Original Joe's Restaurant & Bar Employee Reviews in Calgary, AB

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 62 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place low wage
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 October 2017
I wanted to earn more that is why I moved to the next job. It was a nice place,management is good and co workers were dependable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favoritism is rampant in this restaurant.
COOK (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 October 2017
The constant put-downs and bullying that goes on makes for a hard place to work at. The management is not as good as it should be and the gossip that goes around makes it so you feel you can't trust anyone there. It's immature and not how you should conduct a workplace. Especially a restaurant. The place made me feel unwelcome and as if I should tip-toe around there and makes for a hostile work environment.
Pros
None.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 September 2017
this was a fast pace job during lunch and dinner rush. Learned alot about cooking and the proper was to prepare food. The guys were great and the pay was decent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor managment
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB Northland7 September 2017
Worked here for a good few months, really liked it at first. Had a good solid team then the management changed and things went down hill. Made for a very poor work environment that I no longer enjoyed working in and instead of having management work with you and help you to make things better they only did what was best for the restaurant and making money. Employees who try to stand up and have a say for themselves are only struck down and forced to work harder.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Very bad work envirnoment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible managment
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 August 2017
Favouritism and bullying by the manager which makes it not so fun to be working in the kitchen. I never filled out paper work when starting there so no legal documentation. Schedule is only put up a couple days early, so can barely make plans.
Pros
Free food
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with here.
Dish Washer, Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 January 2017
An amazing crew of Front and Back of house staff, Everyone gets along quiet well. Management is phenomenal as well, they really care, take time to listen and work with their staff to make things work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, outgoing place to work.
Server/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 October 2016
Management was awesome and was amazing to work or such a great company. Staff was always welcoming and very fun to work with. As a team they were always there to give a helping hand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great service
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 June 2016
Fast paced and great environment. They train effectively which creates a great atmosphere and team players. Work 5- 8 hours per shift, always busy which keeps you on your toes and stay very alert. They have a good staff and the kitchen works well together and create awesome food and happy customers.
Pros
food and drinks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to Work
Supervisor/Server (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 January 2016
I have loved working at Original Joes for the last few years and have made so many friendships. Unfortunately there is not much for advancing within the company and there are no real benefits as a server.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly service
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 December 2015
very long hours, excellent team place, friendly staff ,and very busy bar and grill. food could be better and the back could be clean more
Pros
the staff
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, High paced, competitive work environment.
Line/Prep Cook, Bartender/Bar Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta, Canada9 September 2015
My typically day usually consisted of working a lunch rush, either FOH or BOH, finishing my tasks to assist the closing team members before leaving on a split to then head to a separate location to close either the bar or kitchen.

I learned a great deal about service expectations, time management, and dealing with customers of varying degrees of satisfaction. the greatest lesson was learning that the restaurant industry is a competitive industry in which one must function at the highest level at all times to ensure customer satisfaction to maintain an acceptable level of clientel.

My co-workers were the highlight of the job; it is an industry which thrives on energy, and a positive, fun atmosphere and i feel it is of the utmost importance to nurture a certain culture of positive energy among the staff while maintaining a strict level of professionalism.

the hardest part of the job is most certainly the schedule; late nights and a large chunk of your social life disapears (unless of course you are able to enjoy yourself at work, and enjoy the company of coworkers, which i pride myself on; another reason i believe so strongly in fostering a positive and fun work culture, in the restaurant and catering industry your work in many ways comprises your social circle, between coworkers and your regular patrons).
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

See more Original Joe's Restaurant & Bar reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Original Joe's Restaurant & Bar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 62 reviews
520
422
311
24
15

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Original Joe's Restaurant & Bar Reviews by Job Title