Original Joe's Employee Reviews

Found 57 reviews matching the search See all 60 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at as a part timer
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 April 2019
fun place to work as a part timer or as a side job
gained experience as a hostess
flexible hours
management is great and flexible with giving time off if requested
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Cook (Former Employee) –  Strathmore, AB25 March 2019
I absolutely loved working here. My employer was nice and understanding, my coworkers were fun and compassionate people, and the menu was easy to understand and quick to pick up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay.
Dishwasher/Prep (Former Employee) –  Aspen Landing23 February 2019
I personally didn't really like working there in recent months but prior it fun and casually; however, it is now dreadful and dreary. I personally recommend no one to work there because of poor management, poor food and no free meals.
Pros
Work at your own pace.
Cons
No free meals, no breaks unless requested
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Management Team
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary7 February 2019
If you are a very social and relationship oriented person then OJ's is a great company to work for. Be prepared to work long hours if you're on the management side of things but that's par for the restaurant industry.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, lots of structure.
Server (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC27 November 2018
I enjoyed it, our team was very close and we all worked together very well. . Management was unfortunately not the best. I'd still consider going back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Enviroment but not much room to grow
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC13 November 2018
Work was okay, usually had fun working with all the different staff members. Hard to get through to management about issues. Free staff meal. Food tasted good.
Pros
Free Staff Meal
Cons
Management hardly listens
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience at Original Joe's at Edmonton Canada
COOK (Former Employee) –  EDMONTON CANADA5 November 2018
Being a chef at Original Joe's in Edmonton Canada was such a great privileged for me. My job experiences had provided me knowledge that will be a help to my profession and my well being. It was great to work with the staff and crew of the company who are professionals, helpful and kind to one another and helped me to cope up and made my job easier especially at that time that I was newly arrived in that country.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management and employees were like a family
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC20 October 2018
Days were always different yet consistent
I learned how to time manage, to handle and serve food safely, to work as a team and to lead by example
The GM is flexible, caring and honest
Workplace culture was fun, energetic and full of pride
Hardest part of the job is adjusting to changes from Head Office, but is doable with a supportive team
Most enjoyable part of the job was how the focus was always on the guests experience and encouraged workers to be down to earth and unique.
Pros
too many pros to list!
Cons
No benefits unless you are management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was good new owners no idea
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB27 September 2018
it was good new owners so things change but i hear is still a good place to work thank you for your time have a good read and best of luck in future .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 June 2018
The past year that I have been employed by Original Joe's has been the most enjoyable, productive and beneficial time spent working. The managers always thrive to make the workplace a safe and comfortable environment, and all the employees quickly become family. Serving can be difficult some days, but knowing we have a strong and comforting group of friends/coworkers behind you to help out makes it worthwhile.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough work
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Okotoks, AB22 May 2018
Original joe's is a fine establishment. management is lacking and the job is awful. nobody seems to care about helping one another save maybe two out of thirty employee's at the okotoks branch.
Pros
nice people
Cons
terrible co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best food in town
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC3 May 2018
Best menu and the people are great.

Lively atmosphere.

Fast working environment.

Good food.

Lots of responsibilities.

great hours of work

Good management
Pros
25% off on food, free fountain
Cons
tough job as line cook
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
casual fine dining
Cook/Closer (Former Employee) –  8th avenue, saskatoon2 May 2018
I enjoyed working here, but there was not much I could do to advance. They had their own ideas about cooking, and there was a very strict hierarchy based on seniority.
Pros
nice servers
Cons
lots of cleaning/frying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good crowd
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB27 April 2018
- Good people to work with.
- Clean kitchen.
- Well knowledged.
- Very helpful around the kitchen.
- great attitudes towards customers front and back of house.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
vast experience in food and service industry
Prep Cook/Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 April 2018
this is place where you like to work ,you really can be your own boss by taking so much of responsibilities in hand ,its fun working here,i am working here as a part timer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for bartending or serving but not for advancement
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 April 2018
Great job for bartending or serving, decent culture and they are very good at work and life balance but past this I wouldn't consider moving into head office, to many cooks in the kitchen for the head management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and supportive employees
Server (Current Employee) –  Manitoba28 February 2018
You feel very welcomed , and they always want to help when you need it . as well as the management is very respecting and great .
The employees are all friendly and positive.
Pros
40% discount on food and drinks
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day a work should be a happy day not a moody one
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK24 January 2018
a typical day was be busy but yet slow more steady

I have learned that it takes a colm mind to do great job no matter where you are

the manager was always nice to me but not nice like a friend more like a coworker should be

I like the sight of different culture working together

the hardest part was when a big rush comes in out of nowhere when you already have a lot to do

the most enjoyable part is when all my hard work pays off and was a successful day
Pros
seeing happy faces on great days
Cons
seeing only the back of the place of hire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun work environment. Perfect for university and college students looking to make extra money.
SERVER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 November 2017
Fast paced work environment; great part time job for anyone in university or college. Great work environment now that they have scrapped the high heels dress code.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waitress st albert original joes
Sever-hostess-bartender (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 October 2017
the boss/ ownner is a horrible drunk that is inappropriate and extremely sexist.He abuses his authority and mistreats the immigrant workers and forces them to work over time without paying them in full. The kitchen also misses out on thier tip outs because he uses the money for other things. he gets young women"employees" drunk at the bar and speaks in a permisquis and inappropriate manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Original Joe's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 60 reviews
525
418
39
24
14

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture