Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Employee Reviews

Showing all 37 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Place to work
Electronics Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 January 2019
Diverse work, each day it was something different and it was made clear that NAIT required the highest standard of expectation to ensure students received what the faculty required.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 January 2019
NAIT offers an exceptional opportunity for employees to learn in a variety of areas including personal growth and professional development. With many opportunities to move within the company itself, it also offers a great work/life balance opportunity in a fantastic city!
Pros
PD Days, Closed Christmas Holiday
Cons
Management are sometimes closeminded and don't think outside the box of "NAIT Policy"
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Technical Institute
Instructor, Computer Training Centre (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 December 2018
A true, cornerstone technical institute dedicated to the training, education and advancement of skilled trades and information technologies. Their mission remains today the same as upon opening in 1965 and has never wavered, seeking and producing the best students and staff that industry has to offer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work culture
POWER ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 September 2018
people work as a team and help offered when you ask from more experienced staff. Worked as a practicum student and therefore no pay but the experience acquired was very helpful. Very safety conscious.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 September 2018
Working here is like working for a blended family. I enjoyed all of my time there and appreciated all of the free training and courses offered. I would recommend this place to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Technical Advisor (part time) (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 May 2018
Great place to work, especially in the safety field.
pros:
- great co workers, and atmosphere
- good pay
- good hours
- team environment
- management is helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer, as long as you aren't a sessional instructor
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 April 2018
Instructors at NAIT have a fairly good work-life balance, after the first year or so.

Good position and good security.

Not a lot of opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 February 2018
as one among my first jobs while studying, working at NAIT was one of the best jobs I've ever had. Employees are valued and management cares.

As a worker, u gain free access to the gym, pool, photocopy and other computer services.
Pros
little or no work required during summer and holiday seasons
Cons
good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best opportunity to learn how work environment look in Canada.
Peer Mentor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 February 2018
- provides a professional trainings (ODS)
- intercultural development
- improve communication skills and ability to learn jargon language
- respect and confidency
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great student job
Business Statistics Supplemental Learning Leader (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 January 2018
Flexible and freeing. Working as a supplemental learning leader was also very rewarding. Working with a variety of students with differing needs can be challenging. Allows for the development of proficiency in statistics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alberta's Retirement community
Developer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 January 2018
- Complete lack of technological innovation.
- Students are mainly from trades and have a foul language and behavior.
- Not a degree school but gets one a job when needed.
- Good benefits and perks.
- Horrible middle and upper management (they are sitting there just to retire)
- Innovation is very hard to find.
Pros
Benefits and perks are great, but its the same for other public sector jobs
Cons
Lake lustre career, situated in a horrible city
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NAIT is Great!
Operations Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 November 2017
NAIT is a great place to work. Great consistent government job. Depending on the department the ability to advance varies. If you want a consistent place to work the rest of your life NAIT is a pretty good choice.
Pros
Work life Balance
Cons
Complacency
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work on
Lab Supervisor (Current Employee) –  NAIT17 May 2017
Could do my studying duties still even while working during the night. I was proud to help students on their technical issues, and I never felt alone when having a problem
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible politics
HR Consultant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 March 2017
A company that boasts values but does not uphold them. Complete lack of structure and supports for staff. Some great people working there but too dysfunctional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to study and learn various skills
Student Projects (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 March 2017
This institute has various choices and programs for people who want to specialize in different careers.
It is a great hands on place, teaching students through examples and demonstrations while using supplementary material to reinforce the lessons they have been teaching.
Pros
Great place to learn
Cons
Long hours, requires a lot of focus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive work place
Supplemental Learning Leader (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 February 2017
Good place to work. Very supportive and easy to approach management. A bit of a deep divide between the different departments makes communication a bit difficult.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love collaboration, NAIT is the place for you!
Media Relations Specialist (temporary position) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 January 2017
Not only is this a fun place to work, it's also a great place to grow your career. I was only employed at NAIT for a short period of time, as I was under a contract, but I loved every day of it. It's a fun place to work with a lot of perks.

NAIT's values includes collaboration, and that is practised by its managers. Its managers values ideas and feedback it gets from its staff. This is extremely important to me and I felt like I was able to grow there and learn.
Pros
Fun work culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Classes
Volunteer Experiences (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 January 2017
This school is great if you enjoy smaller classes and more hands on experiences. I learned a lot here in my 2 years of my program
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Campus Activity Board (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 January 2017
My job was to promote events for the NAIT Students Association.

I learned event promotion and planning.

Management was supportive, and my coworkers were fun to work with.

The hardest part of the job was engaging students in promoting events.

The most enjoyable part of the job was helping to plan the events.
Pros
Fun working environment
Cons
some student apathy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Receiving Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 January 2016
Like above, it is quite fun to work here, however, there is no advancement like you would get in big companies, so what you make is what you make. Due to the summer break of having no work, each year is fresh and your wage does not increase. At least it didn't for me. However, the people are amazing and the atmosphere is wonderful. Would work here again for sure!
Pros
Easy money, good people, great atmosphere
Cons
Stagnant wage, lack of leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Northern Alberta Institute of Technology. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 37 reviews
520
412
34
21
10

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.2Culture

Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Reviews by Location