NOVATEL WIRELESS Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Order fulfillment Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA19 May 2018
Productive days. Management was always engaged. Fun Colleagues. Constant training provided. Enjoy Free Baseball days at the ball park with paid meal.
Pros
days the ball park
Cons
Contract hire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very interesting place to work
ACCOUNTS PAYABLE ANALYST (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA25 November 2017
Management needs to be a little more helpful. The job was not a difficult job. Their is no team environment. The attitude of the employees is very negative
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic environment
Sr., Staff Systems Engineering (contractor) (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA19 July 2017
Never a dull moment at Novatel. Very dynamic and challenging, but a supportive group of colleagues.

Unfortunately not enough capitol to hire staff to support all projects at one time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, terrible management
technical account manager (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CA2 January 2016
Good, smart group of people. Decent work life/balance. Terrible management with short sighted thinking and no strategic planning. No
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
No growth, no long term focus
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended.
Internal Sales & Business Development (Former Employee) –  san diego, ca20 August 2015
I had a great time working at Novatel wireless, good people, work culture, and the organization as a whole is satisfactory. Bloated at the executive level. there is too many managers. Short lived employment Layoffs come swiftly and with no warning.
Pros
great people, benefits, Work culture is excellent
Cons
Unstable company, long histoty of too many layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Manager (Former Employee) –  TX13 August 2015
Company undergoing many changes over the last couple of years trying to position itself as number one in the market. This has made it a very challenging and fast paced environment.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Current state of organizational change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Sr. Eng. Technologist (Former Employee) –  San Diego, Ca12 August 2014
Great people and a great place to learn new things.

CDMA, EVDO, LTE

Spirent testing

3G 4G
Pros
good staff
Cons
lay offs
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Novatel Wireless, Inc.
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Diego2 August 2014
Working with the other assistant, we have 9 executives to support, including their subordinates Everyday consists of scheduling meetings with other employees, outside clients, and vendors. Currently I have 30 meetings scheduled through September. I prepare domestic/international travel on a weekly basis. I have worked at Novatel for 9 years and have gone through many transitions with the company.

The people are wonderful and even though we have gone through some tuff times, everyone is very upbeat.

The hardest part of the job is last minute changes.

The best part of the job is making it all work successfully.
Pros
Wonderful co-workers
Cons
Employee evaluations are lacking, no raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People, Start up Financial Issues
Sr. Vice President of Operations (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA15 July 2014
I had total respect for many of the people there. The CEO, CFO, and many in Engineering, Finance and Manufacturing. But at least at the start and during the recessions of 2001, sales were too low for the size of the corporation planned. The corporation did downsize dramatically and seemed to do well with far fewer people, like based on much of the work done before the downsize. But at some point, I was no longer there in the downsize, and neither was the CEO, the CFO, the Sr. VP of Sales and many others. It was a real shame. Had the sales been there, I would rate it five stars as what looked to me like a great company and great people. And no, I do not know the status of the company today.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical Account Manager
Technical Account Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA20 May 2014
Provided carrier relation and development, account management, PRI definition, device provisioning, network connection troubleshooting, customer support, distributor support, outsourcing, Product Launch.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report

Want to know more about NOVATEL WIRELESS?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced with aggressive deadlines but still break for table tennis
Manager Software Engineering (PMP) (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA26 February 2014
1. Serve as Engineering Manager supervising a global team of SW engineers (i.e. China, Canada, TX, CA).
2. Serve as project manager to plan, resource, track my engineering team to contribute to 6-8 parallel projects. Performed risk mitigation of my team's deliverables and report back to lead project manager.
3. Serve as POC for Maintenance of Line program where I am tasked with finding engineering resource to solve customer/field issues.

The people are professional and friendly.
Pros
professional and friendly people
Cons
low morale due to poor sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Manager, Channel Sales (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA12 February 2014
I truly enjoyed my time at Novatel Wireless. The company is very employee focused.
Pros
Great benefits, great technology
Cons
Product marketing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day at work
Temp contract ended (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA29 January 2014
I would go in and test and upgrade different products. i learned command script and trouble shooting. management was nice and easy going. co-workers were friendly and helpful. the hardest part of the job was the drive there. i loved working there
Pros
flexable hours
Cons
temp
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a complaint about this company - one of my favorite jobs
Inside Sales & Customer Support Director (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA23 January 2014
I left this company after the entire staff and management team had been let go in a restructure. I was maintained by the executives but had an opportunity to join Wingcast so pursued that opportunity.
Pros
The company culture
Cons
Change in management tam
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run by lawyers, culture of finger-pointing and siloed communication
Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA16 September 2013
A stressful and unpleasant place to work. The corporate culture is one of enabling the diva mentality and decisions made in a silo by the executive staff. There are some great and talented employees at Novatel Wireless, but their abilities to succeed and do the best possible job for Novatel Wireless are severely hindered by the disconnected and litigious leadership style of the executive team, which breeds an every-person-for-him/herself mentality, and an obvious cover-your-rear work ethic in order to survive in this workplace. Creativity is stifled, and company policies regularly kill employee motivation. This place is broken and in dire need of a brand new executive leadership team, and an internal campaign to motivate employees and show them that they are important to Novatel Wireless, while rewarding them for creative thinking and problem solving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA16 September 2013
The company is good. Got a chance to work in various fields. Co-workers are good friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HIgh-tech Company - great work environment
Accounting and Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA2 June 2013
Lot's of diversity, employees from all over the world that bring their talents to the Company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
innovative company
Accounting Manager (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CA22 April 2013
Novatel is a good place to work. The benefits and pay are fair and the vacation time is generous. The schedule is flexible and the people are nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industry Leading Mobile Hotspot Company
Sr. Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego22 January 2013
An excellent wireless company to work for. As a provider of mobile hotspots for wireless networks around the world you'll have the opportunity to learn much about LTE, HSPA and CDMA.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work with
Sr. Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CA9 January 2013
Great and helpful co-workers and Managers. Good place to work with latest wireless technologies
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NOVATEL WIRELESS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 23 reviews
53
49
38
23
10

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture