Optiv Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an ideal place to work
Client Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Remote15 February 2019
Company said training period is 6 months but if you don't know your training materials by 3 to 4 weeks, you will be let go. It is a cut throat company where the owner has a movie made about them called "Barbarian at the Gate." So if you plan to leave your company for Optiv, think carefully.

If you have kids, working from home is great. If you don't, this company is of no value other than it pays the bills.
Pros
Work remotely from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
growth pains
Manager (Former Employee) –  Undisclosed3 January 2019
Many technology companies struggle with "geeks" that are not trained management or people person type managers. All too often Optiv provides junior and mid-level management positions to 'go getters' that are unskilled as managers. There is a gap between these managers and seasoned executive managers which results in cascading failure towards some objectives and ability to execute long term. Good people, an ok culture, but an inability to balance short term and long term goals, growth, and focus for individuals and company initiatives results in a revolving door of experienced or skilled staff.
Pros
work at home and flexible work environment
Cons
weak management skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make sure you are cross trained
Senior IT Security Consultant IAM (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GA29 November 2018
Great company to work for if they have use for your skillset. If not, hurry up and get cross trained in something they need. They have no problem laying people off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Optiv is a ticking time bomb
Support (Current Employee) –  Overland Park, KS15 November 2018
The Good - the hourly wage for most positions is very good.

The Bad - Everything else.

Management in this company is some of the worst I've ever experienced. The medical/dental/vision benefits are extremely expensive - they are trying to sell employees on a better benefit plan for 2019, but its hardly any better.

Optiv was purchased by KKR (giant hedge fund) that only cares about how many millions of dollars they are profiting off the hard working employees (not managers) at Optiv. The inflated value of Optiv has come at the cost of the people who truly wanted to do a good job for the company.
Pros
Worked with some really great people here.
Cons
Management and HR are a disaster.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
MSS Support Agent (Former Employee) –  Elkridge, MD18 October 2018
Stressful work but friendly environment.
A lot of training.
Gained a lot of experience.
Work place culture was great. A lot of interactive activities for team building/
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some growing pains but an amazing company
VP - Enterprise Infrastructure (Former Employee) –  Denver, CO15 September 2018
I watched Accuvant grow into Optiv and was there to see this small information security company grow into a large company. Some growing pains but an amazing company. The leadership is strong. Dan Burns is the best CEO I have ever worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
IT Manager (Current Employee) –  East Coast12 September 2018
Optiv is a good company that is growing to maturity. The Management team has an excellent vision and they are executing on it. It will be interesting to see where the company goes during this but it is a exciting time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are great, compensation is not
Marketing Programs Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Denver, CO6 September 2018
I have loved my time at Optiv. The people on my team are supportive and have become friends outside of work as well. Our team has great faith in our directors and VP but we are still waiting for real results from our CMO. The culture is so welcoming and they are very flexible with work/life balance. Compensation isn't the best but there are a lot of perks working here.
Pros
happy hour Thursday
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work as SE
Principal Solutions Engineer (Former Employee) –  Denver, CO3 September 2018
Good place to work, great team members. At time company was focused on benefit of clients as well as bottom line. Consultive sales. There have been lots of changes since merger... no idea of the results.
Pros
SE team autonomy
Cons
Slow movement to off-board destructive personalities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Executive Director (Current Employee) –  Denver, CO30 July 2018
Optiv is a good company to work for and they provide a significant amount of autonomy in performing your duties. Executive Management changes has resulted in business direction changes along with sales methodology. Optiv seems to be on the right track.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are bad
IT Security Consultant (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO1 June 2018
i enjoyed my time at Optiv. I left mainly because of travel and i was having a new baby and the health benefit cost were way too high. My direct manager was great. he shielded us from the upper level management, so can't speak too much on them. I was paid a decent salary, but probably should have been paid more. They change the bonus structure which went from pretty good to pretty bad.
Pros
Work/life balance, vacation time
Cons
health benefits and salary/bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too soon to judge
Named Accounts Manager (Former Employee) –  Boise, ID23 May 2018
I was a part of the merger between Accuvant and FishNet. It was an exciting time but quickly deteriorated because these were two different companies with a different outlook on what CyberSecurity means to the consuming market. Accuvant retained most of the control and put a strong focus on product sales over customer needed services. This has resulted in no growth for Optiv over a 3 year span. I have heard many good things since my departure but it is all met with a liberal amount of skepticism because there are so many changes that need to take place. Especially at the C-Level.
Pros
Good environment with great people
Cons
Poor leadership and not enough focus on the customer
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remote worker - no management provided
PUBLIC SECTOR OPERATIONS ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Hagerstown, MD22 May 2018
The position and responsibilities didn't receive the support or development needed to grow. There was self paced training available such as Excel and Salesforce.
Pros
Recharge
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rocky times for Optiv
Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, CO23 April 2018
Very unstable company. No clear direction, losing employees left and right, poor culture that is ruthless, volatile, unmotivating. No stability, numbers, numbers, numbers....

People are insignificant, just another cog in the expense cycle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
It Asset and Inventory Analyst (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KS21 April 2018
Service desk in Overland Park is really an adult day care. Employees endure favortism, gossiping and rumors. Management and HR don't do anything about it even if they know.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
People
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing pains
Operations (Former Employee) –  Denver, CO24 January 2018
Optiv may be a great place to work for a new applicant. Those who previously worked for Fishnet or Accuvant before the merger fought through the challenges of being acquired by two different private equity companies, the merger that resulted in Optiv, and a lot of hard work and growing pains that were not recognized or rewarded after the dust settled.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Technical Consultant (Former Employee) –  Bangalore22 January 2018
Good colleagues who become family over the time and good for having fun but also very knowledgeable at their work. The capability is on par with the rest of the industry, for few technologies they are the leader.
Good management which listens but actions are slow.
Pros
Free snacks
Cons
Hikes are not definitive even after working hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Presently Floundering but has Potential
Director (Current Employee) –  USA7 January 2018
Optiv struggles to find it's identity. As the largest cyber-security provider around, we seem to be more focused on growing bigger than takin care of our existing customers. We lack a true vision and direction for where we want to be in 5 years other than the largest provider of blah blah blah....
Pros
Unlimited PTO, Fast Paced and High Profile Industry
Cons
Uncompetitive Salaries and Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Trust in their Employees
Leadership (Current Employee) –  Denver, CO15 December 2017
Optiv wants to be better to their teams and employees but that is not happening. Leadership doesn't want to listen to their employees. The employees have ideas and opinions on how to do things but they don't seem to matter.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, Poor leadership
Director (Current Employee) –  Denver, CO21 November 2017
The industry attracts passionate people who are the best at what they do, but the leadership cannot figure out how to deliver solutions to meet the customers' needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Optiv. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 26 reviews
54
410
33
23
16

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture