NOVA Chemicals Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 96 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great salary and people terrible management
SKYPE FOR BUSINESS ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 January 2019
If you do not get along or disagree expect a pink slip You can be called a team player and receive all kinds of praise but as soon as you make a mistake or disagree with management your out the door
Pros
money
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety is everything, low stress environment
Environmental Specialist, Responsible Care Team (Former Employee) –  Joffre, AB26 July 2018
One thing I have learnt from NOVA Chemicals and will take with me in my everyday life and career is the emphasis on safety!! The teams and awareness that we implemented really makes no room for complacency. In a plant environment it is very important for employees to feel safe during work, and to make sure they come home to their families safely.

Also I appreciated the community involvement with my career there. They emphasized we be a part of the community around us and to respect any discrepancies they may have. It made us to take responsibility in any work we did.

Benefits and salary were improving when I left, im sure it's worth working there financially as well.
Pros
Community Involvement
Cons
Remote location
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good balance between work and life
Research Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 March 2018
Very good compensation and benefits, great safety culture, many nice people to work with.

Unstable organization, changing frequently, manager lack leadership.
Pros
Salary and Benefits
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good long term growth
Process Safety & Risk Engineer (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB10 February 2018
Excellent benefits.
Salary is competitive.
Local work conditions conducive to family life.
Company work processes & standards catching up to industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Salary & Benefits - That's about it.
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Joffre, AB5 February 2018
The salary and benefits are awesome. But don't let the Nova website fool you regarding their culture. There is a fair amount of office politics and favorites. No one will defend you when it comes to going against management. There are relatives who work for the same units, from different departments. You have to watch your back, and if someone doesn't like you personally; your job is not secure.
Pros
Great salary and benefits and extra events
Cons
What happens, does not match the culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
General Programmer\System Admin (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON31 December 2017
The people were great to work with. Management could sometimes be a bit much. But overall the experience was great, being a co-op student they treated me like a full time employee
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Enviroment
Electrical Engineer - Co-op (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON29 May 2016
All the employees are really helping and facilitate you in every possible way even going extra mile.
Management is really helpful and got strong growth oriented culture.
Safety is the most important aspect of the companies policy.
they educate very well before beginning any task and state of the art facility.
Pros
competitive salary package.
Cons
located in small town
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company - good benefits
Instrument / Electrical Technician (Current Employee) –  Corunna, ON23 September 2015
Great benefits, especially time off (vacation, flex days)

Variety of equipment to work on

Big company so all the typical issues that go with it

Management is completely out of touch with employees
Pros
Great time off - even to start
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Experience of my career so far
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Joffre6 January 2014
There is nothing positive that I can describe for this company, Hopeless management with no vision, No opportunity for growth, Company culture does not exist at all , people behaving like dictators. No suggestion of yours can ever be heard forget about implementation. Salary and Benefits are below standards and expectations. I would suggest any sensible person not to join this organization if they are looking to build a career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

See more NOVA Chemicals reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NOVA Chemicals. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 96 reviews
537
426
314
25
114

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.6Culture