NRG Research Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 May 2018
Very poor atmosphere. The managers and supervisors were very unprofessional and made me feel uncomfortable. The stations feel unclean and the bathrooms were filthy. They do pay you on time however scheduling is a nightmare. You typically will be called to have your shift cancelled half the time by someone who is terribly rude.
Pros
Its a job that pays money
Cons
Poor atmosphere and creepy management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unreliable
Market Research Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 March 2018
the shifts are continuously cancelled because of a lack of work. flexible scheduling, they allow you to choose the days you work and they don't have to be the same
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Market Research Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB1 March 2018
Good place to work. Not enough hours during the summer. Friendly coworkers and supervisors. Work is interesting, covers many varied issues and topics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company to work for!
Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB20 February 2018
Worst job ever.! Shifts constantly canceled last minute. I showed up twice needlessly as they "forgot' to call me to advise my shift was canceled.
Kitchen/break room is FILTHY, the bathrooms barely passable. Very unprofessional atmosphere, IT staff are pretty much chatting and doing very little. I'm surprised this company is still in business.
Don't expect this job to provide you with a steady income. Complete waste of time!
Pros
None
Cons
Shifts that are canceled frequently. Not a steady income
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to start
Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 February 2018
Working at NRG research was one of the best decisions I have made, though a small company, they provided you with the tools you needed to start in an office environment. The management team are very professional and will help you with any questions you had. With my experience, I learned how to communicate over the phone with others. Though we were not selling or advertising anything, majority of the time we tend to deal with people who think we're telemarketers. They will teach you rebuttals and what you need to tell them to accomplish your job.

Cons,
Hours, Just like some companies, there are days, weeks or months where there is not enough work, so there will be times where your shifts might be cancelled. This is why I would advise to keep this job as part time, and not to really depend it on your only source of income. ( if living alone) However if you are one of the few who do their job well, you might be one of the lucky ones chosen to work during the day projects which will provide you with a full 8 hour shift.

All in all, NRG research is a good place to start if your coming straight from school, need a part time job or extra income. You will gain experience and develop if not a lot but some confidence in an office environment. There some is room to grow within the company, and incentives
Pros
Good environment
Cons
not enough hours at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quota-driven work environment.
Market Research Phone Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 January 2018
It is a telephone market research organization. Duties included conducting telephone surveys and questionnaires, entering data into computer database, ongoing training for automated phone dialing software and ongoing training for client-specific research. I learned that there are many similarities among telephone market research firms. Management treated the employees fairly. It was purely quota-driven, like most companies in that industry. The hardest part was making ones quota for successfully completed surveys and maintaining a consistency of achieving those quotas. The nicest part of the job is the flexibility they offered, in terms of days and amount of hours worked.
Pros
Schedule flexibility
Cons
Constant requirement to meet and maintain quota levels.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Market Research Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 December 2017
productive workplace, you get to choose which days you work, the management really helps and supports the employees on anything, a very easy job, and some job benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
call centre
Merchandise Flow Team Member (Former Employee) –  Canada29 November 2017
This is a relax call centre in the aspect that you make your own schedule and choose if you want to work full time, part time, casual. However it is outbound so each call is the same.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Refusing to pay wage
Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 November 2017
Do not i repeat do not work for this company. The work place is in a moldy building they lie about wages and dont pay out the training wages promised.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a job, not much else notable and that's not a good thing.
Agent (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB1 August 2017
This is a place you can work at as a job, it has all the basics but lacks any career purpose. The management can be incompetent at times and the current scheduler has been in strife with more than a few employees in the past. The turnover rate is high and from my experience this is no permanent position as there is virtually no work during the summer.
Pros
Mostly easygoing, relaxed, downtown 8th and 11th floor offices have a nice view and is accesable.
Cons
Boring, reptitive, some of the staff are unpleasant, No work in the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Telephone Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 July 2017
- very subtle work environment
- learned to be professional at all time regardless of how the customer is towards me
- very friendly staff and co-workers
Cons
shifts get cancelled
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very flexible work schedule
Research Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 May 2017
- you get to choose which days you work.
-the management really helps and supports the employees on anything.
- a very easy job.
- some job benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Team Morale
Market Research Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB21 May 2017
Apart from the many harsh phone calls you encounter what makes things more dreary is the very work environment - which makes it that much harder to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple and Can be flexable
Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 April 2017
Really great place to work over all, everyone is friendly and they always encourage you to do better. The staff that that been there for a while are very helpful if you ever need a hand.
Pros
flexable hours, later start time
Cons
hours can be cut short with short notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for part time workers
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 January 2017
NRG was an outbound call centre with a few different types of projects. They were all surveys- some on behalf of a company contacting their customers for a review of the service they received, others were political or social types of surveys.

It was fun, the only problem was there typically would only be work for the first 2 weeks of the month, the rest of the month you'd be sitting at home waiting until 1pm to know if you had to come in for 4 or 5pm.
Pros
Great Staff
Cons
Unsteady Work Hours (Not always available)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible work environment
Telephone Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB21 December 2016
the company is poorly run and managed, managers are in a general sense stuck up and high on themselves, the level of professionalism is low, very often though i had shining reviews i was passed over for promotions to others that have been with the company years less then me, later to me finding out they were "friends" with supervisors who gave them recommendations, not out of work habit but out of personnel preference instead.
Pros
none
Cons
poor management and unrealistic expectation
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shifts always getting cancelled
Market Research Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 December 2016
they have minimum hours in effect and you have to pick at least 3 shifts a week, but then they call you and cancel shifts due to no work and you end up working less than 10 hours a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fleixible scheduling is the only 'pro'
Market Research Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 May 2016
Still being fairly new working here and working for a call centre, I find NRG a mediocre place to work at.

Typically on a work day you'll walk in and be given a project # at the front desk and you will clock in (on the dot, not 1 minute early or later) at your assigned station. I would highly advise that you take the alcohol wipes provided at the front desk and thoroughly wipe your station before using it (headset too). Certain projects will have briefings detailing any important information you'll need to know before doing any interviews.

Now to the actual work ... if you're the type of person who cannot handle any level of rejection or people responding angrily at you, THIS IS NOT YOUR TYPE OF JOB. You're calling people's home when they're relaxing (dinner or tv time) and you will get respondents that will be angry, annoyed and just hang up but you will also get some quite pleasant people who are willing to do the survey. Some projects have hourly quotas (they call them flow rate) and some don't. I wouldn't worry too much about it, just do your work and try to have fun not thinking about it (but don't slack off either).

You will get one or two 15min unpaid breaks and a lunch depending on the shift you choose. 4.5hr shift will get you one break, 6hr shift will get you two 15min breaks and anything over 7hrs (I think) will get you two 15min breaks and a lunch. I believe at the moment for evening shifts, the max you can work is 7hrs on a given day. The lowest amount of hours you can work biweekly is 33 hours which would be three 6hr shifts a week (2 weekday, 1 weekend).
  more... It equals to 36hrs biweekly but minus the unpaid breaks equals to 33hrs. A lunch room is available with not much seating and a fridge as well to store your food and beverages.

The one thing I absolutely hate is the fact that a lot of the chairs available are uncomfortable and not fully functional. Considering the type of job, it should be mandatory that all chairs are up to standard as you will be sitting for hours on end. It's like the chairs have never been replaced at all and feels like sitting on hard carpet.

I will point it out that this is located downtown so finding and paying for parking is troublesome (although it is free after 5:30pm).

One BIG CON for me is that fact the you are not guaranteed the hours you choose. On some occasions depending on the amount of work available, you will get sent home early or even receive a call from the scheduling supervisor telling you to not come in at all. On the plus side of that, you can always pick up an extra shift to make up for lost hours.

The WORST CON is that fact that after only working there for a few months, there have been 2 cases of bed bugs and I think if there's a third case, I'll be out of there.

The PRO's are the flexibility of hours, friendly staff and the actual job (it's very easy).
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Information through Surveys
Telephone Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 February 2016
Easy job. Interesting studies and researchers such as political studies, farming, workplace, environment, product studies, customer satisfaction surveys, education, etc. If you like knowing different things in life especially in Canada, this job provide a lot of information.
Pros
Easy job. No selling. A good part time job
Cons
Not a full time job. Long time sitting
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbalanced Workplace in Need of Changes
Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 June 2015
A typical day at work is spent on a softphone connected to the computer where we call residents across Canada and occasionally the United States calling people in hopes that they can take a "brief" survey. Brief ranges anywhere from three or four minutes to over half an hour, and very few people wish to participate, although for some surveys, there are incentives. Co-workers were friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NRG Research Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 26 reviews
51
410
36
25
14

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
2.7Culture

NRG Research Group Reviews by Location