Ontario Public Service Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office of the Chief Coroner (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 September 2018
I really enjoyed the area that I worked in and found most people in that environment to be very professional and down-to-earth. I would love the opportunity to work more with this organization in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RNs don’t belong in this setting
RN (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON1 September 2018
Worked for a poor leadership team all of which had no formal education, common sense or ethical components of their entire being.

Ministry of corrections specifically , however I always recommend everyone who can do better to do better. Government pension is incredible - but the system is archaic. What they allow for, stand for and represent as the ministry will surely having you looking at other provinces for asylum.
Pros
Pension
Cons
Rate of pay, managers, work culture, Hr, literally everything but the pension
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor company culture
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON28 August 2018
If you want to be berated and yelled at, perfect place for you. Pay is not high enough for the amount of responsibility, or for the qualifications. Bossy is the culture, and they are always right. Why hire competent people, then tell them how to do their job.
Pros
Inside work
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and place of new opportunity
Sr.Siebel Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 August 2018
Its one of a place where you can learn many things interms of technology and process. Management is highly supportive. overall i felt it has got an very vibrant environment to work.
Pros
All Good
Cons
Not any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Ministry (Current Employee) –  Toronto23 August 2018
Good place to work with a fair salary. People are great, could move into the 21st century at some point with technology. Other than that, can't really complain.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive workplace, balance of work life and family life
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT TO THE SUPERINTENDENT (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON26 July 2018
A typical day at work would be to accomplish all task at hand and to have completed all workloads by due dates. Also to have a few laughs through out the day. I love to learn each and everyday, so I take on new challenges to ensure I am learning something new always. To support management at all times. There is always difficulty with any job, I like to re-evaluate the situation at hand and take a different approach to make it a little less hard. Always ask for assistance if need or ask a team member for advice. The most enjoyable part of my job, is the people I work for and with. A smile goes a long way!
Pros
Team work and pot luck lunches
Cons
negativity in the workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comments.
Director (Former Employee) –  North York, ON27 June 2018
Always enjoyed my time at the OPS. I have no other comments at this time.

Thanks for the great work environment and the great experiences. Much appreciated.
Pros
great environment
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON7 June 2018
Couldn't be more pleased. I consistently come to work with a smile on my face and leave with that smile in tact. Work is long, and hard, but most often worthwhile.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Pride
Home Position - Forensic Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 April 2018
We here at the OFPS have alot of pride in our work, we ensure that the public that have lost their loved ones have the answers they need in order to accept and move forward with their loss.
Pros
Great Team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Je trouve que c est une bonne iniation
Secrétaire (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 March 2018
Je trouve sa bien vraiment et je suis à la recherche d un bon travail pour venir en aide à ma famille
Pros
Repas gratuit
Cons
Courte pause
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Developer/ Project Lead (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 February 2018
Typical day of work is very dynamic.
Learned a lot from other team members and managers.
The management is active and involved.
The workplace culture is relaxed.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to build your career
Probation and Parole Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 February 2018
OPS is a safe, stable opportunity for someone interested in public service. In particular, I work for corrections which is an exciting time because there is great deal of transformation currently underway.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive workplace environment
Jr. Application Programmer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 January 2018
I loved different programs and event OPS organised. This workplace offered many opportunities to learn and build up career focusing on individual achievement. All OPS employees have access to the Employee Assistance Program, which provides voluntary, confidential professional counseling to help employees deal with a variety of personal and work-related concerns.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Important work and never a dull day
Local Systems Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 December 2017
Great place to work at and for. Providing important work to make a different to the public sector and tax payers. People have the same enthusiasm as i do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Thorold, ON11 December 2017
Fast paced and stressful. Had to be able to think on your feet. Be able to give orders and ensure they were being followed. Had to be able to write reports and communicate between departments.
Pros
great pay and benifits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Analyst
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 November 2017
Typical day does not involve a lot of action. Rather slow paste and the assignments can be not too challenging.

Very nice team, great management. Everyone keeps to themselves.

The hardest part of the job is to manage your time to look busy for the day.
Pros
Great work life balance, nice people
Cons
Not very challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great office
Probation and Parole Officer (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON13 November 2017
loved working here, great coworkers and management, lots of opportunity and growth/training

m-f job no weekends or holidays

nothing bad to say as I was very lucky to work there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Licensing Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 October 2017
My typical day at work involved managing verification process for license applications and facilitated the processing of general licensing application information to prospective applicants, licensees and the general public in response to inquiries and concerns.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent people in my department we worked welltogether
Casual Employee (Former Employee) –  Queens Park Toronto24 October 2017
Was able to work independently but also in conjunction with a team. Manager accepted that I wanted to start early to avoid rush hour to and from work. loved the job.
Pros
flex hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly Workplace
Business and Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, On24 September 2017
- Very friendly staff
- Always new learning opportunities
- Great place to network
- Great place to build skills
- Very accommodating management and staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ontario Public Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 52 reviews
520
416
37
23
16

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Ontario Public Service Reviews by Location