendly environment. The reason for my leaving was due to a car accident, and family issues that was hard to talk to about management with how they handled things.
Pros
Free meals, Nice people, Organized workplace
Cons
Taking out the trash
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great restaurant to work in
Server (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB1 February 2017
My time at Original Joes was busy, fun, and rewarding. One of my first serving jobs. I learned a lot from my supervisors and coworkers. the staff was friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
efficient cleaner and helper
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 November 2016
fast paced environment, and many available hours if desired. hourly rate is available to increase if you are hard/working and improving in your job qualities.
Pros
long hours and free lunches
Cons
hourly rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the oj's life
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC26 October 2016
Original joes....
Probably one of the best places ive ever worked, greap group of people. We got the communication down fast, and efficiently. really kind managers, very understanding and willing to work with you and make sure your opinion is heard. even when its chaos the quality of the food is still on point, they understand that we're only human and we're gunna make mistakes. great place to start off your learning of the restaurant lifestyle.
Pros
friendly staff, decent pay, good amount of hours if you work hard enough
Cons
not to many cons... if any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Original Joe's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 48 reviews
520
415
37
24
12

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture