Ontario Public Service Employee Reviews

Found 62 reviews matching the search See all 63 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment challenging projects
IT Senior Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 March 2019
Interesting Projects , Challenging initiatives. Good teams.
Lots of experience gained.
Lots of lessons leaned. Gained expertise in Enterprise Architecture gating process.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great manager and great team
Business Analyst, Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 February 2019
Worked with a great manager and a great team that complimented each other and got along so well. A well oiled machine we over achieved all the time. Could not ask for a better team.
Pros
Great team
Cons
Politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good envirnment to work long time
Sr. ETL/BI System QA Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 January 2019
-Great atmosphere and supportive people
-Good pay for starting out (levels off after awhile in management)
-Great benefits for full-time employees (and for your partners/family)
- Good work life balance, depending on where you work
- Smart people who care about their work and serving the greater good


- Vulnerable to shifts in political changes, which can be hard to deal with
- Hard to get permanent
- Hard to get in (points-based system for hiring) and to move up
- Getting better, but lack of diversity at the top
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical government environment
Classification Specialist (contract) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 January 2019
Very little job security. Contracts are typical vs. permanent employment. There is good work-life balance as there are a fair number of staff -- it is generally a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of career options
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON16 January 2019
I enjoyed the ability to apply to other OPS jobs within, as well as the potential for advancement in my job. Benefits are good for full timers, but there is non available for casuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  900 Bay Street28 December 2018
Perfect in every way. It's the best place on earth. They provide a professional atmosphere from the highest ranking official to the mailroom clerk. Employee will be challenged and rewarded for his or hers efforts with a sense of accomplishment for the community they serve.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Stable
Web Development Specialist (Former Employee) –  Downtown Toronto28 December 2018
For this company, it can be expected to do a lot of groundwork when entering as a technology person. The adaptation of technology is definitely a lot slower than the private sector. For people with families, this will be a stable environment for them.
Pros
No overtime unless actually necessary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Administrative Assistant/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON6 December 2018
Great people to work with! Very focused on work/like balance, but not very respectful of the public's money. Some issues with morals and ethics which can cause some internal conflict.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political acuity required
Health and Safety / Peer Support Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 November 2018
If you enjoy working in a bureaucratic environment helping the Ontario people, then the OPS is right for you. It can be tricky navigating the political landscape but it is very rewarding personally working with great people in the organization.
Pros
Working for a good cause, the Ontario people and great people to work with
Cons
Pay is not compatible with the private sector
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting time in an organization that is changing
Policy Advisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 September 2018
With the change in provincial government, there is a lot of exciting challenges ahead for government employees. You learn how to be an adaptable communicator while also delivering on tight project timelines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office of the Chief Coroner (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 September 2018
I really enjoyed the area that I worked in and found most people in that environment to be very professional and down-to-earth. I would love the opportunity to work more with this organization in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RNs don’t belong in this setting
RN (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON1 September 2018
Worked for a poor leadership team all of which had no formal education, common sense or ethical components of their entire being.

Ministry of corrections specifically , however I always recommend everyone who can do better to do better. Government pension is incredible - but the system is archaic. What they allow for, stand for and represent as the ministry will surely having you looking at other provinces for asylum.
Pros
Pension
Cons
Rate of pay, managers, work culture, Hr, literally everything but the pension
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor company culture
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON28 August 2018
If you want to be berated and yelled at, perfect place for you. Pay is not high enough for the amount of responsibility, or for the qualifications. Bossy is the culture, and they are always right. Why hire competent people, then tell them how to do their job.
Pros
Inside work
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable experience.
Program Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 August 2018
Very beneficial experience and productive time.
Privilege to be part of the governmental process.
Learned from a variety of smart, interesting and hard working colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and place of new opportunity
Sr.Siebel Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 August 2018
Its one of a place where you can learn many things interms of technology and process. Management is highly supportive. overall i felt it has got an very vibrant environment to work.
Pros
All Good
Cons
Not any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Ministry (Current Employee) –  Toronto23 August 2018
Good place to work with a fair salary. People are great, could move into the 21st century at some point with technology. Other than that, can't really complain.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive workplace, balance of work life and family life
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT TO THE SUPERINTENDENT (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON26 July 2018
A typical day at work would be to accomplish all task at hand and to have completed all workloads by due dates. Also to have a few laughs through out the day. I love to learn each and everyday, so I take on new challenges to ensure I am learning something new always. To support management at all times. There is always difficulty with any job, I like to re-evaluate the situation at hand and take a different approach to make it a little less hard. Always ask for assistance if need or ask a team member for advice. The most enjoyable part of my job, is the people I work for and with. A smile goes a long way!
Pros
Team work and pot luck lunches
Cons
negativity in the workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comments.
Director (Former Employee) –  North York, ON27 June 2018
Always enjoyed my time at the OPS. I have no other comments at this time.

Thanks for the great work environment and the great experiences. Much appreciated.
Pros
great environment
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON7 June 2018
Couldn't be more pleased. I consistently come to work with a smile on my face and leave with that smile in tact. Work is long, and hard, but most often worthwhile.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Pride
Home Position - Forensic Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 April 2018
We here at the OFPS have alot of pride in our work, we ensure that the public that have lost their loved ones have the answers they need in order to accept and move forward with their loss.
Pros
Great Team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ontario Public Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 63 reviews
524
421
38
24
16

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.4Culture