Nygard International Employee Reviews

Found 93 reviews matching the search See all 110 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work .
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, Canada2 December 2018
Great pay. Nice office. Great coffee maker. Workout class during lunch break. Office in a great area. Our administration is very accommodating and helps a lot especially when our departments needed their help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor company to work for
Product Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 November 2018
Management is run by pretty much the owner...most of the management people are "slave drivers" and culture within the company not that great...definitely a lot more places that are better to work in. A lot of unprofessional people...
Pros
clothing allowance that's it
Cons
a lot - stay away
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for great discounts and beautiful clothes.
PART-TIME SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  New Glasgow, NS15 October 2018
Fun place to work, very generous discount and clothing allowance.
Always new merchandise coming in.
Company offers benefits and flexible hours.
Company welcomes ideas and input from all staff
typical day, serving customers helping them with their purchases
hardest part of the job, juggling schedules for staff availability
Most enjoyable part of the job: seeing how happy the ladies are with their purchases.
Pros
Great customers, manager who works along side you and explains everthing
Cons
there is none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job Experience
Project Coordinator - Construction and Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON9 October 2018
First job experience out of university. Great management team however there are many policies and procedures that are not commonly practiced. Allowed exposure to many different areas of the business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company- do not Waste your time
Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 October 2018
This is the absolutely worst company to work for the district manager is the rudest person to work for she talks down to her staff she's unprofessional and talks bad about her staff to customers right in front of them they expect so much from their employees but pay them such little pay do not waste your time applying here. This is the worst company I have ever worked for in my entire life it's not a Comfortable or fun environment to work in
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours expected
Product Manager, Slims Division (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 September 2018
Long hours are expected during PDC & Line Closing with no compensation.

Our clothing allowance, the Christmas lunch & the annual family picnic have been taken away.

Nygard is not a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel- great people- work from home
SPECIAL EVENTS MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 September 2018
Great place to work -
extra hours are expected
must be detailed oriented
associates are amazing
travel is expected
minimum of 5 day travel
good work life balance
Pros
work life balance
Cons
crunch time many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close knit company. RMS very fair with thorough communication via email or phone calls. Follows up very fast. Positive work environment
Manager (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON14 September 2018
opening/closing
Task list
Email follow up
Coaching/prepping staff for the day
Assigning goals
Housekeeping
Stock
Merchandising
Transfers in/out
End of day reports
End of day coaching and follow up with each staff member
Pros
Clear communication between emails and RMS
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to grown career with.!this company offer so may way to grow and enrich people’s lives. Me Nygard himself is an innovative and inspir
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 September 2018
I Truely respect the direction this company takes.!involvinag all levels of employees to become a real part of a team environment.
Although some can be a little bit clicky at times I t takes perseverance to get through.
Great career opportunities.
Wish I was back
Pros
Learn all aspect of the fashion industry
Cons
To many long tenured employees afraid of change
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with friendly staff
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC10 August 2018
I had a fantastic time working for Nygard in Vaudreuil QC, Management was always training and developing their staff, Really great work environment and cared about their staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging at the same time
Store Manger (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON27 July 2018
We did the usual work for a womans apparel store and should have been paid MORE. The most enjoyable part of my job as a amanager was doing out of store events. Would have liked MORE support from HO on organizing them.
Pros
lovely work environment
Cons
long hours for management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expectations vs/ Reality
SLS Assoc. (Former Employee) –  Nova Scotia19 July 2018
If you're looking for a minimum wage job where you're constantly under pressure to meet sales goals and budgets and have co-workers steal your sales then this is the place for you!
Get used to doing everything on your own because there is no "team spirit" in most retail/commission based businesses and this is one of them.
No matter what you did, it was never enough!
Very negative environment to work in.
Pros
flexible schedules
Cons
back stabbing co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncomfortable work environment
SR ACCOUNTS PAYABLE ADMIN (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 July 2018
Not a company I would recommend working for but I did gain a lot of experience.
I kept busy all of the time and really liked that part of the job.
Met some good people there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 June 2018
Commission based company created other people stealing sales and not a nice atmosphere. They expect you to not have a life and if you bring issues up your hours are cut. The pay isnt very good for what they expect you to do and overall unless you work peak shifts you dont make anyclothing credits. Upper management isnt there to support you and they micro manage everything! No room to grow in the company...they would rather hire from the outside than promote on the inside and they do not stand up for their people at all. Would not recommend this company to anyone. Get out while you can.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nygard Dictionary
Employee (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 June 2018
All associates are required to use the nygard dictionary in all communication emails . Love it, live it and you will be safe. Employees are nice. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Experience, Had No Problems
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB23 May 2018
I enjoyed working for Nygard. My supervisor was fantastic. Twice a year during PDC (March and September) work could get very demanding and stressful, but working here was generally smooth. Breaks were strict, Employees receive an amazing discount on clothing. I would work for Nygard again if I had the chance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ontario19 May 2018
Love my job , love my coworkers and managers. Great place to work.
Yes some times the hours suck.but that's with all retail you have your down times.
Great loyal customers., Love helping customers find their outfits. Clothing credits are a great help as is the employee discount...
Love my job at Nygard.
Pros
Clothing credits
Cons
Not enough hours at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Nova Scotia24 April 2018
I have never worked for a company like this before, so disrespectful towards their employees no wonder no one stays long working here. The district manager is unreal and two faced. This company expects their staff to jump at every little thing . Awful place to work.
Pros
Clothes
Cons
Poor management, not enough pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to work
Vice President, Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 April 2018
If you are self motivated, it can be a great place to work depending on SR Exec you report to. I was giving many opportunities to take on different challenges. But as a former peer said, you need to watch how close you get to the sun.
Pros
Highly motivated people can make a difference but very demanding
Cons
Long hours & poor culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Erin Mills, ON21 March 2018
Not a good place to work .Stay away. No hrs, management are bullies. Expected to work alone with no break if you work a long shift.Sales goals are too high and not realistic. Lucky if you get one , two shifts a week.
Pros
Costumers. Some of the clothing is nice. Coworkers.
Cons
You never know whats going to happen. No hours. Min 3 hrs shift if your lu cky.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Nygard International. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 111 reviews
524
421
324
219
123

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.8Culture