Nucor Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search See all 415 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious/demanding job with little room for fun
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 April 2019
It was a good job just to bad they didnt have enough work for everyone.
Everyone works 12 hours and its usually better to work days because all the white hats (supervisors and formans) are on site making sure things get done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was pretty good
Landscape irrigation (Former Employee) –  British Columbia19 February 2019
good job just never had a drivers license at the time got along well with everyone nice steady work and good pay wasnt a bad job at all just didnt last without a license
Pros
good pay easy work
Cons
need a drivers license
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Oriented Workplace
Lead Detailer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 January 2019
Nucor prides itself on finding teammates that will be dedicated co-workers and long term employees. There are lots of opportunities for those who want to advance their career as it is a large steel products company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to say
Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 December 2018
Nothing to say at all. There is a good environment work in that company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labor intensive work
General Labourer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 February 2018
Most of the time me and my crew were given the task of scraping floors, but we would also help around the shop by doing delivers or cleaning equipment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright job
Asbestos Abatement Worker (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 October 2017
I was in this job for 3 weeks. I had to wear a half mask and a hazmat suit and work with asbestos and chemicals, tearing down drywall and cleaning up. Hard labour, can get really sweaty and hot, working outside is easier. Management is alright as well. Overall didn't mind it that well.
Pros
good pay
Cons
hot and sweaty. unconfortable work environment sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The only steelmaker I will work for
Meltshop Metallurgist (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SC4 August 2017
I've been a content Nucor Employee. This is a great place to work - employee empowerment and safety focus is beyond any other steel company. The most enjoyable part of the job is when you realize that your teammates will do what they say and the team will have your back.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good summer job
Irrigation Technician (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 April 2017
The job requires long hours but it does pay fairly well. Good work environment with supportive management who are understandable when you ask for time off. Would recommend working here in a summer position or as a long term career.
Pros
Good managment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC15 July 2016
A typical day would involve running safety meetings, leading the crew under me, meeting deadlines. Fast paced environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
asbestos abatement remover (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ab.8 June 2016
Had a great time. employers were great . all good. this company is very people friendly. the company is always accepting of your personal life.
Pros
fair time
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They take pride in a work excellent company
Mold Removal (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 March 2016
We learned how to work with all sort of different tools
How to set up containments
The managment was very good to work with and the co-workers worked good as a team.
Working in a hazmat suit was the hardest part of the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very welcoming workplace.
Irrigation Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 January 2016
Everyday was a test of patience as the site I worked on had daily breaks and small problems caused by other company's that needed to be fixed. It wasn't a bad thing just constant work which is better then waiting for work. This was a great experience and I enjoyed seeing all the work I put in come to reality and seeing the systems I installed working the way the plans specified. Coworkers made the job even better as the work environment was healthy.
Pros
Coworkers and personal growth
Cons
Far away from where i lived
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente
Servicio a clientes (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 November 2015
Buena empresa, solo que al estar en crisis la industria petrolera ya no me volvio a contratar.
Pros
Salario
Cons
Temporal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, always thinking, always on your feet, great employees
Administration (Former Employee) –  Leduc, Ab10 September 2015
creating bills
expecting shipments
organized company products
end of the month billing
summary reports
creating spreadsheets
answered calls
answered requests
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Steel Detailer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON9 January 2015
Good company for steel industry workers
Start-up company in Canada but very successful in US
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool people to meet, and be sent to other locations to work
certified worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 November 2013
our boss would tell us to continue on pollying the walls and seal everything leaving no air pressure.I learned allot especially handling with tools ,such as glue can ways of spraying glue or cutting Polly.Then when everything seems to be ready we suit up for the task such as removing Espestos. The management its okay ,were told of the safeness at the beginning of our job , I enjoy everyone of my co-workers who don't mind my approach. I wouldn't say the is a specific hardest part of the job , i see it as a challenge that we can overcome and learn how to achieve it.The most enjoyable part of the job,is when we work together and then ending up finishing the job ,and go home earlier then expected with jobs pay day..
Pros
the co-workers, learning, befenefits.
Cons
seasonal work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp Work
Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC7 October 2013
Was promised security and long-term work, worked the summer and got laid off.
Over all good job, long hours but lack of security and management skills are a deal-breaker.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
No advancement/security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

See more Nucor reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Nucor. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 415 reviews
5168
4130
376
222
119

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture